We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in Filzmoos!!”
Review of Villa Rieder

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Rieder
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Filzmoos
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in Filzmoos!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We recently stayed at Villa Rieder in Filzmoos. The hotel is in a fantastic central position. The rooms are full of character and beautifully clean and comfortable. The food is excellent, beautifully cooked and served. The welcome from both Wolfgang and Helene was excellent.
This is our second hoilday in Filzmoos and both times we have stayed at Villa Rieder.Hiking in the area is first class and very varied. Next year we intend to come back for a skiing holiday because we have enjoyed our stay so much!
Thank you Wolfgang and Helene and of course Tiffany the pug!

Room Tip: Room 22 has a great view and is very spacious with a balcony for enjoying the late afternoon sun aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiechck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kildeer, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We selected this hotel based on reviews we read on Trip Advisor. Wolfgang and his wife Helene run a wonderful small hotel. We originally booked for 4 nights, and ended up staying for eight. The rooms are immaculate, and the service is excellent. The location is just off the main street into the village, and from your balcony you can watch the movement of people in the village. There may be some street noise when the door is open, but we did not mind it for the pleasure of watching life outside. Our favorite sound was the occasional braying of the donkey in the field across the street. The property also has a lovely private garden with a water feature,

Three different nights during our stay there was a concert at the bandstand visible from our balcony. The village had many tourists while we were there, and tour buses dropping off visitors, but we did not encounter any other Americans. We enjoyed the sense of isolation this gives.

We went to hike, and selected Filzmoos because it has a free hiking bus that gives access to some great hikes. The location of Hotel Villa Rieder is perfect for hikers. There is a bakery across the street where you can purchase sandwiches, as well as a grocery store 50 meters away. Next to the grocery store is an outdoor business where you can obtain excellent advice for hiking. If you go early in the season, it will be wise to check with them, as we found some areas not accessible due to deep snows this year.

Breakfasts were offered with a varied and excellent buffet, and we selected the half-board option each day. Helene does the cooking, and her preparation of each meal was perfection. The choices were healthy and tasty, and we missed her cooking throughout the remainder of our trip. We had fish on 2 nights, chicken, pork and duck. Each meal was exceptional.

The hotel is a gem, and Helene and Wolfgang superb hosts. We plan to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HikersOfTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We had a very pleasant one week late summer stay at Villa Rieder. The hotel is conveniently located for all amenities in Filzmoos and provides a homely intimate atmosphere (with only 15 bedrooms). There is a comfortable traditionally furnished lounge and residents dining room.

Our bedroom was spacious with standard Austrian twin beds (pushed together), two chairs and table, loads of storage, and small colour TV with usual range of continental channels (but no BBC or CNN). A compact shower room contained shower, WC and washbasin (no bath). A full length door led to a spacious balcony with two rather poor canvas deck chairs. View from balcony of Room 21 on third floor wasn't up to much, as it looked out mainly over other buildings towards the Parish Church. The room and hotel generally was scrupulously clean, with daily maid service.

It was quite warm during our stay and therefore we generally left the window open all night (no air conditioning but not generally needed in mountain villages). However, beware of the loud peal of bells from the nearby church for a couple of minutes at 6.00am every morning. No need for an alarm clock then! The noise can of course be significantly reduced if you close the full length window in the bedroom. Also, even in late summer and at the relatively high altitude, there were still a few mosquitos about so you need to take anti mosquito protection with you. We both got bitten.

We were on a half board deal, plus free packed lunch and free beer, wine or soft drink with dinner. Breakfast was the usual continental buffet with juice, cereals, fruit, breads, jams,cooked meats and cheese plus choice of hot drinks. All very ample for us. A plastic bag was provided for guests requiring a packed lunch, which guests self selected from the breakfast buffet. Dinner comprised four courses including a salad buffet and a choice of main course, tailored to tastes of English guests. We thought the food quality and range of food was excellent, with no main dish or soup repeated within a seven day stay. Portions were modest but adequate for us, and table service by the husband and wife team was efficient. Perhaps the only disappointment after a few days was repetitive unimaginative desserts: choice of ice cream, or 'cake' or (curiously) schnaps after each dinner.

Filzmoos is in a beautiful setting and was great for a summer rambling holiday, particularly if blessed by good weather, as we were. Most of the hotels (including Villa Rieder) support the 'Wanderbus' service. This is a great idea, whereby guests can use the bus free of charge to four different local Wanderweg destinations. You can use it one way or return back to Filzmoos(timetable provided). So for example you can enjoy varied lovely walks back to Filzmoos (usually downhill) or use the bus up to one of the Alms then do a high level walk and finally return to Filzmoos by Wanderbus. We travelled with Inghams, who also provided a good range of excellent half day excursions in the area or full day to Salzburg.

There is only one lift (chairlift) operating in summer in Filzmoos and that only operates two days per week. But the Wanderbus makes up for this, in terms of providing access to the beauty spots. Also, a few miles down the road you can ride the spectacular Dachstein cable car to the Dachstein summit (snow covered all year).

Nightlife in Filzmoos is low key, although there is a 'pub' with a folk singer performing each night. We were content just to visit the local hotels for a drink after dinner. The Friday evening concert by the Filzmoos band is a highlight of the week. Anybody who knows anything about brass bands will recognise that the Filzmoos band performs to a very high (world class) standard. It also includes a number of very competent young players. We loved it.

All in all an enjoyable mountain holiday in a comfortable small hotel in a lovely Salzburgerland village. One of the best summer holidays we have had in Austria.

  • Liked — comfortable spacious rooms, good food and service
  • Disliked — no tea/ coffee making facilities in bedroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaretandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Just returned from a skiing holiday to Filzmoos. Stayed at the 4 * Villa Rieder. This hotel has only 15 rooms, which were nicely decorated and traditional. The hotel is in the centre of the village and close to one of the cable cars. The nursery slopes and other lifts are approximately 5 minutes walk away. The owners Wolfgang and Helena were very friendly and made our stay enjoyable. The rooms were all very clean, and towels, sheets and bathrobes were a brilliant white. The food was excellent, offering a four course dinner plus salad. There was a choice of two main courses. The breakfast was continental but more than enough. The skiing was excellent here, and very minimal queues on the nursery slopes and on the other lifts no queuing at all. There was five of us that went and we will be definately going back next year.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spooncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2007

I have been at the great hotel four times and will be going again this August. It can compete for service with hotels ten times its size, the service so good and welcome is always there.
I have been in bigger hotels in other parts of Austria but nothing can compere to this great little gem.

  • Liked — the service great people
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mark_burrows29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

We stayed here for week 06 - 13 January this year (2007). First impressions were good and it just got better. immaculate, large, clean rooms with nice en-suite shower. Hair driers and bathrobes provided. Another point of note is the availability of single rooms without supplement. This meant our 14 yr old was able to have own room There is separate ski and boot store in the cellar where there is also a sauna and solarium. also in the cellar is a bar which opened twice when we stayed. here the owner is jack of all trades, playing music, barman and also introduces you to a game where you take turns to hammer nails into a tree stump with the wrong end of the hammer. Not a huge range of drinks available here, just biers and spirits and coke. Polite, helpful owners who were not in your face but readily available if needed. Buffet breakfast with cereal, cheeses and cold meats. Eggs prepared on request. Evening meal is four course and protracted but is nice. On Wednesday a trip is organised to mountain hut for evening meal, again very nice. Transport is by horse and cart or taxi costing 17 and 4 euros respectively. This cost is added to you tab at the end of the week for all drinks you consume. Beware this is cash only but i found it reasonably priced.. You will be refunded if you choose to eat elsewhere in village on this night and there is plenty of choice. Location is better for the more competent skiers, cable car just round the corner, beginners have a 500+ meter walk slightly uphill to ski schools but you can leave skis at the school so thats not too bad The skiing isvery limited for the better intermediates and advanced but taxis are available to take you to nearby resorts. This means it is a truly family friendly resort. I would return again to resort and hotel.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank ian'n'jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filzmoos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Unterhof
Hotel Unterhof
#5 of 13 in Filzmoos
88 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel ...mein Neubergerhof
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenkrone
Hotel Alpenkrone
#2 of 13 in Filzmoos
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hubertus
Hotel Hubertus
#8 of 13 in Filzmoos
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bischofsmutze
Hotel Bischofsmutze
#3 of 13 in Filzmoos
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dachstein
Hotel Dachstein
#4 of 13 in Filzmoos
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rieder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rieder

Property: Villa Rieder
Address: Wolfgang und Helene Rieder | Nr. 142, Filzmoos 5532, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Filzmoos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Filzmoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Rieder 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Rieder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing