We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel is situated slightly out of the main part of town, which was actually great because it is quieter and there was just a short and pleasant walk to the shops and the bus stop to Zell am Zee etc. The hotel has a really nice lounge/bar area and the food was very good. The food was good and all local recipes, bedrooms were comfortable and the swimming pool lovely and warm. However, it was marred by the attitude of some of the restaurant staff who we found miserable and unwelcoming, plus their intransigence in where we were allowed to sit for meals. It didn't ultimately spoil our stay in the hotel and I would still recommend it for a summer or winter holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0u7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Overall very impressed.
Quiet position on the edge of the village.
Warm and welcoming atmosphere created by friendly and attentive staff.
Excellent food - plentiful and imaginatively presented.
Room spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable, with the bonus of a separate toilet. However as keen hikers, we would have appreciated a bath (with integral shower) rather than just the wet room/shower.
We had a nice view of the mountains but a partitioned balcony would have given us a bit more privacy.

Room Tip: Room on the back facing south to the mountains in the newer wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thobur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Located on the outskirts of the town. Good managed family run traditional Austrian hotel with all facilities available. We had a nice ski holiday around Christmas. About 50 rooms. When all are full, it becomes stretchy. We've noticed this on the limited parking space, more time to get served, crowdy around the sauna's, less water pressure in the shower befor dinner but all these were minor points for us as the excellent food, great supportive staff, nice modern rooms and facilities made our stay superb.
All in all, a place to come back to !!!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank CisMalle_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The owners of this hotel set the standard and are genuinely concerned for your comforts and do all they can to make your stay a wonderful experience. The staff are first class as is the food. The pool and finess room is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Baztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We spent a week during August at this lovely, friendly hotel. Staff couldn't do enough to help, wonderful food, comfortable spacious room, nice pool and sun lounger area for the hot days. Brilliant bonus is the free Summer card. This saves so much money on all the local attractions - we reckoned over €200 each over the course of the week. Getting around is really easy with the bus stop 10 mins walk away and each trip only costing €1 with the Summer card. We'd definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have just returned from a week in this most pleasant hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The staff spoke good English although we did as a courtesy often use our (rather basic!) German. We had a lovely big room on the top floor - well equipped and clean. Bathrobes and slippers provided.

A good breakfast was served every day and we really looked forward to dinner each evening. Four courses were served and there was always a choice (meat, fish or vegetarian) for the main course. The menus were innovative (not just the typical Austrian fare) and beautifully presented. Special mention must be made of the excellent soups we had - always very tasty.

The weather was very hot during our stay so we appreciated the pool - not huge but large enough for a swim. There is also a pleasant lounge with a range of books - mainly in German but several in English and other languages

The hotel offers guests the Zell/Kaprun card - this is a real plus. The cards give free entry to most of the local attactions, cable cars etc. and cheap fares on the buses. We made very good use of ours!

We can recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the lovely village of Kaprun.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Librarian059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed here for a week during June and found the hotel to be friendly and enjoyable. The pool area is great for relaxing after a day in the mountains though the sauna area wasn't open while we were there. The food at breakfast was an ample buffet with a wide choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cold meat and cheese and hot bacon and eggs. The evening meals were beyond our expectations of a set menu, with salad, soup and some really creative main courses and desserts based on typical Austrian ingrediants with some added flair. The room was adequate and spacious without being anything spectacular. Hotel location is just out of the resort centre a 10 minute stroll to the main shops and cafes with a frequent bus service to the main mountain attractions and the town of Zell am see. Staff were excellent and even gave us a lift to the bus stop with our bags when leaving.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngnMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0 mi away
Antonius
Antonius
#12 of 30 in Kaprun
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#17 of 30 in Kaprun
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kuenstleralm
Hotel Kuenstleralm
#14 of 30 in Kaprun
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auhof
Auhof
#24 of 30 in Kaprun
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Address: Schlossstrasse 38 | 5710 Kaprun, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Price Range: £102 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing