We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Tauernhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tauernhof
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have just returned from a holiday in Kaprun staying in this hotel. Everything about it was excellent. The food was good with plenty of choice, especially the breakfast. We were provided with a summer card which gave us cheaper bus fares and free cable cars and boat trips which was an added bonus. The staff were extremely efficient and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hils12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have this morning left the hotel Taunerhof, Kaprun with our group. We have enjoyed every minute of our stay here at this family run hotel. From the moment we arrived we had a friendly greeting from the owner, our luggage was quickly taken to our rooms which were well equipped and spotlessly clean, the food at breakfast and dinner was excellent not to mention the service.
We shall most certainly stay here again and again and recommend this hotel to one and all.
Thank you to all at the Taunerhof.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWJonesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a fantastic week in Kaprun, and the staff at Tauernhof made it for us.

Firstly, breakfast is served until 10am - whilst some people want to get on the slopes early, if you don't, this is great. The breakfast itself is a buffet, but high class - choice of juice, cereals, yoghurts, a range of breads, wonderful homemade jam, some hot food like bacon/bavarian sausage, scrambled egg, crepes/waffles, boiled eggs, a wide range of cheese/ham/salad.

For dinner, you sit on the same table every night (as you do for breakfast)... and have a wonderful 4-course that changes every night. You have to choose what you want the night before, but the food is freshly cooked - a wide buffet to start, soup, choice of 3 mains (local/international/veg), then dessert... followed by an amazing cheese board, ice cream etc. We had wine every night, of high quality, for a mere 27 euro. Dinner starts at 6.00pm & goes on until 8pm, but no issue coming down at 7.45pm.

We then tended to retire to the bar, which was very pleasant.

The rooms were great for a ski resort - spacious, with a (very small!) safe, small fridge, wardrobe, desk, chairs & ensuite bathroom. Bathroom basic, but practical. Liquid soap in the bathroom (NB no shampoo). One great touch - there was a small rucksack to borrow in the room, which we used every day to take bits & bods onto the slopes. There was a flatscreen TV, which we barely used, but had two British channels. Two single beds pushed together with two single duvets. Room cleaned daily.

Then there was the spa - very nicely done, if a little small - never a problem for us, but only c.8 lounger beds... & room for c.4 people in the sauna. Pool was a reasonable size & all very nicely done. Also had spa treatments, but we didn't. They also have a table tennis & pool table.

The boot room was in the basement - did all that it needed to, with heated boot warmers overnight.

But the main reason why we raved about the place was the staff. So, so friendly - every single one of them. I also mentioned on my booking form that it was my wife's "special" birthday... and when we arrived, in the room was a red rose and a bottle of champagne - and on the day of the birthday, our table was adorned with hearts and flowers - all very special touches. All staff speak English. Guests a good mix of British & European.

The location is very central - opposite a tabak to get water for the room, postcards etc... and a 2 minute walk to the ski bus that takes you either to the glacier or the local slopes - both c.15 minutes on the bus - we never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus - in the morning or evening. Transfer from the airport was c.90 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a great week here. The location is excellent only a short walk from the bus stop and all the other attractions Kaprun has to offer. The rooms are clean well serviced and very comfortable. We paid extra for a balcony and bath with Crystal ski and we were happy to pay the little extra. The staff in the hotel are great but English is a little limited but we are in Austria and we should have learned German if we wanted to talk about things other than the weather and snow conditions. The food was good and we never had a bad meal. The spa is great after a long days boarding and we always got a place in the sauna. There is a free games room which is nice to use after dinner for a few games of pool. We would stay here again everyone made you feel welcome. The owners were always present and were very friendly even when we saw them in the supermarket they said hello. The ski room has ample space for boards ski's and even warming bars for your boots. Its just a really nice place to stay. The bar prices are at the top end of the resort but not excessive however you do get charged for Tap water. The Gala dinner was very time consuming and not the best meal but the beer flowed and we had a good laugh with other couples.

Room Tip: room 122 has a balcony that you can see up and down the street from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just returned from a lovely skiing holiday and were based at the Tauernhof. We could not have chosen a better hotel. The staff were very attentive, with a special mention for Patrick who seemed to always be there to make sure we were topped up.
Rooms are a little basic, but the spa was first class as was the food.
We would like to thank all of staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The Tauernhof was an excellent hotel in which to base a large group of skiers. It was cosy, clean and not to large. The spa was excellent, again clean. The owner is obviously extremely hard working but did over react to a member of the party arriving to dinner carrying his own water. Tap water was charged for!!!!!! Otherwise splendid

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here as a family of 4 with two grown up sons. Hotel was lovely, clean, excellent food and very friendly, helpful staff. Thank you Patrick for the unique bar service! The rooms were comfortable and a good standard. We were at the front of the hotel and no problems with noise as the village was quiet in the evenings. The position was brilliant to access both the glacier and Zell am See for great skiing. Try and go early or, leave until late morning on the buses as it was very busy at peak time. The pool and spa area were lovely especially after a day on the slopes. Altogether a great holiday and we would recommend the hotel & resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.2 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Der Kapruner Hof
Der Kapruner Hof
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
0.2 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tauernhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tauernhof

Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Strasse 9, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#3 Family Hotel in Kaprun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range: £145 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tauernhof 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The secret behind your holiday enjoyment 4-star Hotel Tauernhof in Kaprun unites high-class service with a personal atmosphere. Our highest goal is to make your vacation in SalzburgerLand an unforgettable experience. Our secret for your perfect vacation experience? A relaxing family atmosphere, the wonderful mountain world of the Pinzgau and a whole range of marvelous extras make your vacation an experience to remember. Summer and winter, our guests can expect the best of the best - and even a little bit more. Not least because, in our family-run hotel you immediately feel the friendly atmosphere that comes from our joy in providing outstanding service. Unwind in our spacious rooms, experience the soothing tranquility of our modern wellness area, and in our restaurant enjoy exquisite palate pleasers from our kitchen and cellars. Every step of the way, you are accompanied by tasteful Alpine style and a brand of sincerity that quickly turns guests into friends. Location It doesn't get any better than this... Hotel Tauernhof enjoys a quiet yet central location in the town center of Kaprun. Our house serves as an ideal base for hikes, water sports on the Zeller See, sightseeing trips, as well as wintery skiing enjoyment on the nearby pistes of the Zell am See-Kaprun ski area. Kaprun Kaprun lies in the Pinzgau district, surrounded by the wonderful mountain world of the Hohe Tauern range as well as the Zell am See-Kaprun region. This small mountain village of barely 3.000 residents charmingly combines tradition and modernity. Guests from around the world treasure the breathtaking nature all around us and the sincere brand of hospitality for which SalzburgerLand is renowned. But don't just take our word for it - experience it all for yourself, during your vacation at Hotel Tauernhof. A 60-year tradition of hospitality unites the Gschwandtner family with the Tauernhof. From the time this place was opened back in 1953, the mother of Gerald Gschwandtner ran the inn with her three sisters. Over the years, the family business was steadily expanded, most recently in 2012 with the building of a new, 500 m² wellness oasis christened the "Tauernreich". And so it was that, over the course of time, an inn was transformed into a hotel, one that more than does justice to the high expectations of modern hospitality. Tradition tried-and-true Today it is Gerald Gschwandtner and wife Inge who run the Tauernhof, constantly keeping a close eye on the wellbeing of their guests. With their children Rudi and Christina, the next generation is already standing right there at their side in order to continue a time-tested tradition on into the future. We look forward to having the privilege of welcoming you here in person! Family Gschwandtner & the Tauernhof Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tauernhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauernhof Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing