We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing facade”

Basilica St.Michael
Book In Advance
More Info
US$164.82*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss...
More Info
US$50.20*
and up
The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg
More Info
US$56.77*
and up
Original Sound of Music Private Tour
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Mondsee
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Amazing facade”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A real nice, although pretty small, church in the center of this small town.
We entered, took some pictures and that's about it.
The highlight is actually the front of the church.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimrod-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    70
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Helpful English public commentary inside the church building. Impressive internally and externally. I can see why it was chosen as a film setting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DerekJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobleskill, New York
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Magnificent church”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When you travel in Europe, you see a lot of churches....but this one is really special. Its beautiful interior was so much more than anticipated from the austere exterior, and of course, it's where the famous wedding scene in Sound of Music was filmed. Nice little gift shop if one wants a souvenir, and the town itself is well worth wandering through.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank therese l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Must-see for "Sound of Music" fans”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stopped here on our way to Salzburg where we knew we'd see many more sites from the "Sound of Music" movie -- and this was a fine beginning to our film nostalgia. The Julie Andrews/Christopher Plummer wedding scene was filmed in this cathedral -- not in the nunnery where the real Maria came from, as the film makes you think, because the nuns would not allow it (although they did permit some exterior shots). In any case, this was a better choice for beauty -- truly a spectacular church that is not too big or overwhelming. It has a lovely gift shop where we purchased small handmade wooden angels. As you leave Mondsee on the way to Salzburg, watch for Maria's nunnery on top of a hill in the distance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob and Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This beautiful quaint church is situated right in the centre of the picturesque town of Mondsee and it is clear why it was chosen to film the wedding in the Sound of Music.The exterior is appropriately unassuming and gives no clues about the truly magical atmosphere inside. This church really is lovely,and we were genuinely blown away by it's sheer beauty and elegance.

There is a small shop as you enter/exit the church if you would like a souvenir and there are some lovely cafe's in the town where we were made to feel very welcome.

I would highly recommend a visit if you find yourself in Austria - you won't be disappointed.!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica St.Michael also viewed

Mondsee, Upper Austria
Mondsee, Upper Austria
 

Been to Basilica St.Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing