We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to Historic Inn and Plains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plains Historic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plains
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plains Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Plains B&B and Inns
Ann arbor
1 review
“Visit to Historic Inn and Plains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I was driving my mom back north after a winter in Florida, and made a diversion to Plains to see the town the Carters grew up in. What a great destination, and what a nice place to spend a night! Ms. Jen was so nice to us and showed us places for us to visit, as well as dinner. The inn itself was very nice, we stayed in the 1940's room, which had period 1940's furniture. If we are I the area again would go back without any hesitation. Thank you Jen!

Room Tip: We were in 1940's room, the only room with 2 beds. Jen encouraged us to explore the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
51
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is the fourth year I have stayed in the Plains Historic Inn. The charm and hospitality of this small town and its wonderful inn are memorable. The decor of each room is founded on styles of different decades, and they are all charming and very comfortable. Miss Jan is the ideal host. I always feel welcome, and each visit is better than the one before. Don't miss all the wonderful historic exhibits and the boyhood home/farm of President Carter. The town of Plains is a National Historic Site, and the Inn is the highlight of a perfect respite. If you're a country "kid" and/or a lover of antiques and Presidential history, you'll love the feel of the Plains Historic Inn. And you'll get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Reserve the 1970 room for Presidential ambiance and very special memories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurousAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Such a great price and a welcomed place to stay. The rooms are precious in their vintage decor. Try it out! It is above a great antique store located on Main Street in Plains GA. A great balcony area as well as a central kitchen for gathering, this is a quaint little inn.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisydd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Dont miss this worderful gem in the heart of West Georgia. There are plenty of things to do and plenty of nice people willing to asist you. You might just get lucky and meet President Carter and his lovely wife Rosallynn as we did. Visit the antique and collectible shops. Try the peanut ice cream and take tour of the multiple historic sites.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but sleep in the Presidental room if its your first trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Plains so very much. The Historic Inn in Plains could not have been nicer or more welcoming. The rooms are decorated to the decades starting with the 20's and ending with the 80's. They are warm and inviting and very clean and well maintained. Jan and her crew are all so friendly and made us feel so welcomed. Being at Pres. Carter's church for Sunday School was one of our "bucket list" events in our life. We look forward to returning as soon as our schedule will allow.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We happened across this little town of Plains Georgia and found a fantastic getaway. You will find history (former Pres Carter); charm (the little downtown); inviting (the people of Plains are wonderful!); there are not enough words in the English dictionary to describe our wonderful experience there. The Inn was a first for us--and I am sure we would never find another this pleasant:Miss Jan, George, Gloria, & Miss Ruby are like old friends! Our attendance at Maranatha Bapt Church was one we will never forget listening to Jimmy Carter in his Sunday School Class. Ms Rosalynn was so warm & friendly. We are going to go back over & over until we have stayed in each of the 7 rooms depicting the furniture of each decade 1920's to the 1980's. We stayed in the 1950's & 1920's rooms & they were equally roomy & comfortable--50's in the back & 20's facing the front. Reasonably priced, you feel as if you are at home with no housework! Ms Jan is the best!! We can't wait until we can go again! The peanut butter ice cream was so good--at one of the shops along the "business district" & lots of antiques to look at & purchase. We were not even entertaining the idea of spending the night--but when there was a last minute cancellation, & we saw the rooms, we decided in a hurry to stay! Lo & behold if we didn't like it so much we ended up staying another night!!!

Room Tip: Look at the rooms first, the doors are open to view each room, then make a decision as to your own l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeBird42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Enjoyed the weekend fulfilling a long-time wish to hear President Carter teach Sunday School. Everything about the trip, starting with this wonderful gem of an inn, exceeded our expectations!! Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plains
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus
8.6 mi away
Quality Inn Americus
Quality Inn Americus
#3 of 6 in Americus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Americus
Hampton Inn Americus
#2 of 6 in Americus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Days Inn Americus
Days Inn Americus
#4 of 6 in Americus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Plains Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plains Historic Inn

Property: Plains Historic Inn
Address: 106 Main Street, Plains, GA 31780
Region: United States > Georgia > Plains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jimmy & Rosalynn Carter have joined their hometown in developing an Historic Inn & Antiques Mall located on Main Street in Plains. Each suite is authentically furnished from the 1920s through the 1980s and includes a private bath, cable TV, a smoke-free environment, and meets accessibility standards. Guests enjoy exclusive use of the common room and balcony overlooking the historic square that provides a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plains Historic Hotel Plains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing