We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We just returned from a weeks stay at the Barbarahof in Kaprun.The hotel is lovely & in a great location near the center of everything & the bus stop which takes you to all the main attractions.
The food was really good with a massive selection of fresh salads to start followed by soup main desert & cheese board.The room we had was a little small & the balcony was overlooked but in general everything was really nice & everywhere spotlessly clean.My one criticism is they charge E2.90 for tap water with your meal which I have never seen anywhere before.I would recommend this hotel & the area is fabulous.The staff at the hotel are most helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the front great balcony & great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    19
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
39
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We were upgraded to a suite from deluxe room, which was a great start to our stay, the suite was lovely and the bed incredibly comfortable.

The staff were all very helpful, nice and professional throughout our stay. The food was always great, breakfasts offered plenty of choice and dinner was really tasty everyday. It was usually 4 or 5 courses, the soups and desserts were always delicious, the only thing I would say was a slight negative about dinner was that it felt a bit too formal sometimes, particularly for myself who travelled light and casual (jeans, t-shirt and hoodies no shirts).

Got to mention the spa which was great and we really enjoyed the routine of having a sauna after a day on the slopes, then a really cold shower, which helps the muscles recover. The spa does get busy and as everyone is wearing the hotel bathrobes, somebody ended up taking our roomkey one day, so there could be better system for busy periods. Plus a jacuzzi would be a welcome addition, but i'm knitpicking a little bit.

Overall, we were very happy with stay and would recommend Barbarhof to anyone going to Kaprun.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killinchy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed at beginning of march and had a lovely week. Hotel is situated close to the centre of kaprun and 50 m from a beginner run with a button lift. Staff at reception deserve a mention on how welcoming they always are. The rooms are very comfortable with the bed super comfy with a large TV and a balcony.
Half board offered a nice breakfast and an ambitious evening meal which had to be chosen at breakfast. The presentation unfortunately exceeded the quality and variety on offer, with often the soups being the highlight of the evening. A more modern approach to the dining would be welcome by the guests I spoke to. Wines by the bottle start at 29 euro which excluded most diners including myself, which meant a trip into kaprun each evening as the bar was quiet and the prices were on the high side, in kaprun there was a small but good choice of bars.
Overall I would go back to kaprun but I would try a different hotel just to sample a different food menu.

Room Tip: Try to face piste as it gets the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

we stayed in a deluxe room, well furnished, extremely comfortable beds. free wifi was useful. all staff very welcoming & helpful.
Food excellent, great range of breakfast choices, gourmet dinners with 3 or 4 choices of main course, it was like being a judge on "masterchef" each evening.
Friendly & attentive staff, excellent service all round.
Spa - different saunas etc, never overcrowded, very relaxing.
A high quality experience - a true 4 star hotel, unlike some we have stayed in.
No hesitation in recommending this hotel,
next to the ski school nursery slope for beginners & just a 10 min walk or a hop on the free ski bus to the other slopes

Room Tip: next time i would ask for a room on the piste side, to get some sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Booked as part of a ski package, we were expecting comfortable accommodation. We arrived mid afternoon to an exuberant greeting and helpful tips. The lift is small and fit 2 with luggage as long as we didn't expect to inhale. However, our room on the 1st floor was spacious and obviously recently renovated. The beds were comfortable and overpopulated with pillows of various sizes. The balcony was generously sized but unfortunately faced the main road. There is a ski room with a heated boot rack and a fantastic sauna area, small pool and in house massage therapist.
We were on half board. Dinner is an ample affair. Starters were buffet style and varied. You selected a soup and main then it was followed by dessert and a selection of cheese and fruit. Wine was available for an additional charge. The food was ambitious and was good but not brilliant. Breakfast was a fairly standard buffet and unchanging.
The facilities were of a high standard but service was outstanding and a good reason to return here. Special mention goes to the receptionist Eva-Marie and the barman Dietmar. You went above and beyond. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenguinRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Very nice and friendly mountain hotel.
Staff = high quality, food the same and rooms with nice Kaprun view.
Meeting room well prepared + spa, pool very nice.

Overal evaluation = excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We would highly commend the staff on reception, answered all email queries very quickly. On arrival they were absolutely delightful.

Room Tip: The older building has spacious rooms but they are very dated. Strange yellow / cream effect walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.9 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#6 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Das Falkenstein
Das Falkenstein
#12 of 30 in Kaprun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tauernhof
Hotel Tauernhof
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof

Property: Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Address: Nikolaus-Gassner-Strasse 11, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kaprun
#4 Family Hotel in Kaprun
#6 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Barbarahof Enjoy your days to the fullest. During the day, the attractions of the region Zell am See - Kaprun will attract you and in the evening you can enjoy peace and relaxation at the Wellness Hotel Barbarahof, your hotel in Kaprun. Stylishly furnished rooms, spacious suites and Austrian hospitality await you. The Barbarahof combines high standards and quality at reasonable prices. Whether a family holiday, hiking or golf package - choose from our wide range of summer offers or grab the early bird bonus. The current winter packages include the right activity for every ski and pleasure holidaymaker. Passionate Porsche and car fans are also well catered for. In the immediate vicinity of the Barbarahof are several scenic roads on which you can enjoy the unparalleled scenery on a leisurely ride around the hotel in Kaprun and the entire region. In winter, there are two training ski lifts directly behind the hotel in Kaprun and the Maiskogelbahn family paradise nearby. The summit world on the Kitzsteinhorn and the Schmittenhohe ski area are within a few minutes. You can enjoy numerous hiking and daytrip destinations in the summer for free with the Zell am See-Kaprun Card. At the two 18-hole golf courses just five minutes away, you tee off with up to a discount on green fees and views from the 3,000 m peaks of the Hohe Tauern. Picturesque landscapes and an impressive mountain panorama: Already on your arrival, there is a lot to discover. Just arrived at the Barbarahof, the hosts will guide you personally through their tastefully decorated 4-star superior hotel in Kaprun - valuable leisure tips included. TOP-CLASS ENJOYMENT AT YOUR HOTEL IN KAPRUN The superior standard is always perceptible and tangible: Unique bed quality Sensational kitchen Outstanding wine and bar offer Seminars of different sizes (your hotel in Kaprun can be booked completely and exclusively for groups) Family run and personally supervised by the owners No laundry for hire: Our guests feel particularly at ease with our select hotel laundry and high-quality terry products, which are carefully cleaned and pressed by our staff in house. Gourmets, take note: culinary delights are waiting for you. Local suppliers coupled with authentic creations - the family run Barbarahof in Zell am See - Kaprun offers sensational food and the best wines at the highest international level. Everything to make you feel completely comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbarahof Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing