We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Nice Spa, Kind of Expensive”
Review of Tauern Spa Kaprun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice Spa, Kind of Expensive”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Sometimes you just want some 'me' time, and if you happen to find yourself in Kaprun then the Tauern Spa is a great place to have it.

The spa is a large complex attached to a hotel but functions as a public facility. There are a number of indoor and outdoor pools with waterfalls and spas, 9 saunas, nude area, IR booths, UV booths, massage, and other spa related services.

On arrival you are issued with a RFID wristband which provides you with access to your locker, and logs your use of services as you move about the facility. You then just scan this on departure and pay your dues.

Speaking of dues, this place ain't cheap! 18 EUR for access to the general pool/spa/outdoor pools area and sun lounges, another 12 EUR for access to the saunas and nude area, and varying prices depending on other services you choose to make use of. Given this, the facility is pretty nice, and at least you only pay for what you use.

A good spot for a bit of a splurge, self-healing of mind, and working away any tension in the muscles, be you mountain running, skiing/snowboarding, or just in the area. Only visited the spa so can't comment on the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    161
    41
    23
    7
See reviews for
143
299
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at the Tauern Spa Hotel for three nights for a holiday weekend and couldn't have been happier. All of our expectations were exceeded! We traveled with two small Italian volpino dogs and the hotel provided us with two dog beds and a set of bowls. The room was very clean and spacious. We stayed in the Panorama De Luxe room and woke up to the stunning views of the mountains. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful public spa and water world (the salt water pool was our favorite). The water is warm enough in all of the pools to swim outside even in the snow. If you are looking to try a sauna, but not quite ready for something too intense, the spa offers many options for beginners. We enjoyed the Organic Sauna, which had a pleasant aroma and less intense heat. The private hotel pool is incredible, set on the third floor and partially outside and overlooking the hotel grounds and mountains. There are plenty of walking/running paths right outside of the hotel and we took our dogs on many long and beautiful walks. Although the hotel is outside of the town of Kaprun, we traveled by car and it was very easy to reach the town and ski lifts. There are plenty of places to rent equipment and there seems to be an extensive bus system for travelers without a personal vehicle. There is covered parking for hotel guests, which is nice when there is snow falling. The food at the hotel was exquisite, we chose the half-board option and it was plenty! Beautiful breakfast spread with fresh Austrian pretzels, hot and cold options. The dinner was a three course meal with salad buffet, with different options every night. There were also plenty of vegetarian options. The restaurant has an excellent wine selection (including many Austrian wines) and we ordered the same bottle that our server suggested our first night for the rest of our stay!
The only thing I will say: it is a bit noisy in the early morning. It is a family friendly hotel, and there are many excited children running about! In addition, I found that the fitness center was a bit small considering the size of the hotel and spa (only two treadmills and limited equipment, that were often occupied). This seems to be a common problem in many hotels, however. Overall, we couldn't have been happier and await the day we can return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tudoepossivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here for a week and we were not disappointed! Very warm welcome on arrival; we were made to feel special. Welcome drinks on arrival and the reception staff pointed out the bus stop (right outside hotel) and timings of the free ski bus we would be using for the week - we were also informed of the spa facilities, ski storage area and TV channel to watch live feeds of the kitzsteinhorn. Room was very spacious, warm, clean, plenty of storage, room safe, excellent view and a large bathroom. Food was spectacular and the waiting staff very pleasant and helpful. The location was perfect for us, 5 minutes in to Kaprun, 15 minutes to the glacier and 7 minutes in to Arnheim at Zell. Beauty treatments are very good and reasonably priced. Spa is amazing - so clean. We would visit this hotel again, gladly! If I was to pick up on a negative, then it would have to be that the housekeeping staff failed to replenish the toiletries in good time and also left dirty wine glasses in the room for 3 days. Also the ski storage area is excellent but we did not know how to exit the area without going through hotel reception, something which is frowned upon, we did work it out in the end though (go through the parking area). All in all the hotel and surrounding area lend themselves very well to the attention to detail that all seem to be proud to participate in - it was a pleasure to visit here. Oh the skiing was good too, first few days on the glacier we had fresh powder with low vis, the later part of the week we went to Zell, fab runs on the sunny side with excellent restaurants serving wonderful goulash soup and Jagertee (a must try!). Nearly forgot; he hotel has a cross country track running directly behind it and can recommend some very good local instruction (€28.00 PP). If you want an excellent hotel with good food close to the ski areas without the loud/manic après then this could be the place to visit. Lovely touch with the parting gift also!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We visited SPA with small children during late afternoon / early evening. We really enjoyed our visit, and it was lovely to be in the outside pool as it was getting dark. Kids were running in snow, then jumping in the pool which was really warm, like a bath. The Spa offers a free creche which kids can attend in swim suits, so this provided us with time to enjoy the sauna, and swim outside. The pool also has an outside swim bar. Highly recommended. Expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyoffour9_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Spa is perfect. Many different pools inside and outside with thermal water. It's a great pleasure. There is a good self service restaurant on the Spa territory. So you should not take full board. HB is enough.
Now about the hotel itself. We were very disappointed with the following:
- there is no portlier to help you with your luggage. You have to do it by yourself;
- the hotel is very expensive. But taking HB board you nevertheless pay for all the drinks at the dinner even the simplest including water (5 Euro per bottle), tea, coffee etc. A hint for the visitors: take tap water at dinner. It's good for drinking all over Austria and free.
- TV! When lying in bed you can't watch TV because it placed in the guest area. Our son slept there so we didn't use it;
- there is no bath or shower cabin in the bathroom. Just ceramic tile floor with a shower above. And besides one of the walls in the bathroom is made of glass and faces the room. So you can't totally relax when taking a shower;
- the room cleaning leaves much to be desire. The floor was dirty all the time. Watch the towels! Once I noticed a dirty towel placed on the heater. There is no hygienic set in the bathroom.
- there is no WiFi in the Spa zone.
- the hotel is 85 % occupied by Russian tourists. Especially after the New Year you hear only Russian language with Moscow accent in the restaurant, in the Spa, on the street.

Room Tip: The rooms face Zell am See are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elena201272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Returning to this hotel each year. Great plce to take a rest together with the whole family. Between Zell am See and Kaprun it gives possibility to get to most beatiful slopes in Alps. Modern hotel, good SPA, excellent personel - i love this very much. Nice sleeping quality, comfortable rooms, everything.
BUT - every year i found that the cleaning become worth and worth... It seems as if they wash and clean dust only before you check-in! After - only changing towels. Glasses we can wash overselves. But i do not like to buy the clothes to dust everywhere!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataliya76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice (first time in 2011, second time in January 2013). I like it very much from the first time but at that time I considered it a nice hotel like others we have visited before.
Second time we traveled with our dog and I was very much impressed about the way they managed the situation. For sure it was the best hotel in which we have stayed with our dog. There are a lot of hotels which are mentioning they are pet friendly but most of them are not making any effort to make you feel good and secure that everything will be ok.
The staff was very friendly, the food was very good,(especially the breakfast) and the spa was oustanding.
We will return for sure this year!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank black_moon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaprun
0.7 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
0.9 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#4 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Der Kapruner Hof
Der Kapruner Hof
#6 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tauern Spa Kaprun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tauern Spa Kaprun

Property: Tauern Spa Kaprun
Address: Tauern Spa Platz 1 | 5710 Kaprun, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#7 Family Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tauern Spa Kaprun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorthotel with 160 bedrooms and suites, generous hotel panorama SPA, incl. Glassed in Skylinepool, relaxation and adventure areas, spectacular panorama saunas and lounge with open fireplace. Relaxation, neck and back massage nozzles, and a raised pool fitted with benches, air fizz and ground bubbles. SPA Waterworld outdoor with saltwater pool, active pool and sports pool, incl. Numerous water attractions (water spout, fizzy loungers, waterfall). Children's SPA Kidstein with indoor and outdoor pool, water slides, water park, and playground in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tauern Spa Kaprun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauern Spa Kaprun Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing