We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostal at a great Value”
Review of Dim's Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dim's Hostal
Ranked #4 of 19 Pedasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Dims hotel is a nice option if you are traveling alone or on a budget. The room was nice and clean with A/C, tv with cable, open wifi on the restaurant area. Bathroom was also nice and clean. nice open gardens and super cool rancho with a tree on the middle holding the roof
The Hostal is not fancy but that you received is great for the rate you are paying specially is you compare it with other options around

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincent0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

Unfortunately, when I stayed here there was no one else staying there at all, or so it seemed. And the whole town seemed dead (it was mid-week) so that affected my impression of Pedasi somewhat as a bit boring. Pretty, but boring.

However, I can't fault the hostal for that really. It does have a great outdoor area, with undercover tables and hammocks, perfect for hanging out. The rooms are a decent size, clean, AC, hot water showers, there's free wi-fi and cable tv in the rooms. And the older guy who seemed to be running it was friendly and helpful.

Am not sure if i'd stay there again as it seemed a bit overpriced to me, $30 for a single

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Dim's is one of these hostel's that I love to stay at. Right in the middle of town, it has a great garden - with loads of very nice hammocks. The rooms were very clean - with Aircon and hot water and a good breakfast. It does not offer dorm beds, but has rooms with three beds - so should be affordable to a group of three.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the hostal for a few days. Hostal is cute and clean with the bare minimum things you may need. Spray hand soap installed on showers, stiff towels, and not-so-friendly personnel. AC works but coil freezes, probably working more than what is capable of handling so I suggest to shut it off when you are not there so you can have a nice night sleep. We woke up the next day to eat only to find all fruit was gone and eaten by some people that had checked out that morning, when I asked for more fruit they made this “face” like, OK, I will go cut more fruit. They never brought it over so I went to ask them about the fruit and they told me, we have no more fruit and whatever is out there is what we have available for breakfast. Unfortunately we heard loud trucks and “Smiley’s Restaurant” (American night club of the town) music until all hours of the night. You get a good price for this room with private shower, but you can’t sleep late (b/c of loud trucks in the morning) nor go to bed early (b/c of Smiley’s night club).
Town is very cute, this hostal is reasonably price compared to others in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Hostal is spelt the Spanish way, which is why it's several notches above the usual hostels (not sure who Dim is or was, however). A very nice guest house; the comfortable and spotless rooms have the quietest air conditioning I have ever found. The garden is lovely too with plenty of shade for open-air breakfast, and a book exchange. Mirna, who replied very welcomingly to my e-mails, was absent but her staff made themselves pleasant.

You can see why people like to retire to Pedasi. It's peaceful and relaxed yet with good communications with the rest of Panama. If arriving by bus you can get dropped off outside the hostal. Smiley's up the road has a 5-piece resident rock band (including harmonica man) on Fridays, so if you want to hear their version of "Brown Sugar", don't miss it! There is a bar down the road from the plaza that does "tipico" accordion-based music; I didn't try it myself but the more adventurous will probably love it.

Room Tip: Maybe on the east side, away from the heat of the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I will echo the general sentiments that Dim’s is not really a Hostel; it is more of a Guest House or Hotel. If it was a Hostel it would get 5 stars for sure but as it is a hotel I feel I should just give it the 3 stars because it is essentially that kind of accommodation but with much more personality so it gets a 4.

My Husband and I were delighted to find the town of Pedasi. It is laid back and lovely, with small streets to stroll and smiling faces greet you from every porch. There are a couple budget options in town that are a bit less in price (we paid 50 dollars a night for a double room) but they do not have anywhere near the same amenities.

Dim’s is located smack dab in the centre of town just a 4 minute walk to the town square (which is tiny and ringed by a few restaurants, a church and an Artisans store). The grounds are quite big and there are more than enough hammocks to go around. A good breakfast of eggs, fruit, toast, coffee and fresh juices is included in the price and we felt this brought the value up and along with amenities like hot water, air conditioning and television, the value was far greater than paying 35 dollars a night for the bare bones minimum (which did not include breakfast). We were going to stay for a couple of nights but stayed 5.

The décor is a bit grandmother like, which is oddly comforting, and all is very clean. The staff was very sweet, though at the time the owner was not there and I believe she may be the only one who speaks English. Still, they were very patient with our attempts at Spanish conversation which at times disintegrated into Charades and hand drawn pictures.

When we first arrived the only room available was on the ground floor and it was massive with a giant bathroom so if you can get this one do it, but when moved upstairs to a smaller room it was still pretty comfortable.

If you are looking for a day trip book Isla Iguana! We splurged and paid 60 dollars each for a private boat and driver, lunch etc and we had him for the whole day. It is so beautiful there and the sand is soft and white. It seemed like more of a Caribbean Island than a Pacific one! Bring Bananas if you want to feed some of the Iguanas who hang out near the information centre and be sure to take the path across to the much smaller beach which looks quite stunning surrounded by black rocks- it is only a couple minutes down a well maintained path.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lemonmerangue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent 2 nights there and found the rooms to be nice and very clean and breakfast to be tasty. Very nice owner and staff. I was showing my grown children around Panama. Good value.

Room Tip: I liked the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panama H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pedasi hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Romana
Hotel Villa Romana
#3 of 7 in Pedasi
329 reviews
13.1 mi away
Beach Break Surf Camp and Hotel Playa Venao
13.3 mi away
Playa Venao Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
El Sitio Playa Venao
El Sitio Playa Venao
#1 of 4 in Playa Venao
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Lajagua
Casa Lajagua
#1 of 19 in Pedasi
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencial Santa Catalina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dim's Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dim's Hostal

Address: Avenida Central, Pedasi 0749, Panama
Region: Panama > Los Santos Province > Pedasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Pedasi
Price Range: £52 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dim's Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dim's Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dim`s Hostal Hotel Pedasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing