We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jimmy Carter National Historic Site

Jimmy Carter National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Plains
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Few U.S. Presidents have had such close ties with where they were born and raised. The rural southern culture of Plains, Georgia, that revolves around farming, church, and school had a large influence in molding the character and in shaping the political policies of the 39th President of the United States. The site includes President Carter's residence, boyhood farm, school, and the railroad depot, which served as his campaign headquarters during the 1976 election. The Plains High School serves as the park's museum and visitor center. The Jimmy Carter National Preservation District includes part of the town of Plains and its environs. The area surrounding the residence is under the protection of the Secret Service and the home is not open to the public. The Carters returned to Plains in January 1981. The former President and First Lady pursue many of the goals of the administration through The Carter Presidential Center in Atlanta, which has programs to alleviate human suffering and to promote human rights and world peace. When they are in Plains, Carter teaches Sunday school at Maranatha Baptist Church to which the public is invited. The Carters' ties to Plains have endured the stresses of public life, remaining as strong as they were decades ago.
Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

You won't find this town at an exit off an interstate, but that's what makes it so special. A quiet little town without tourist-grabbing, money-collecting exhibits. Be sure to visit the school where Jimmy and Rosalynn spent their youth. Very impressed with the condition of the school and the attentiveness of the government personnel there. We then walked to the shops in the town and the train station which served as his campaign headquarters. Plains, GA is well worth the trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank johnschu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Chief of Interpretation at Jimmy Carter National Historic Site, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. If you are ever traveling through this area again we would love for you to stop and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    42
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
482 reviews
277 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Passed the sign for this NPS site on my way to Montgomery. Decided to look up the details on my tablet and go to the site. Worth a stop! The site consists of three properties (schoolhouse, presidential campaign headquarters, farm). You will need to drive to each one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank honestrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Chief of Interpretation at Jimmy Carter National Historic Site, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to the site. Please come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our field trip to the Jimmy Carter homesite and school. Ranger Ian is great especially with my 5th grade students. There was little to none political information and tons of childhood information on Georgia's only president. It was a great educational experience!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Chief of Interpretation at Jimmy Carter National Historic Site, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for visiting the Jimmy Carter National Historic Site. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“jimmy carter's national site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Pleasantly surprised by the museum that is located in Jimmy Carter's grammer school. The staff of volunteers were very knowledgable and cheerful. They really seemed to love talking about the President. The only event that would have made the experience better would have been to meet the former President who still lives in Plains Georgia.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sandollar1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Chief of Interpretation at Jimmy Carter National Historic Site, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for visiting the Jimmy Carter National Historic Site. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Living (and real) History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a wonderful place to go to learn that it some really good people (including the Carters) have served our country. There is no flash and drama here - just a real life place where it is not hard to imagine what makes them who they are.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T, Chief of Interpretation at Jimmy Carter National Historic Site, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for visiting the Jimmy Carter National Historic Site. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy Carter National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Carter National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing