We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bischofsmutze
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Filzmoos
Certificate of Excellence
Wolfenbuttel, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with very friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one week. Our room was in Haus Anneliese but breakfast and dinner was offered in Bischofsmütze. Haus Anneliese is right next to the Papageno-lift so it was very convenient for skiing. There is a separate room to dry your skiers and shoes in the basement. The car can be parked right next to the house. The bedroom was spacious and featured a small kitchenette. Unfortunately, it didn't come with a dishwasher. The apartment was very clean. The bed was very comfortable but the duvets could have been a bit thicker. There was the option to get wireless but we were charged €10 for one week and couldn't use it with more than one device at the same time.

Hotel Bischofsmütze is a 2 minutes walk from Haus Anneliese. Staff at the reception as well as in the restaurant was very kind. The food was excellent. I particularly enjoyed the delicious home-made marmelade and the Bircher muesli for breakfast. For dinner, we had a choice between three different meals, which varied day by day.

It is possible to use a swimming pool for free which is about 2 min walk from Haus Anneliese. We were a bit disappointed because the indoor pool is very small and the outdoor pool was closed to snowfall.l

Room Tip: Rooms in Haus Anneliese are right next to Papageno Lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanzjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here (booked through Ski Tour Operator) for 1 week in Feb. Very good location on the Square - buses stop right outside! The hotel had a refit last year apparently. The room was very good, the bathroom was excellent and the WC was separate! We overlooked the square but had no problem with any noise. Every day the chambermaids laid out our bedding in a different delightful pattern (see photo)! A nice touch.
Also a swimming pool has been added which is not huge but beautifully appointed. We did realsie that as it is an excellent family hotel, it made sense to swim earlier whislt there was space to do so.
We were on half-board and the food was excellent. A choice of just about all you could want at breakfast and hot food cooked to order!!! No rubbery scrambled eggs or hard-boiled eggs - unless that was what you wanted! Really good choice for the evening meal and reasonably priced good wine. Also, there was a tasty selection of home-made cakes available in the 'Guest Parlour' (Gaststube)between 3-5, just paid for your drinks with it. Excellent after a day on the slopes.
The room was non-smoking as was the restaurant but not the bar. However, one could sit in an alcove away from the bar or in the Gaststube away from the smoke.
As others have said the staff are the jewel in the crown at this hotel. They are so helpful and friendly and it was obvious that many guests had been before. They remembered what coffees we preferred and made many suggestions on getting around to make our stay the best it could be.
The only 'down-side' of our trip was we hit Dutch half-term having avoided the British one. This was more of a 'problem' skiing, not for staying in the hotel, as the pistes were busier than expected, especially in Flachau.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EccentricExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

When your 2-year old daughter says "I like Michael" referring to the hotel staff after just one meal at the hotel, you know the kid is at ease. And this applied to Jeanine, Gaby and all the others making our stay a wonderful one. All along the children, ourselves and my parents, brother and sister-in-law where very happy about our stay at 'Die Mütze'.
We had half board with a great choice of cereals, bread and cold cuts, as well as cooked breakfast, and the dinners were very good - especially if you like eating a lot (for small dinner people the 4 courses is a little too much, but you can select what you want and what to skip).
The one point we were really not happy about was the delayed appearance of 'Santa': on Christmas Eve there's a celebration, and we waiting with the little ones for Santa to show up. Not only did he and his entourage came past kids bedtime (after 8pm), the Santa was a little young to be credible, and we had to sit through a recital before the kids got their moment. What was nice is that we had Santa give THE (our) gift directly to the children (which, whether they are believers or not is a nice touch).
We loved the rooms in the new wing, and the family room was comfortable, spacious and well planned with the seperate bedroom and another sleeping area. So no need for a sleepsofa to be make up every day!. And the cleaning maids had a new towel origami surprise for us every day.
The hotel bar is actually quite popular among locals, so it's easy to close off the day with a night cap (even if your kids are sleeping upstairs and you have a baby monitor).
The hotel is in walking distance to the slopes and everything else in the village, and there's a discount for ski rental. We are definately coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We just returned from a great long weekend escape to Filzmoos. We have 3 kids ages 8-14 and the room arrangement was perfect for us, two rooms with a hallway in between which had an external door we could lock, keeping the two room doors open - perfect. We were in the newer wing of the hotel and had a lovely balcony. The beds were very comfortable. The new pool and relaxation suite are superb! The food is family style gourmet, and there was plenty of it. The smoke was disappointing but that was only in the bar area so it could easily be avoided. Only thing missing is a fireplace. We are a beginning/intermediate ski family and tried cross country, tobaggan run (which was fun and we should have done more of), there were hardly any lines, which was very nice (and we were there during one of the busiest weeks of the year). I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goingplaces1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed at the Bischofsmutze in Jan 2013 for a week. I am amazed at some of the negatives reported on this site. Hotel is excellent, food very good, staff very friendly and helpful. To go to Filzmoos and then complain about limited skiing is a bit much. Surely any sensible person checks out the nature and type of runs of a ski resort before going there. Filzmoos is very clearly in the Inghams brochure set out as a resort suited to beginners and intermediates not for Black run specialists . If you cannot be bothered to do your research you have only
yourself to blame. In any event there are frequent ski buses to Flachau and other resorts offering more challenging runs.

Agree with the comments regarding smoking in the bar - come on Austria the majority of the population do not want to smell like dirty ashtrays and have carcinogenic fumes blown over us.
Would I go back yes but having been going for the last 7 years so may look for something different next year

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last ski season. The hotel was of a high standard and we found the staff very helpful. We had read the reviews and were concerned about the treatment that we were going to receive. However the manager was really pleasant and could not do more for us.

However the skiing was very very tame and we were mislead when booking. Both my partner and I are advanced skiers and there were not enough runs.

We travelled with inghams which was our first time. They were professional however there were no excursions and not even a guided ski which was really dissappointing as such we may not use them again. This for use was a really let down.

The food at the hotel was of a high standard and they had a nice bar which was busy. So I would recommend this hotel from our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skitrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bleadon, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

This is our third year at the Bischofmutze on a skiing holiday. Previously with Inghams but this year we booked independently to save a few pounds and enjoy a more flexible stay of 15 nights. We like this time of year in mid January because we get the added bonus of a hot-air balloon festival. On clear days the skies are filled with dozens of colourful balloons drifting across the snow covered mountains around Filzmoos.
In the summer of 2012 the Bischofmutze doubled its room capacity with a whole new extension, swimming pool and wellness suite. This has dramatically improved the facilities on the hotel site. We no longer have to go next door to the sister hotel Hanneshof for a free swim. The new pool is state-of-the art stainless steel with high pressure jacuzzis and a spacious lounging area. Hundreds of sparkling LEDs give the ceiling a star quality and the walls are beautifully painted with murals. The new wellness suite has numerous variations on saunas and steam rooms, plus an infrared two-person booth that heats away the muscle aches after a day skiing. If that's not enough two rest lounges allow you to read, rest or snooze in warm comfort in your bath robe or naked. If you are a bit shy about nakedness then the wellness areas may not be for you. Many of the Brits do keep their swimsuits on but frankly it looks bit silly when everyone else is walking around starkers!
We are here on half-board. The food in Austria is exceptional and the Bischofmutze maintains the standard. I cannot agree with the previous reviewer who claimed "scant" four course evening menus. We never leave the table less than full and pleased with the range and quality of food offered. The wine is pricey. Starting at E22 for a local red which would be around E5 in the nearby supermarket. But then hotel wine prices are seldom cheap.
Breakfast is all that you could want to fill you for a day of physical activity. If that's not enough there are free cakes from 3pm til 5pm each day. You have to pay for tea.
Other reviewers have commented on the smoking policy in Austrian hotels and bars. For us Brits it's a real shock to walk into a smokey building and I'm afraid that this hotel suffers from that. This is especially noticable after enjoying the fresh Alpine air of the ski slopes. We find it uncomfortable to sit in the bar/lounge area in the evening because of the cigarette and cigar smoke. The sooner that Austria joins the rest of the EU in banning smoking in all public areas the better. Sorry smokers!
Filzmoos is a small typically traditional Alpine village with pretty timber houses and hotels. Skiing is ideal for learners and intermediates with just about enough ski area to keep us happy for our 15 days. There's not a lot of nightlife except for the Happy Filzmoos music bar where the bright young things and ski instructors down their Jagermeisters in quantity. For us oldies who are always exhausted after a day on the slopes the picture-perfect scene of a snow covered village sparkling with light is enough.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithPyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filzmoos hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel ...mein Neubergerhof
0.5 mi away
Hotel Unterhof
Hotel Unterhof
#5 of 13 in Filzmoos
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dachstein
Hotel Dachstein
#4 of 13 in Filzmoos
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenkrone
Hotel Alpenkrone
#2 of 13 in Filzmoos
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hubertus
Hotel Hubertus
#8 of 13 in Filzmoos
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weinpress
Hotel Weinpress
#6 of 13 in Filzmoos
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bischofsmutze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bischofsmutze

Property: Hotel Bischofsmutze
Address: Filzmoos 30, Filzmoos 5532, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Filzmoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Filzmoos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Filzmoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bischofsmutze 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bischofsmutze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bischofsmutze Hotel Filzmoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing