We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rennweg
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Only one Bosnian guy at reception was OK other stuff was horor! We reserved for 7 days, after 4 days we must return home because child temperature, they charge us all 7 days witout any discount! Not to mention the embarrassment that I went when I was a sick child brought food into the room. The hotel is advertised as a children's hotel but they dont know where in the vicinity is a doctor for children or even tel number, horor experience, never more in any Falkstainer!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkoKroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg is located at the foot of Aineck and - more specifically - at the very end of the beautiful and only Direttissima, the double-black piste with several 100% falls. Just put your skis on and slide to the lift. Very convenient.

We are coming there for ski vacation for the third time in a row, and feel here like at home. Any criticism later on must be taken a bit from this perspective.

The hotel is very welcoming and warm, lots of light wood and cosy places to spend your day. We are always taking one of the Royal Suites, which provide a comfortable living for a family of 4: they are filled with light and provide a superb and unforgettable view of Tschanek, the other side of Katschi. Kids are a bit squeezed onto bunk beds in a sort of a walk-in-closet with no window, but for a week they don't complain.

The spa is beautiful. It has a separated kids section, a nice indoor and outdoor pool, where you swim during snowfalls and enjoy a terrific view of ski slopes and mountains. There is also a quiet room, Ruheraum intended for a tired skier to relax with zen music and - again - a splendid view.

The default choice is almost all inclusive, which means breakfast, light lunch and full dinner, including beverages during meals and fruit. Food is ok, a good choice of apetizers, but could have a bigger variety of main dishes. Too spicy in many cases, especially considering that it's a family resort. Bring your own cereals for dinner for kids.

They have their own skiing school for every variety and choice you might have. We took 10 hours of individual lessons for one of the kids - the teacher, Iztok was absolutely great!

If they would ask us for suggestions on improvements, I'd list the following:
- No espresso in the main bar until 9:30. Anyhow, their espresso after 9:30 is quite lame. A pity.
- No supervision and control in the spa. Jumping into the water, occasional discussion forums in the quite room and folks walking in shoes around the pools - this is not quite neccessary.
- Internet is not free.
- Spicy food causes some stress when discussing the menu with kids.
- One of the worst check in experiences in the last year we had here. The reception desk staff was quite hostile, which improved just slightly in the next days.
- If you watch TV (we don't when on vacation), you'll find the size of TV ridiculous. It's maybe 15" in the Royal Suite.

All in all, a hotel where we return to, and will do the same in 2014.

Room Tip: Don't go near 4th floor corridors to the exit to ski lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fst01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Great for families with small kids.

I must say we where there for skiing and it was much better than expected.

Rooms - Falkensteiner standard = very good
Food - Very good even separate menu for kids
SkiSchool - directly in hotel, instructors speak several languages
Skylifts - for beginners far from hotel, for advanced just next to hotel


Will we go again? Probably yes, but next time will try Falkensteiner Cristallo in Rennweg because it is closer to sky lifts .

Room Tip: If you have smaller kids pay for an extra room because the regular rooms have bunk beds and thy are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Extremely well equipped for families, with friendly staff, very decent food and a beautiful spa. There was plenty of space and opportunity for quiet time and the communal dining experience was fine. It was our first skiing holiday and worked very well for both the kids and us in terms of locality and quality of skiing. The one major gripe was that the ski school office staff were not helpful and we couldn't get the kids into ski school until the 4th day of the trip. They only offered us private lessons and it was the ski instructor who eventually arranged for them to join their group through the office in the sister hotel. Real shame as the staff elsewhere in the hotel couldn't have been more helpful.

Kids loved it anyway and we will probably try another Falkensteiner hotel next year as the formula of being at home in the hotel really worked very well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMalabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Spent 7 days there with my wife. It was a week without kids and it was perfect. Well maybe missed some kind of apres ski in the hotel and in the area in general. Nothing to compare wit Ischgl or Solden. Otherwise perfect hotel to relax and go skiing. Very good for families with kids too.

Ski rental in the hotel, lift just outside the door 50 m. Lots of various slopes from blue to black.

Room Tip: rooms at the end of hallways more quiet, dont get a room close to or on the way to ski depos, very b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The architecture of the hotel outside and inside is very nice, the services great, but what is annoying - the distance from the hotel room to the restaurant, reception, spa, etc. We had a family suite which are settled just at the opposite site of everything in the hotel - the hotel is very extensive, so several times we had to walk through 2 long corridors, take a lift, walk through 2 long corridors again, going upstairs and downstars - and finally we reached the restaurant ! Good for our health , but not comfortable ! After that the restaurant was very noisy and crowdy, the food quality was average, but the staff arround always very helpfull and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drahuse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I spend every year one week in this gorgeous hotel in the Central Eastern Alps in Austria. It's sitting in the middle of a forest right next to ski trails. Great babysitting service (included in room price) allows you to forget about your children. If you are a little lazy, great spa facilities allow you to relax. Top quality buffet food. Only flaw: free wifi internet access not provided.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rennweg
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo
0.2 mi away
Katschberghof
Katschberghof
#4 of 4 in Rennweg
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Familienhotel Hinteregger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
#6 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
356 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Trattlerhof
Hotel Trattlerhof
#1 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
412 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Praegant
Hotel Praegant
#7 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg

Address: Katschberghoehe 20, Rennweg 9863, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Rennweg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rennweg
Price Range: £146 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg Hotel Rennweg
Falkensteiner Hotel Rennweg
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg Austria/Rennweg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing