We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks welcoming our families”
Review of Casita Margarita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casita Margarita
Ranked #5 of 19 Pedasi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We had a very easy and pleasant stay at Sue and jack offering their beautiful place to our large group (4 kids and 5 adults). We appreciated your flexibility accommodating our needs and organizing our excursion.

See you next time

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Thanks to Sue and Jack we felt like locals and they helped us in many, many ways find people to help us on our quest for property...Lovely rooms, great breakfast and cool happy hour!!!
Do not miss this one, you can walk everywhere in Pedasi.

Room Tip: Great upstairs rooms with hammocks on street..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

About 30 minutes after we arived and we were sitting down drinking a wine and a beer with Jack and Sue, I felt like I have known them forever.
This is a small (5 bedroom) hotel/B&B and I felt completely at home while I was there. After the 3rd day I felt like I knew about half of the x-pats in Pedasi.
As a result of this trip, I plan to go back to Panama and spend 3 to 6 months in the Coronado area and eventually move down to the Pedasi area.

Room Tip: Room 2 was excellent for a couple and had a nice private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights on our tour around Panama. We cannot say enough about it. It feels like being at home. It's a nice size two story house, very well maintained with country charm. Rooms are spacious with your option of a double bed or king size bed, which was one of the most comfortable beds we slept in during our 3 weeks in Panama. There is quiet airconditioning in the rooms, TV. alarm clock, phone, wifi etc. The washroom was big, the shower was hot and had great water pressure. We stayed on the main floor and found it to be very quiet and safe. We did notice that the floor on the second floor, which is wooden, creeked when people walked around. While we did not hear if from the main floor, you might hear it if you stayed in one of the four rooms on the second floor. Breakfast in included and was decent. I particularly liked the papaya pancakes.

The second floor has a library and sitting area with a computer for you use. There is also a balcony which wraps around the front and side of the hotel and is set up with chairs, and hammocks. A perfect place to sit and read in the evening or enjoy a glass of wine.

The main floor has an office which is manned mainly by Jose, who so helpful and fluent in english. When we arrived we were welcomed immediately by the owners, Jack and Sue, who are american and so kind and helpful. There is another common area with a TV and seating on the main floor, a kitchen, an eating area, two suites, a washroom and a back porch which contains the 'honor system' refridgerator.

The hotel is located near the end of the main street into town. I don't image that there is a really bad area in this town, but this was just outside and walking distance from the centre of town where you will find most of your restaurants and shops. We wakled day and night and felt safe the entire time. You can walk to the beach, but it is about a mile away. There are number of other beaches nearby, but you will have to take a taxi which will cost you about $3.00.

We drove to Pedasi from El Valle, but we estimated the drive to be about 4 hours from Panama City. It will be less in the future as they are currently working on the highway from the Panamerican highway down to Pedasi. With the construction and speeds of about 60km/hr, max, it took us about two hours to drive that stretch of highway alone. But the drive was well worth it and there are plenty of small towns on the way down.

The town itself is charming and has everything you need, a bank, internet cafe, bakeries, a few small restaurants and shops. The locals really do sit out on thier front porches and wave as you go by. The visitors centre was less than helpful, had no informtion to provide and did not speek any english. But, Sue and Jack will tell you what ever you need to know.

If we went back to Panama we would be content to stay here the entire stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Casita Margarita is a welcoming guesthouse that has a wonderful pair of owners (Jack and Susan) and a great manager (Jose Enrique). It had been reviews from this site that had prompted my staying there and it certainly lived up to what others had claimed. The rooms are very clean and the beds quite comfortable. Bathrooms are good sized. The bedrooms themselves are somewhat small, but enough for the little time one would actually stay in a room--as opposed to traveling around the area and its beautiful beaches. There are several common areas that are make you feel "at home." The entire staff is wonderfully pleasant and caring. I was unfortunately stung by a stingray during my visit to a local beach and the staff made sure I saw a doctor immediately (who even came to the guesthouse) and received proper treatment. It is obvious that for Jack and Susan the guesthouse is a labor of love and that they take great interest in the guests. The town of Pedasí itself is small, more like a village than a town. The main street is charming and still of a very Panamanian character--despite the increasing numbers of tourists. There are two excellent restaurants nearby (Isla Iguana and Pasta & Vino). At both the prices are extremely affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlosAlbertovc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We just stayed for one night on our way from Panama City to Playa Venao, but we felt very much at home at this nice and clean little hotel. It's operated by a very friendly couple from the states with a local staff. spanish and english is spoken (the latter also applies to the staff. this is not obvious in panama). they had everything we needed (nice room with comfortable bed, huge bathroom with hot shower, cable tv, free wifi, honor fridge with cold beers) and gladly gave us advice on where to eat. For a stay in pedasi, we can highly recomment this place!

Katja & Sascha from Berlin, Germany

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sascha_richter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at Casita Margarita for three nights in December to cap off an eleven day tour of Panama. We could not have been more delighted with this wind- down experience. Sue and Jack were accomodating to our every wish, from short lifts around the area to iced tea in the afternoon after a busy day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pedasi hotels
5.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#3 of 7 in Pedasi
330 reviews
13 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
13.1 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
80 reviews
13 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Lajagua
Casa Lajagua
#1 of 19 in Pedasi
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Margarita

Address: Main Street, Pedasi 0749, Panama
Region: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Pedasi
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casita Margarita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Bedroom Boutique Inn in downtown Pedasi, right on Main Street. We're just minutes from beaches and other attractions. Amenities include: Wireless Internet, Cable TV, large bathrooms and hot water (uncommon in the area). The home is a renovated house typical of the region. Decor was chosen that keeps in tradition with the charming and unique style of the Los Santos Province. Exotic hardwoods, locally made tile and regional art were utilized to create an environment that is a throwback to older times. An over sized breakfast is included in the rate. Expect exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casita Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita Margarita Hotel Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing