We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...”
Review of Tauern Spa Kaprun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here for a week and we were not disappointed! Very warm welcome on arrival; we were made to feel special. Welcome drinks on arrival and the reception staff pointed out the bus stop (right outside hotel) and timings of the free ski bus we would be using for the week - we were also informed of the spa facilities, ski storage area and TV channel to watch live feeds of the kitzsteinhorn. Room was very spacious, warm, clean, plenty of storage, room safe, excellent view and a large bathroom. Food was spectacular and the waiting staff very pleasant and helpful. The location was perfect for us, 5 minutes in to Kaprun, 15 minutes to the glacier and 7 minutes in to Arnheim at Zell. Beauty treatments are very good and reasonably priced. Spa is amazing - so clean. We would visit this hotel again, gladly! If I was to pick up on a negative, then it would have to be that the housekeeping staff failed to replenish the toiletries in good time and also left dirty wine glasses in the room for 3 days. Also the ski storage area is excellent but we did not know how to exit the area without going through hotel reception, something which is frowned upon, we did work it out in the end though (go through the parking area). All in all the hotel and surrounding area lend themselves very well to the attention to detail that all seem to be proud to participate in - it was a pleasure to visit here. Oh the skiing was good too, first few days on the glacier we had fresh powder with low vis, the later part of the week we went to Zell, fab runs on the sunny side with excellent restaurants serving wonderful goulash soup and Jagertee (a must try!). Nearly forgot; he hotel has a cross country track running directly behind it and can recommend some very good local instruction (€28.00 PP). If you want an excellent hotel with good food close to the ski areas without the loud/manic après then this could be the place to visit. Lovely touch with the parting gift also!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Tauern Spa Kaprun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We visited SPA with small children during late afternoon / early evening. We really enjoyed our visit, and it was lovely to be in the outside pool as it was getting dark. Kids were running in snow, then jumping in the pool which was really warm, like a bath. The Spa offers a free creche which kids can attend in swim suits, so this provided us with time to enjoy the sauna, and swim outside. The pool also has an outside swim bar. Highly recommended. Expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyoffour9_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Spa is perfect. Many different pools inside and outside with thermal water. It's a great pleasure. There is a good self service restaurant on the Spa territory. So you should not take full board. HB is enough.
Now about the hotel itself. We were very disappointed with the following:
- there is no portlier to help you with your luggage. You have to do it by yourself;
- the hotel is very expensive. But taking HB board you nevertheless pay for all the drinks at the dinner even the simplest including water (5 Euro per bottle), tea, coffee etc. A hint for the visitors: take tap water at dinner. It's good for drinking all over Austria and free.
- TV! When lying in bed you can't watch TV because it placed in the guest area. Our son slept there so we didn't use it;
- there is no bath or shower cabin in the bathroom. Just ceramic tile floor with a shower above. And besides one of the walls in the bathroom is made of glass and faces the room. So you can't totally relax when taking a shower;
- the room cleaning leaves much to be desire. The floor was dirty all the time. Watch the towels! Once I noticed a dirty towel placed on the heater. There is no hygienic set in the bathroom.
- there is no WiFi in the Spa zone.
- the hotel is 85 % occupied by Russian tourists. Especially after the New Year you hear only Russian language with Moscow accent in the restaurant, in the Spa, on the street.

Room Tip: The rooms face Zell am See are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elena201272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Returning to this hotel each year. Great plce to take a rest together with the whole family. Between Zell am See and Kaprun it gives possibility to get to most beatiful slopes in Alps. Modern hotel, good SPA, excellent personel - i love this very much. Nice sleeping quality, comfortable rooms, everything.
BUT - every year i found that the cleaning become worth and worth... It seems as if they wash and clean dust only before you check-in! After - only changing towels. Glasses we can wash overselves. But i do not like to buy the clothes to dust everywhere!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nataliya76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice (first time in 2011, second time in January 2013). I like it very much from the first time but at that time I considered it a nice hotel like others we have visited before.
Second time we traveled with our dog and I was very much impressed about the way they managed the situation. For sure it was the best hotel in which we have stayed with our dog. There are a lot of hotels which are mentioning they are pet friendly but most of them are not making any effort to make you feel good and secure that everything will be ok.
The staff was very friendly, the food was very good,(especially the breakfast) and the spa was oustanding.
We will return for sure this year!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank black_moon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We were on a ski vacation in the area (a big selection of ski slopes, btw, the glacier in Kaprun, Zell am See, Schütdorf, etc all in the 15 min drive radius) and visited the spa on our last day. We stayed for 3 hours and spent the whole time jumping from one pool to the other.
When we first arrived, we were a bit disappointed by the few pools, but the sight was misleading. There are 2 inside pools with whirlpool a section that feels like you're in a cave and a current that makes you feel weightless. Outside there are 3 pools - one is "olympic", one has a waterfall feature and the other has saltwater AND music you can only hear underwater. All are complete with breathtaking mountain views. There is a seperate area for kids and we also found a jacuzzi on the 1st floor. It was a fun and relaxing afternoon. I only wish we could go at night (open till midnight)- I can only imagine the view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Auryn_SI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

To be fair I would like to start off with mentioning that the hotel itself was amazing: the design of the rooms, the facilities, the restaurant and the whole ambiance was breathtaking.
Being pregnant it was very nice to notice that I could use every swimming pool in the spa, as the temperature of them did not exceed 36 degrees Celsius.
For those who like to ski, the ski slopes are as well nicely maintained in the area and easily accessible from the hotel.
Unfortunately when we arrived home after our stay, we noticed that some money was missing from my husband's valet. The amount was not horrible, around 40 euros in Hungarian currency but we were shocked as noone else has entered our room but the housekeeper, who by the way was hungarian jugding from her name: Timea.
We wrote to the hotel on this matter right away, and disappointedly got an answer that we should have kept our belongings in a deposit box. In my opinion this is not an answer that a five star hotel should suggest, or if so they should mention it at the check in that the husekeeper might steal something so we should place our staff in the deposit box.
We did not expect anything from the hotel in return to our complain but a sincere apology, however what we got was that they questionned our word and our honesty in a very rude manner.
After the email that we got from the hotel unfortunately all of the good memories were ruined and as we think about the hotel we have a very bad taste in our mouth....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaprun
0.7 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
312 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
255 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tauern Spa Kaprun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tauern Spa Kaprun

Address: Tauern Spa Platz 1 | 5710 Kaprun, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#7 Family Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range: £218 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tauern Spa Kaprun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorthotel with 160 bedrooms and suites, generous hotel panorama SPA, incl. Glassed in Skylinepool, relaxation and adventure areas, spectacular panorama saunas and lounge with open fireplace. Relaxation, neck and back massage nozzles, and a raised pool fitted with benches, air fizz and ground bubbles. SPA Waterworld outdoor with saltwater pool, active pool and sports pool, incl. Numerous water attractions (water spout, fizzy loungers, waterfall). Children's SPA Kidstein with indoor and outdoor pool, water slides, water park, and playground in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tauern Spa Kaprun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauern Spa Kaprun Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing