We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rennweg
Certificate of Excellence
Senica, Trnava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect for families with kids”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Great for families with small kids.

I must say we where there for skiing and it was much better than expected.

Rooms - Falkensteiner standard = very good
Food - Very good even separate menu for kids
SkiSchool - directly in hotel, instructors speak several languages
Skylifts - for beginners far from hotel, for advanced just next to hotel


Will we go again? Probably yes, but next time will try Falkensteiner Cristallo in Rennweg because it is closer to sky lifts .

Room Tip: If you have smaller kids pay for an extra room because the regular rooms have bunk beds and thy are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    129
    43
    9
    9
See reviews for
214
29
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Extremely well equipped for families, with friendly staff, very decent food and a beautiful spa. There was plenty of space and opportunity for quiet time and the communal dining experience was fine. It was our first skiing holiday and worked very well for both the kids and us in terms of locality and quality of skiing. The one major gripe was that the ski school office staff were not helpful and we couldn't get the kids into ski school until the 4th day of the trip. They only offered us private lessons and it was the ski instructor who eventually arranged for them to join their group through the office in the sister hotel. Real shame as the staff elsewhere in the hotel couldn't have been more helpful.

Kids loved it anyway and we will probably try another Falkensteiner hotel next year as the formula of being at home in the hotel really worked very well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMalabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltic Coast, Poland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Spent 7 days there with my wife. It was a week without kids and it was perfect. Well maybe missed some kind of apres ski in the hotel and in the area in general. Nothing to compare wit Ischgl or Solden. Otherwise perfect hotel to relax and go skiing. Very good for families with kids too.

Ski rental in the hotel, lift just outside the door 50 m. Lots of various slopes from blue to black.

Room Tip: rooms at the end of hallways more quiet, dont get a room close to or on the way to ski depos, very b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The architecture of the hotel outside and inside is very nice, the services great, but what is annoying - the distance from the hotel room to the restaurant, reception, spa, etc. We had a family suite which are settled just at the opposite site of everything in the hotel - the hotel is very extensive, so several times we had to walk through 2 long corridors, take a lift, walk through 2 long corridors again, going upstairs and downstars - and finally we reached the restaurant ! Good for our health , but not comfortable ! After that the restaurant was very noisy and crowdy, the food quality was average, but the staff arround always very helpfull and nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drahuse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I spend every year one week in this gorgeous hotel in the Central Eastern Alps in Austria. It's sitting in the middle of a forest right next to ski trails. Great babysitting service (included in room price) allows you to forget about your children. If you are a little lazy, great spa facilities allow you to relax. Top quality buffet food. Only flaw: free wifi internet access not provided.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed at the Club funimation hotel during the first week of August 2011 and we had a very nice time.
The hotel is situated in a very nice place, with a lot of trekking paths reachable on foot or through a short drive.

The hotel provides plenty of services for family with children over 3-years old, for children and parents alike. During high season it gets a bit crowded but as a father I did not care too much, as long as I knew that my son was having fun. The swimming pool is very nice, with its very long slide; also the super-small pool for babies is fun, my 9-month old daughter enjoyed it a lot. The sauna and the massage center was also very nice.

The hotel, however, suffers from some significant but not major shortcomings: first of all the lack of surveillances, esepcially in the children pool. The absence of a swimguard was a problem, with unsupervised kids and teenager adopting very dangerous behavior that could put at risk smaller kids.
The other negative aspect concerns the buffet: the food is good, but it is basically always the same. Some more varieties on the pasta and meat stations would help.

Our rooms were very small, but with all the services provided in the hotel and trekking opportunities around the hotel, we spend very little time in it; moreover, given the price, it was a good quality/price combination. The biggest problem was the high temperature at night that affected the sleep quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svcalleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We spend two days in this hotel with my family. We decided to stay there after our previous very nice stay in Cristallo Falkensteiner hotel that is close to Funimation. For some reason I thought that Funimation will be bigger, better, with more fun for my kids. Unfortunately it was not the case. I think that everyone, who wishes to stay in this hotel, should properly think if it is right hotel for him, otherwise he gets mad after few hours spent there.
The hotel is huge. You can not feel there as a welcomed guest, you feel just as anonymous person in the crowd that has to wait long time until someone takes care of while many kids are running around, yelling, jumping, crying. That was first impression and unfortunatelly the whole our stay (fortunatelly short) went this way. The restaurant is terrible. You have just two options- squeeze yourself and your kids with another family with another yelling kids around one table where is not any space. After while you are surrounded with plenty of dirty plates that nobody takes away because waiters are always busy. Another option- you can wait for the moment when the family you are supposed to share the table with finally leaves and you can have the dinner (better what was left in buffet) on the dirty table full of plates. You can not hear single word due to permanent noise, so you are happy when you leave the restaurant.
Swimming pool is nice but again- crowded and noisy.
Actually all parts of hotels should be good and reasonably nice (especially room was really nice) but only if the hotel accommodate less then, let say 30% of guest they use to have. Considering the fact that we stayed there in very low season.....I would not wish to be there during school holidays at all.
So, if you don’t mind noise, yelling kids in every place except of your own room (maybe also there :-)), if you don’t mind to eat the way I described above and then to swim with your kids in pool where every minute someone kick you under the water, then it is right hotel for you. Otherwise, don’t go there

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viera045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rennweg
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo
0.2 mi away
Katschberghof
Katschberghof
#4 of 4 in Rennweg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Familienhotel Hinteregger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hotel Trattlerhof
Hotel Trattlerhof
#1 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
8.5 mi away
Familienhotel Berghof
Familienhotel Berghof
#1 of 3 in Innerkrems
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laerchenhof
Hotel Laerchenhof
#1 of 8 in Rennweg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg

Property: Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg
Address: Katschberghoehe 20, Rennweg 9863, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Rennweg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rennweg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg Hotel Rennweg
Falkensteiner Hotel Rennweg
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg Austria/Rennweg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing