We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good it warrants a review”
Review of Hotel Schuetzenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schuetzenhof
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Fuschl am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is simply the best hotel I have been to. The facilities are as good as you'd want for the price bracket. The food was plentiful and with a good choice on the set menu. Staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. This is a quiet, very quiet resort... Which suited us down to the ground. Transport links are very good though.
The spa room was great, it was quiet and well thought out. The whole building was spotless - a credit to the house maintenance staff.
The terrace is a great place to watch sun set or to take a quick dip. Our package came with tickets for the nearby lido which we made full use of.
I am surprised to see it is listed as no5 in the top hotels in fuschl. It should be first in my opinion.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the lake- the sunsets are beautiful, really beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve19sixtynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Schuetzenhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I am a very fussy person so I did a lot of research before deciding, a - location and b - which hotel. I was not disappointed.

This Hotel ticks all my boxes being located right on the lake, so not only do you get a great view of the Lake from the Restaurant, it has the added bonus of a superb terrace, where you can not dine, have a drink or chill and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

Fuschl is very peaceful; the Lake so clear and stunning; the beautiful sunsets (which you can enjoy from the Terrace); it has buses every half hour, on most days, that take you either in the Salzburg direction or to Bad Ischl, and all points imbetween; so you can get to most places easily. We had a great day out at Halstatt, by bus, train and boat.

Back to the Hotel. Our room was spacious, clean with loads of storage space, toiletries, towels, slippers, a couple of comfy chairs. We had a Mountain View room with Balcony. On the last day it rained but it was fine on our Balcony and I was able to sit and paint the stunning scenery. I suppose it would have been nice to have a Lake View room, but we took too long to decide and they were already booked, but in the end with the Terrace it didn't really matter.

We were lucky with the weather and able to dine on the terrace on 4 occasions; this was the icing on the cake, and has to be the best Hotel Restaurant I have ever dined at. Not only was the food superb, staff very friendly, they would ask if you wanted to have a break between courses, which I did because it was just so relaxing; and then the sun would start to set. I was in seventh heaven.

So a big thank you to everyone from the Hotel Schutzenhof for being part of our lovely holiday to Austria.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JaneHoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

From the initial reception right through the whole week we were there the staff were excellent with nothing too much trouble. The hotel is relatively small with everything spotlessly clean. The outdoor terrace was excellent both for eating out and for relaxation on sun loungers. Food was very good although the choices for vegetarians was a bit limited. As with many Austrian hotels the beds are not particularly comfortable but all in all this was a very enjoyable week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent a week in this Hotel at the lakeside in Fuschl. A modern deck area is right at the water's edge - the ducks and swans are within touching distance. The deck - complete with sun loungers, steps down into the lake, bar, tables for breakfast and dinner and shady comfortable sofas - is reserved for hotel guests only. The rooms are large though the most expensive lake-view rooms are furnished in traditional Austrian style which meant that our large bed creaked loudly every time we moved! These rooms also get the afternoon sun, so they were very hot when we were there. The food is generally good - we only had one disappointing meal. Wine, beer and spirits are reasonably priced, though there is a charge for tap water if other drinks are not ordered with dinner!! The staff are friendly and helpful.
Fuschl is a quiet scenic village within 30 minutes (by bus) of Salzburg. It is also close to several interesting small towns and walking areas. It is an ideal centre for a relaxing week with some walking, boat trips and sightseeing. The Schutzenhof is a good base, though unusually, the cheaper rooms are the best choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Una H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Petra and staff nothing to much trouble. Nice and warm. Rooms very clean. Food was excellent the whole seven days of our stay. Always lots of choice at breakfast. Views over the lake from the restaurant. Been coming to this hotel for last 15 + years Your always made very welcome by the vogal family.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This Hotel is one of the best I have stayed in for a long time the staff are very friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was excellent, if you just want a rest the hotel is fine but if you want a more active holiday just go out side and you can walk round the wonderful lake Fuschl the hotel has a fitness centre sauna two whirlpool baths and waterbeds.
We went on this holiday with a group with Robinson coach holidays long drive with overnight stop but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 187053Bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A week spent in Aug/Sept via Thomsons Lakes & Mountains. Lovely hotel, spotlessly clean with very friendly, polite staff. We booked late so couldn't get a room with balcony, but in any event our accommodation was extremely spacious on the 3rd floor. An excellent buffet style breakfast was provided every day and evening meal was superb. Varied menu cooked and served to perfection. This is a quiet hotel in a small, quiet resort but well placed to visit other attractions in the Salzkammergut and a walk around the lake (approx 3 hours) is most enjoyable. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a balcony with lake view....but you'll pay the higher price
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foggy122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuschl am See
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mohrenwirt
Hotel Mohrenwirt
#4 of 12 in Fuschl am See
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seewinkel
Hotel Seewinkel
#2 of 12 in Fuschl am See
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seerose
Hotel Seerose
#3 of 12 in Fuschl am See
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Schloss Fuschl Resort & Spa, Fuschlsee-Salzburg
Schloss Fuschl Resort & Spa, Fus...
#1 of 2 in Hof bei Salzburg
530 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Fuschlsee-Salzburg Hotel Jagdhof
Sheraton Fuschlsee-Salzburg Hote...
#2 of 2 in Hof bei Salzburg
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garni Haus Sonnleitn
Garni Haus Sonnleitn
#10 of 12 in Fuschl am See
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schuetzenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schuetzenhof

Address: Dorfstrasse 14, Fuschl am See 5330, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Fuschl am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fuschl am See
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fuschl am See
Price Range: £102 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schuetzenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Schuetzenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Schutzenhof
Schutzenhof Hotel Fuschl Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing