We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Reviewed 28 August 2014

No complaints....spent a couple of nights here. Good sized room, clean, park 10' away, very decent breakfast. All in all a pretty decent choice. We are out about 10 days now and have certainly spent more and gotten less:-) I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn during your vacation to the Black Hills, and thank you for writing a review regarding your time here. We hope you'll stay again the next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We picked the Best Western on our way to Mt. Rushmore since we had just stayed in a Best Western the night before in Nederland, CO and had a wonderful cozy room. Not the case this time! Our room had a musty odor and couldn't be aired out as the only window in the room didn't open. The sheets were very thin and the bed only had a light blanket, no comforter. The bar on the bed frame that holds the mattress on was sticking out and I knocked my leg on it, had I been moving quickly I could have really injured myself. I was able to push the mattress over to avoid this. The room didn't have a mini fridge or microwave either. The heater/air conditioning unit is mounted on the wall above the vanity, for those who are vertically challenged such as me this requires you to host yourself up on the vanity to turn it on. They did offer breakfast, but only until 9:00a.m so no sleeping in if you want breakfast. I wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WisconsinMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

I'm sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel. I appreciate you writing a review to let me know about your experience, and I will look in to the problems you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Lady who checked us in was very helpful and pleasant. The room was attractive and very comfortable and clean. Slept very soundly in a comfortable king bed. Breakfast was very sufficient. We would like to spend some time in the Custer area and will surely choose Buffalo Ridge Inn in Custer, South Dakota when we do.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn during your Black Hills vacation, and we look forward to having you stay again the next time you're in Custer. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Arrived here to realise that it was Biker week at Sturgis. Location was brilliant good choice of bars and restaurants. Breakfast was up to usual Best Western standard Excellent value for money only complaint we did have was no fridge or microwave (if we had needed it) in the room. Free WIFI

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TracyHavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, and thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your kind comments and hope you'll be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A Typical, well maintained Best Western, good quality for the price. Best to have a reservation in summer as this is a very busy tourist area in the Black Hills close to Mt. Rushmore. No elevators. Large parking area with space for RVs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to the Black Hills and for writing a review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good time seeing the sites in our beautiful area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great location for riding the Black Hills, close to Crazy Horse and a good ride to Mount Rushmore. Custer State park is just minutes away. Some good places to eat an easy walk from the hotel try the Buffalo sandwitch very tasty. The Hotel is a little dated, clear could use some upgrades. As for the price I understand its during the rally but paying double a night, is not a good deal for the quality of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope you enjoyed the Sturgis Rally while you were staying with us. Thank you for letting us know about your stay and the things we can do to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The staff at the hotel was so helful in every way, told us great places to eat, set up a bike wash area, the room was adequate, no fridge or microwave tho. We were try to get our three nights in for a free night and the staff made sure we got the credit for that.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mikeba2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolseeDavenport, General Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know about your stay! We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Black Hills!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.1 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn

Address: 310 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Price Range: £70 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Hotel Custer
Best Western Custer
Custer Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing