We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful piece of history in the little town of Plains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plains
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plains Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Plains B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of history in the little town of Plains”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a great stay in the Plains Inn. When we called to reserve a room we were offered our choice of the 7 suites. We decided on the 1920s room and were not disappointed. It was beautifully decorated in period pieces and overlooked Main Street. You do need to run the water a loooong time to get hot water, but it does come eventually. If you have AT&T wireless there is no service in the area. The breakfast is do-it-yourself right out of the refrigerator & microwave--but there was plenty. We were told to help ourselves at any time (morning or evening). Someone was staying in the 1970s suite, but the others were open and we peeked in to all of them for a look. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front overlooking Main Street.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
55
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Amazing that you can stay in a place like this, with the history attached for such a reasonable amount. £60 is such good value for the quality, with a suite like this in London being unaffordable to many. We stayed in the presidential suite, there are cheaper rooms which we looked in and they looked great too. Breakfast was self serve and was fine. You should go and stay at this place as it is so different from your usual motel/ stopover hotel that you can stay in anytime. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: You can't beat the 70's suite which looks out over the Main Street. So cool for all especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkimunki67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEFUNIAK SPRINGS
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here over the weekend as part of the Florida Chautauqua Delegation that came for Plains Chautauqua. Each room is decorated for in a décor depicting a decade. We arrived and found this beautiful place to stay, with the awesome people who care and run for it. Jan Is a gem, as is Alma, they all made us feel like family, as did all the others working with the Plains Chautauqua. We got to spend time with some amazing people throughout the weekend as well as the President and Mrs Carter. Well worth your time to stop and visit. We will come again. We stayed in the 1930 room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdaniel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedartown, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Plains Historic Inn presents as"bed and breakfast". We were a party of 8, renting a total of 4 rooms. The decor was absolutely beautiful. Each room was unique and decorated according to a different decade. The place was filled with beautiful antiques. My bed was very comfortable.

The next morning, all 8 of us reported having a cold shower (no hot water). The breakfast was prepackaged, nothing fresh. Most of us wanted a bagel, and the cream cheese container was basically empty. The orange juice tasted like tang.

The only way I would stay there again would be if a shower was not important, and we ate breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conniebrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay Florida
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Though we did not stay in Plains but were passing through to FT Benning, we walked around the small town. This Inn is a beautiful place to stay for a relaxing vacation. WE were allowed to view the rooms, and then browse the shops below.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerPsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds Wa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked our room sight unseen. What luck! Staying in Plains, a very small town gave us a great feel for what Jimmy Carter and his Presidency was all about. There are only 7 rooms in the Inn so we were lucky to get one. We chose the 1940's as it had two twin beds and all the others have (I think) double beds. Each room is decorated in a different decade. Doors are left open if no one has booked the room so it was fun to explore. Each room is a delight and very clean. It was a real treat to stay here. We all explored each other's rooms. Breakfast is continental self serve - with directions on how to make the coffee. It brought us together.

If you stay in Plains you may run into the President and Mrs. Carter. One couple did the day before we came and were so excited to have been able to get their picture taken with the Carters. If you miss the Carters you will still hear lots of stories wherever you go - everyone is so thrilled to share their stories of "Jimmy." There is not much in the way of choices for food in the town, but what we had was good and very reasonably priced. "Miss Jan" who runs the ill will share many stories with you. Be sure to check out the scrap book in the common area - it belongs to Roselyn Carter.

Whether you are a Democrat or Republican, this town is a delight and such fun to visit.

Room Tip: Book months early if you plan to be there on a Saturday before Pres. Carter teaches. He lets everyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I recently held a board meeting/retreat at the Inn and it was the best we've had yet. We rented all 7 rooms at the Inn and held our meetings at the large table in the common area. Each room was delightfully appointed and quite large. The high ceilings and brick walls in each are a reminder that this was once a warehouse. Very comfortable beds and lots of sitting areas in each room. The folks who run the Inn are incredible and will make sure everything is just right. If you happen to be there on a weekend that President Carter is teaching Sunday School you can go to hear him, which our board did and found him to be absolutely lovely and inspiring. Highly recommend this charming town as a destination. Not easy to get to, but really a step back in time!

Room Tip: The 20s, 70s, and 80s rooms are on the front of the building and look out onto Main Street. Check ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigancritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plains
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel
8.6 mi away
Quality Inn Americus
Quality Inn Americus
#3 of 6 in Americus
132 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Americus
Hampton Inn Americus
#2 of 6 in Americus
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Days Inn Americus
Days Inn Americus
#4 of 6 in Americus
76 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Plains Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plains Historic Inn

Property: Plains Historic Inn
Address: 106 Main Street, Plains, GA 31780
Region: United States > Georgia > Plains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jimmy & Rosalynn Carter have joined their hometown in developing an Historic Inn & Antiques Mall located on Main Street in Plains. Each suite is authentically furnished from the 1920s through the 1980s and includes a private bath, cable TV, a smoke-free environment, and meets accessibility standards. Guests enjoy exclusive use of the common room and balcony overlooking the historic square that provides a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plains Historic Hotel Plains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing