We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed 4 days here while visiting the Black Hills, We enjoyed the pretty city and nearby attractions. The hotel was ok but we had trouble getting the toilet fixed and could not get another blanket that we asked for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for writing a review and for letting us know about the issues you had. I'll definitely talk to my staff about following through with a request so that in the future if someone asks for an extra blanket they will get it. I appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn Custer SD, The staff were friendly and anxious to help with any concerns that were presented. The room was big enough to relax and very fresh and clean. The flat screen TV was excellent for viewing from the bed or the cozy chair. The pool and hot tube were clean and very nice touch after a busy day tour the Hills. The hot breakfast was excellent with many options which were delicious. I would also like to thank the manager Dolsee for going above and beyond making our trip to the black hills one of our best vacations. She help us plan our outings and all her recommendations were the right choice for us. The restaurant she recommend were also a perfect way to end the day. Custer is a beautiful small town in the Black Hills. I highly recommend anyone in the area to visit and stay at this hotel. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for your excellent review of the Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn of Custer, SD! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that I was able to help you have fun vacation in the Black Hills! Please come stay with us again the next time you're in our beautiful area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were there over the Memorial day w/e so the place was crowded. Pretty average motel with adequate parking. Pleasant staff but chaotic organisation at breakfast which we had pre-booked from the UK with the hotel. Not sure how many rooms there are but you need to be there before 7.30 am to have any chance of a table (just a number of small tables around the hotel lobby) and a choice of food - which kept running out with the staff unable to keep pace with demand. So there were queues for food, tables, people sitting outside to scrambling back and forth from their rooms. So the answer is to breakfast out and there are plenty of places in the town. If we go back to Custer (which is a lovely town in the fantastic Black Hills) we'd find alternative accommodation as I've told our travel organisers Titan Travel.

Room Tip: Rooms are either ground or first floor. so if mobility problems go for ground level. Also choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phinaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I'm sorry you had a less than satisfactory stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments about breakfast, and I wanted to let you know that our breakfast staff is much more experienced now and better able to deal with the high demand traffic. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

hotel is average nothing spectacular. There are nicer hotels in the area. Breakfast is the average waffles coffee cereal toast and juice. This hotel could use updating rooms are still in the 70"s. Check in area and breakfast area have been updated. This hotel could be a real winner if the owners would put some money back into the decor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review of our hotel. I'm glad you noticed the work we put into updating the lobby and breakfast area, and I'll definitely pass along your comments to our owners so we can work on updating the rest of the hotel as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Room smelled musty. I think it probably was a smoking room previously! Staff not friendly! Not as clean as it should be. Over priced for the quality of this motel. I would not recommend this motel nor would I stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 287pennyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Four of us were on vacation in South Dakota. Our choice was to stay in Custer, South Dakota for three days at Best Western Buffalo Ridge, Custer, South Dakota. I would like to take this opportunity to say "job well done." Overall service was outstanding. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jeffc892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn! We hope you stay with us again when you're in the Black Hills!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Every morning we were treated to a variety of items for breakfast. Our room was always clean when we returned from sight-seeing. The bed was very comfortable. Staff went out of their way to assist us after we experienced a motorcycle accident while in the area. We were transported from the emergency room to the hotel and the next day to the airport (50 miles away) at no additional expense. We would stay at this location again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thanks Nancy! I'm just glad I was able to help you! We do hope you're able to come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.1 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 18 in Custer
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.4 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn

Address: 310 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Price Range: £74 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Hotel Custer
Best Western Custer
Custer Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing