We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pension Wieser - very good experience”
Review of Pension Wieser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Wieser
Ranked #16 of 28 Filzmoos B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pension Wieser - very good experience”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great little place to stay, traditional style, very clean, well-maintained, friendly, plenty to eat and they cater for veggies with a little advanced warning. No choice of menu, though. We stayed week 28 Jan to 4 Feb 2012 and the snow was so amazing that we were able to ski in-ski out. Grossberg chairlift to main ski slopes is opposite and Happy Filzmoos bar and hotel, for great apres-ski, just down the road. Nursery slopes also close by - along with the ski schools. Not used these so can't comment but they looked very good, especially for children.
Small rooms, but well-lit, hot shower always available.
One drawback is that dinner is at 1830 which means après ski is often cut short as little time to shower and change. Very family orientated, though, so works well with children.
No ski tea except Fridays.
Drinks at dinner, including water, are added to your bill. No bar in the hotel but cosy bars close by.
Smoking allowed in lounge area, which tends to drift up the stairs. Not a negative for everyone but for non-smokers it can be a bit of a nuisance, but wouldn't stop us staying there again. We went with Inghams and unfortunately our room (no.23) was not suitable for a couple - the 2 single beds were not alongside each other, the room is about 13'x8 so a bit of a 'corridor' with the beds in a line against one wall.
Fantastic boot room and sauna area. Spotlessly clean, tidy and warm. Heated boot racks on all night so ski boots are warm and dry and can be put on without too much effort!
Pretty village - ski area gentle cruising and brilliant when snow is good. Very low altitude so could be tricky and icy at times, but the area has a good snow record and there is a large wide red run on the other side, much higher and steeper, served by the Papageno gondola at the other end of the village. Apart from this area, snowboarders will probably find the area a little too gentle.
Negatives: Ski lifts close around 4 pm and there are several old slow T bar drag lifts which are always a bit tricky to get off. The one from Neuberg is very, very long and they should have replaced this with a chairlift long ago.
A bus runs to other Ski Amade resorts on the lift pass 3 times a week: Tues, Weds, Thurs. Only one bus a day with pick up around 0930, return around 1700, cost around 8 euros return. Timetable available. Flachau, Flachauwinkl and Wagrain - all served by this bus but don't miss it or it will be an expensive taxi ride home! Car drivers will have larger choice of ski resorts to visit - all nearby.
Filzmoos is a very good centre for a variety of wintersports: sledge hire, horsedrawn sleigh rides, swimming pool and cross-country skiing (lessons and kit hire available). Lots of upmarket 4 star hotels in the main village - about 10 mins walk from Pension Wieser. Good restaurants. Free ski bus runs throughout the day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cakerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Have just returned from 7 days in Filzmoos at the Pension Wieser. Very friendly hosts and guests. Brilliantly situated literally 200 yards from main chair lift and at most 5 min walk into centre of village. Pension Wieser is clean and perfectly functional. Good buffet breakfast and adequate evening meal although no choice of main course. Only 3 draw backs: no soap/shampoo supplied, as with most Austrian hotels smoking is permitted in the common areas, which I personally find absolutely disgusting and do not understand why it is acceptable to have my clothes stinking of tobacco filth when I get home and finally there is no bar area in the event that you do not wish to go out I the evening.

Would I go back - yes but I do wish the Austrian government would come into lie with the rest of Europe and ban smoking in public areas.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We recently stayed in the Pension Wieser and had a great time. The accommodation is average but having said this I would stay here again. Rooms were a little small but very clean and warm. It is family run and our meals were included in our package. Meals were really nice and tasty. Although not michelin starred or anything it was almost like being in your grans kitchen with good homecooking. The family were very accommodating and nothing was too much for them. In the evenings when the family go to bed you can continue to stay in the living areas and help yourself to wine etc from the fridge and it will be billed back to you. The family were very trusting. The location is just less than 5 mins from ski shop, ski school and from our local pub (happy filzmoos). Location is perfect. I would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tallulah_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This is our first time in Filzmoos and we have booked through this via Inghams. This is a very simple, clean , cosy and comfortable hotel/pension. We have booked a twin room and the room is very clean (indeed it looks very new). The room has a balcony and is over-looking the 4 man chairlift and is very close by the nursery slope. We loved the hotel location as this is closed to the ski lift, ski school (would not recommend it) and the ski hire shop. Of all the various hotels /chalets that we have stayed for skiing, I am very impressed with Pension Wieser ski/ski boots storage area. It is very clean and the area where you place your ski boots are also heated. So in the morning you would not have a cold ski boots. Elizabeth is very welcoming and polite. We were all very impressed that she remembered our names and every morning she will always greet us with our names!!! Great personal touch. She also remembers what we want to drink in the morning!!! Breakfast is good with a choice of cereals, bread, cold meats, jams and boiled eat. Dinner although is fixed time, it suited us really well. I love their desserts!!! It is really yummy!!! The salad bar is good and is fresh!!! The reception/lounge area is really homely with a proper fireplace!!!. We used this a lot and have met a lot of lovely people staying in this pension. The sauna although is small but is very useful to have especially after skiing!!! The good news is that sauna is free. This hotel /pension although do not have a swimming pool but they do give you a voucher (free) so that you can use the nearby leisure centre free of charge. The leisure centre is very close to the hotel also. The hotel do have free wi-fi but very slow. Also there is a small library (book shelves) for you to borrow books to read!!! Would definitely come back and stay again if we are back in Filzmoos.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EastmeetsWestAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Although situated about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the village centre the positives are that this is quiet and it has good views from the balconies. Spotlessly clean the evening meal times are fixed at 7-00pm and there can be a bit of a queue for the salad buffet, otherwise this is not a problem and the quality of the food is good. All the non alcholic drinks are free which can make quite a saving as drinks at Austrian hotels can be quite expensive. At breakfast you get the usual Austrian buffet, rolls, ham cheese, jams, bolied eggs and various cereals. We had the alcove double bedroom which was not a problem, in fact it was quite cosy with storms going off outside. All in all good value for money and can be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulWUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We arranged a last minute trip through Inghams to stay at the Wieser. Our room was very roomy with a shared balcony and very clean. The view of the Bishopsmutze from the balcony was awesome in good weather! The staff and the owner, Elizabeth, were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and cooked fresh each day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Weiser and would recommend this hotel if you need to chill out for a week or so!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXIMOO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Booked through Inghams and expected a room large enough for 3 beds. Room provided was small with double bed in alcove meaning I had to climb over my husband if I wanted to get out in the night. All right (just about ) for us but would prove very difficult if older or incapacitated. Hotel full so no chance of a change. No choice of menu but food provided was of excellent quality - 3 courses with addition of salad buffet. Booked expecting (from description in brochure) a small lounge area and bar service but this was non existant. Staff helpful and friendly but owner was very distant with a 'take it or leave' it attitude.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerieplummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filzmoos hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel ...mein Neubergerhof
0.1 mi away
Hotel Unterhof
Hotel Unterhof
#5 of 13 in Filzmoos
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hubertus
Hotel Hubertus
#8 of 13 in Filzmoos
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenkrone
Hotel Alpenkrone
#2 of 13 in Filzmoos
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Krahlehenhof
Krahlehenhof
#10 of 26 in Filzmoos
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bischofsmutze
Hotel Bischofsmutze
#3 of 13 in Filzmoos
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Wieser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Wieser

Property: Pension Wieser
Address: Neuberg 123, Filzmoos 5532, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Filzmoos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Filzmoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Wieser 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Wieser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Wieser Hotel Filzmoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing