We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place to relax and enjoy life!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Romana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Romana
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pedasi
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a place to relax and enjoy life!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Wow, what a hotel and restaurant!! The hotel sits on the cliffs of the Pacific and has outstanding views up and down the coast. Nice place to relax and let your troubles slip away! And if that's not enough, the small hotel restaurant is incredible!! Awesome local foods prepared with an Italian slant. Small menu each night but it changes everyday!! If on the menu, the Carpaccio is a must try!! With a fantastic restaurant this hotel is one of the finest I have stayed in, in all of Central America.

Room Tip: The Villa's on the cliff have wonderful views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    92
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
100
135
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Imbedded within breathtaking nature settings and looking down on stunning ocean spectacles, this unique boutique hotel completely fulfills the quiet-seeking guest’s every wish. Not only did we enjoy spectacular views over the ocean from our spacious porch (we were accommodated in the Upper Suite), also the food quality and staff friendliness met our expectations. The only thing we would have missed if we had stayed longer than just one night was a larger variety of dishes. As far as I remember vegetarian meals were not being offered on the menu. Since the hotel is located quite remotely, the restaurant should consider extending the menu. Besides that we had an absolutely memorable stay at Villa Romana.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel. Our bungalow was clean and neat. We sat on our own porch, listened and watched the waves crash on the rocks. After the sunset we decided to have dinner at the restaurant, only one family was there. We were told reservations were required ( not told this before, now 6:30pm). We knew we had prepaid for two dinners. We were told the earliest we could eat was 8 pm. We explained we had just travelled all day to get there and we were starving. Reluctantly we were told 7pm (30 min wait). At 7 we were seated (still just one family present). There was no menu, we were given the choices in Spanish only and rushed. We ordered and dinner came quickly and was hot (filet and mash potatoes). The steak was tough and grisly.
We retired to our room. We had a good nights sleep and arose early to hit the road again.
Nothing more shocking than only cold water for the shower and shaving. NOT a happy morning.
Went to the complementary breakfast for cold scrambled eggs and no bacon or sausage. The bread was tasty.
We have travelled extensively in Central America, while the view was great it take more than that to get me back to this hotel again. (Oh, I didn't mentioned the over billing problem, finally fixed after two days).

Room Tip: Bring your own food that you do not have to cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrWayne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaRomanaPty, Owner at Hotel Villa Romana, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Mr. Wayne,

We appreciate your business and the time you have taken to share your review.

I’m very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at Villa Romana. We certainly would like to make this up to you and drastically improve on this experience. Our Reservations Manager will be in contact with you to see about the possibility of welcoming you back.

We wish you well on your future endeavors and hope that we have another opportunity to show you the quality hospitality experience we strive to offer and that you most certainly deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Super-friendly staffs, amazing view from the room and the restaurant, nice room with balcony, very delicious breakfast, and 2 fantastic swimming pools, this is our experience we can strongly recommend anyone to visit the hotel.There is only one small problem, it can be a little difficult to find. But keep looking - it is worth the effort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a nice little hotel besides a cliff with two small swimming pools and comfortable cabins around a main building. The grounds are very well kept. It is ideal for relaxation, the view is mind blowing. The staff is very helpful and professional. They lend you books, films, and games. It is a very sound choice, you won't regret it.
Pros:
good food, friendly staff, spacious, clean, and nicely decorated cabins
Cons:
Beach access difficult

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylka a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

A wonderful place, very wild with an ialian style! The things have changed and it's nicer than on the photos. Better without children, because very cosy. The bungalow are nice and clean. Professional service. There are an access to a "desert" beach downstairs. Good memory.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magali y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I returned back to California yesterday from Panama, and I can't stop thinking about Hotel Villa Romana. One word: Perfection. We knew from the photos that it was a beautiful villa, but we had no idea it would be this good. We stayed at the Villa with a large group occupying many of Romana's rooms.

Each and every room was clean, beautifully designed, unique, and private-most with ocean views and hammocks. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the rooms smelled amazing, and every time we returned to the room, the gorgeous tile floors were shinny and clean (lovely to not walk in sand when you enter your room). Oh, and the bathrooms! Beautiful bathrooms, some with views and plenty of space. I suggest you stay in the upstairs Garden suite.

Every morning we strolled to the main building where breakfast was cooking and fruit, coffee and fresh bread awaited us In the dinning area overlooking the ocean and crashing waves. The kitchen staff (very friendly) took our orders and we enjoyed eggs and fresh tortillas... Drinks were made on request and I had a difficult time deciding between the variety of fresh fruit juices. Heaven! Did I mention the coffee?? Mmmmm

I felt like I was at home. Especially at the pool. But the highlight of Villa Romana, was actually the manager, Algis. He is the friendliest, funniest and hardest working man I've ever met while traveling. What an amazing person. From his stories, to his charm and helpfulness, Algis made sure our stay was comfortable, unique and memorable.

This Villa is located in a perfect, private and beautiful place. Large enough to meet every need, but intimate enough to enjoy privacy and quiet beauty. The price is more than reasonable, and I can not wait to go back.

Although I hope this gem stays somewhat a secret, I feel inclined to share out unforgettable experience and to support this beautiful destination.

Thank you for everything!
Sincerely,
Stephanie Armstrong in Santa Cruz, California USA

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pedasi hotels
9.0 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
9.1 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Villa Marina Lodge
Villa Marina Lodge
#3 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Playita Resort
La Playita Resort
#4 of 4 in Playa Venao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casa Lajagua
Casa Lajagua
#1 of 21 in Pedasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Romana

Property: Hotel Villa Romana
Address: Camino a Puerto Escondido | Los Destiladeros, Pedasi, Panama
Region: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pedasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Romana is an oceanfront hotel in Puerto Escondido (Pedasi), Panama. It features 21 ocean view suites with air-conditioning, Satellite TV and minibar. The 180 degree ocean view from the main terrace is spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Villa Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing