We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent standard - rooms, food, staff & facilities faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Reviewed 10 March 2013

we stayed in a deluxe room, well furnished, extremely comfortable beds. free wifi was useful. all staff very welcoming & helpful.
Food excellent, great range of breakfast choices, gourmet dinners with 3 or 4 choices of main course, it was like being a judge on "masterchef" each evening.
Friendly & attentive staff, excellent service all round.
Spa - different saunas etc, never overcrowded, very relaxing.
A high quality experience - a true 4 star hotel, unlike some we have stayed in.
No hesitation in recommending this hotel,
next to the ski school nursery slope for beginners & just a 10 min walk or a hop on the free ski bus to the other slopes

Room Tip: next time i would ask for a room on the piste side, to get some sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Booked as part of a ski package, we were expecting comfortable accommodation. We arrived mid afternoon to an exuberant greeting and helpful tips. The lift is small and fit 2 with luggage as long as we didn't expect to inhale. However, our room on the 1st floor was spacious and obviously recently renovated. The beds were comfortable and overpopulated with pillows of various sizes. The balcony was generously sized but unfortunately faced the main road. There is a ski room with a heated boot rack and a fantastic sauna area, small pool and in house massage therapist.
We were on half board. Dinner is an ample affair. Starters were buffet style and varied. You selected a soup and main then it was followed by dessert and a selection of cheese and fruit. Wine was available for an additional charge. The food was ambitious and was good but not brilliant. Breakfast was a fairly standard buffet and unchanging.
The facilities were of a high standard but service was outstanding and a good reason to return here. Special mention goes to the receptionist Eva-Marie and the barman Dietmar. You went above and beyond. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenguinRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Very nice and friendly mountain hotel.
Staff = high quality, food the same and rooms with nice Kaprun view.
Meeting room well prepared + spa, pool very nice.

Overal evaluation = excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henri888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We would highly commend the staff on reception, answered all email queries very quickly. On arrival they were absolutely delightful.

Room Tip: The older building has spacious rooms but they are very dated. Strange yellow / cream effect walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful, from my first email enquiry to the last day of our holiday they always had a smile and eager to help. We were travelling with our 15 year old son so had booked two rooms as we prefer to have seperate bathrooms. On arrival we wer told we had been unpgraded and I assume the upgrade meant we had a sitting room. There were two bathrooms but only one toilet which is not what we wanted. In hindsight I should have spoken to the manager as soon as we realized this but we wer tired and just wanted to get settled. I was not happy about the arrangement as it was not what I booked. The only reason we came to Kaprun was because every web site we looked at, they boast it is the only place you can ski 360 days of the year and we wanted this for my son and husband. On the day we arrived they closed the ski lifts for maintenance and they had to travel 2 hours to a different ski area. This holiday was recovery for myself and that meant being able to sleep in. Unfortunately this became an issue because the lock on the door was missing and there was no "do not disturb" sign. Three times the cleaning lady came in to our bedroom while I was still in bed. The day before we left they provided a door sign.
The breakfast was very basic but everything extremely fresh. The evening meals were way too fussy for us, especially for our son so we did not take advantage of these included meals and usually ate at other restaurants. the atmosphere in the dining room was not very friendly and it made us feel like we had to whisper and we noticed most other tables were the same. This is not the type of atmosphere we like so again chose other restaurants to eat which was unfortunate because we had paid for the meals. For the cost of the rooms we were very disappointed that there are no tea and coffe making facilities. The cost of the room service coffee was very expensive adding to an already expensive and disappointing holiday. It seemed like everyone smokes in Austria and there are no laws protecting non-smokers. It was nice that this hotel did not allow smoking inside, but it was awful everytime you stepped outside into what should have been fresh air to smell disgusting cigarette smoke. Austria would have to be one of the worst places for smokers. We also felt that if these types of hotels want to attract travellers from other countries then they should provide English speaking television or movies. Again I would like to say how lovely the staff were.

Room Tip: if you want two bathrooms and toilets make sure you specify that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I hesitate to use the word hotel, because the welcome and atmosphere in this place is far from the cold impression that "Hotel" can sometimes give.

We stayed here over Christmas in 2010 with 2 small children (6&4) who both had horrific jet-lag, and we had a fantastic time. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and brought up room service and the kitchen were great about catering for kids who were nearly asleep at 5pm, despite that they were preparing for dinner. There was almost nothing that they wouldn't do to help our stay be enjoyable.

The rooms are really well decked out and spacious, with lots of storage, views and location are utterly perfect. Every evening there's a (run out of superlatives) fantastic meal which you have to choose at breakfast, and the thing that surprised me was the quality of food in Austria... I'm not sure what Austria is famous for, aside from Skiing but it should definitely be up there for food.

Everyone who works there was fantastic, Danny in the dining room is brilliant and funny and the kids loved him, Barbara herself is totally in control and very confident. (Her husband is a bit of a spare wheel to be honest, but he keeps himself to himself)

I would be utterly gobsmacked if there were a better hotel in Kaprun... if there was it would have to be pretty incredible to beat this.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

5 stars services and excellent meal.

We really plan to be back next summer holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis13Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.9 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kuenstleralm
Hotel Kuenstleralm
#14 of 30 in Kaprun
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Active by Leitner's
Active by Leitner's
#7 of 30 in Kaprun
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof

Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Strasse 11, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kaprun
#4 Family Hotel in Kaprun
#7 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range: £181 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Barbarahof Enjoy your days to the fullest. During the day, the attractions of the region Zell am See - Kaprun will attract you and in the evening you can enjoy peace and relaxation at the Wellness Hotel Barbarahof, your hotel in Kaprun. Stylishly furnished rooms, spacious suites and Austrian hospitality await you. The Barbarahof combines high standards and quality at reasonable prices. Whether a family holiday, hiking or golf package - choose from our wide range of summer offers or grab the early bird bonus. The current winter packages include the right activity for every ski and pleasure holidaymaker. Passionate Porsche and car fans are also well catered for. In the immediate vicinity of the Barbarahof are several scenic roads on which you can enjoy the unparalleled scenery on a leisurely ride around the hotel in Kaprun and the entire region. In winter, there are two training ski lifts directly behind the hotel in Kaprun and the Maiskogelbahn family paradise nearby. The summit world on the Kitzsteinhorn and the Schmittenhohe ski area are within a few minutes. You can enjoy numerous hiking and daytrip destinations in the summer for free with the Zell am See-Kaprun Card. At the two 18-hole golf courses just five minutes away, you tee off with up to a discount on green fees and views from the 3,000 m peaks of the Hohe Tauern. Picturesque landscapes and an impressive mountain panorama: Already on your arrival, there is a lot to discover. Just arrived at the Barbarahof, the hosts will guide you personally through their tastefully decorated 4-star superior hotel in Kaprun - valuable leisure tips included. TOP-CLASS ENJOYMENT AT YOUR HOTEL IN KAPRUN The superior standard is always perceptible and tangible: Unique bed quality Sensational kitchen Outstanding wine and bar offer Seminars of different sizes (your hotel in Kaprun can be booked completely and exclusively for groups) Family run and personally supervised by the owners No laundry for hire: Our guests feel particularly at ease with our select hotel laundry and high-quality terry products, which are carefully cleaned and pressed by our staff in house. Gourmets, take note: culinary delights are waiting for you. Local suppliers coupled with authentic creations - the family run Barbarahof in Zell am See - Kaprun offers sensational food and the best wines at the highest international level. Everything to make you feel completely comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbarahof Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing