We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Hills Mile Hi Motel
Nearby Hotels
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$78
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocket Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Camp Cabins(Custer)(Great Value!)
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
65
25
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
25
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalled ahead to let them knowblack hillsbreakfast dealdairy queensmallest roomsouth dakotaold schoolcomfortable staycuster state parkrushmore areaconvenient locationwould definitely stay here againcottagemt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our second stay at the Mile Hi, while riding motorcycles cross country. We stay in Custer and the Mile Hi to be close to all that the area has to offer, easy walking to downtown area for shopping and restaurants. The motel has everything we need, is very clean, although, a bit small, is very comfortable, and reasonably priced, and has Wifi. Sandy is very gracious and accommodating, even giving us towels when we arrived, because we got caught in a terrible rain and hail storm on our way in, and giving us cleaning cloths for the bikes. We were able to park our bikes outside the room, which is a plus for ease of loading and unloading. We will stay again should we return to Custer, and if you are looking for a cozy, home-style respite, this is THE place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

25th - 27th August
As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are on the small side and may be noisy from neighbours, but have coffee and fridge, comfy bed, are very clean and very nicely presented.
We had a cable internet connection which was very good as the wifi signal was quite weak.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, going well beyond what could be expected when we needed to make some phone calls and couldn't get a signal on our UK cell phone.
For value for money Mile Hi rates as one of the best places we stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestUSATravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed in Custer on a cross country motorcycle trip because we wanted to be close to the Crazy Horse site. Had stayed in Custer a couple of years ago on another moto XC trip. Found this "motel" while Google searching and thought it looked cute, which is not a description I usually use to describe properties. Also liked it because it was quite close to the Cattleman's Restaurant and we could walk to it in 2 minutes. Finally settled on the Mile Hi because of reviews we had read about it. We loved this place -- old fashioned separate buildings, nice outside sitting areas, and a friendly gal new to her job managing the place. You're right in the center of town so you can walk around after dinner for a stroll.
Although the rooms are small, the property has character you don't find at a box motel. Brought back memories of travelling many decades ago as a youngster with my parents. I liked it so much I recommended it to a friend and his wife who stayed here too in August. I'd definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in Custer for the 3d time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndmVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This motel is a 'back to the basics' motel, and a great value for the money. The rooms are not big, but are very clean....which is all we really need! The motel also offers free wifi. The motel is small and thus allows for more personal service and attention. It was nice to feel like we were not just some nameless face! We would definitely stay here again if we travel back to this area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLCTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at the Mile Hi Aug 30 and 31st. We were treated so well from the time we entered the office. Sandy was just wonderful to work with. The room was impeccably clean. Yes, the rooms are smaller but they are so quaint with hand sewn comforters on the beds. The outdoor tables made for wonderful places for us to visit with the other travelers as well as offer a place for the smokers as all rooms are strictly non smoking. I will recommend this motel to all my friends and we will stay there next time we head to Custer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews