We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most recommended hotel in Kaprun”
Review of Antonius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antonius
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most recommended hotel in Kaprun”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I have spent one week in this hotel in January. The service was one of the best I ever have, especially Suzana and Tommy. The food was amazing. The room was much more bigger than I have expected. And SPA.... They have very wide selection of SPA options (four types of sauna, solarium, jaccuzzi, relaxation room) plus swimming pool, games room and gym. I recommend this hotel very much. Deffinitely I will come back there.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    37
    12
    9
    0
See reviews for
39
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Due to pregancy (:-)) had to skip skiing this year, but still wanted to go to the mountains. We picked this hotel for location reasons, a mix of both skiing (for my man) and enjoying weather and mountains for myself.
Wellness facilities are allright, they are separate from the swimming pool, which is a good point when children are enjoying and shouting in the pool.
Very friendly staff, good food. Breakfast does miss a bit of variation, they have good, freshly prepared eggs though.
All in all, good hotel for its price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, then you will have a terrific view on the mountains, the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here with my son first week of January 2014 - The great points for this hotel are :

1. Large comfortable and functional rooms - separate bedroom and lounge area which meant my son didn't have to put up with my snoring
2. Four course evening meals were varied, plentiful and satisfying after a whole days skiing
3. The wellness area is fantastic - clean and well maintained and a real bonus after a days skiing
4. The hotel staff are attentive and helpful

The two points which could make the hotel even better for skiers are :
1. Location - although there is a bus stop right outside the hotel, if you miss the last bus (16:30 from the glacier), it is a good 10 minute walk from the centre which can be hard going with ski's and boots etc. The message here is don't miss the last bus!
2. Breakfast does not start until 07:30 which means you cannot catch the first ski bus (07.46) unless you are an extremely quick eater!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelfromSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Travelled to Kaprun for Christmas week 2013 and stayed at the Antonius Hotel. The Hotel is superb. The food and service was outstanding and starters served straight away so no waiting for a hungry teenager! The Christmas Eve Gala Dinner surpassed all expectations. The staff in the restaurant were always friendly and efficient. The reception staff were very helpful and informative with local knowledge and giving advice and directions. We had a room with a double bedroom, lounge,dressing area, bathroom and separate toilet and balcony. The Hotel is very clean, the cleaners do a great job. We used the pool everyday which was a little cool at first but fine when you get swimming. Th Hotel has a very nice wellness area seperate from the pool but didn't fancy it as not used to the continental rules of no swimwear allowed. The ski bus stops right outside and easy to get used to timetables etc.
No downsides.
Afternoon tea would be a real bonus.
If you stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoRobillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just home from a lovely stay at the Antonius, Kaprun. A very clean hotel throughout with an excellent spa/indoor pool area. Outside pool not so great however, even when weather very hot, water still quite cold and full of flies. Meals alright for adults with some weird aspic starters, and 3 choices for main course, but not great for children, as no choice at all for all 3 courses with no flexibility on the all inclusive tariff. Our kids lived on soup and bread all week!! All inclusive drinks choice was very good and afternoon tea/cakes nice. Packed lunches also good. We had the lunch at the hotel twice and was very tasty with soup and 2 to 3 hot choices and salad. Best thing about this hotel is the free Kaprun Zell am See Summercard which is worth its weight in gold for great savings on entry fees to local attractions. All in all would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing rear of hotel, as early morning motorbikes very noisy due to being close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fiona g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Recently returned from a two week holiday at this hotel with my wife.
My comments are nothing but complimentary. The flight to Salzburg was only 2 hours from Newcastle, but the transfer to Kaprun took almost as long, but it was worth it when we arrived.
The situation of the hotel is majestic, with breathtaking mountain views from all angles. Our room was actually a suite, with a separate lounge, bedroom, bathroom and toilet. It was very tastefully furnished, with beautiful wooden doors and fittings, and was well equipped. The room service throughout our stay was first class. Unfortunately the flatscreen TV was not capable of receiving a single English speaking channel, which didn't bother us except that a news channel would have been handy to keep up with current happenings, as even English newspapers are in short supply in the area. Views from the spacious balcony provided impressive viewing pleasures.
Guests were largely continentals, mostly German, with only a smattering of English visitors, but this was no problem to us.
Facilities at the hotel were excellent, with pleasant dining rooms, interior lounge, outside seating and sunbathing areas with pool, a cosy bar, and for the more energetic, indoor fitness room, sauna, and pool. The meals were most enjoyable. Breakfast could be cooked or light, depending on your preference, lunch was usually chicken or fish with salad, with the option of an adequate packed lunch if you were out for the day. The evening meal was a departure from the buffet style to a waiter service five course offering, and should have satisfied even those with gourmet tastes. The service was efficient, and graciously courteous.
Drinks of course were served at dinner, and could also be obtained throughout the day. These were of good quality, with the beer especially enjoyable, and the all inclusive aspect is a boon, for prices outside the hotel were quite high. The bar closed at 10.00p.m., which might sound draconian, but was a blessing in disguise, for it was such an active holiday that early bedtimes were the order of the day.
Daytime activities were plentiful, and another massive bonus was the "Zell am See/Kaprun Summer Card" provided by the hotel. This permitted travel on the local buses for 1 euro per journey per person, and incredibly, FREE use of a whole range of services and attractions. These included unlimited use of the gondolas and cable cars, boat rides around the lake at Zell, admission to some museums and facilities, with discounted prices to others. This literally saved us hundreds of euros throughout our two week stay.
Walking the area was an unbelievable pleasure, with routes to suit all ages and abilities. These are well signposted, and are profuse at ground level and also in the mountains. Every single one of them allows you to savour the breathtaking surroundings. There is no problem with filling your days enjoyably.
The weather was very hot in the early days of our stay, followed by a few days when it was overcast and showery, but still warm, which did not inhibit our activities. The last part of the holiday was hot again, which was a nice end for us.
The entire holiday was a complete change for us, after a succession of Mediterranean holidays, but one which we thoroughly enjoyed. All in all, it was a fantastic experience, and superb value for money.

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to a suite if you can afford it. All these rooms, whether at the front or rear, ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank magjim44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We've just returned from our annual family ski-ing holiday in Austria and although I would definitely recommend Kaprun, I would be hesitant in recommending this hotel, which is a shame, as the facilities and rooms are immaculate. It just lacked atmosphere!
The rooms are very clean, spotless in fact, as are all the public areas, but the hotel feels a little neglected and could do with a bit of re-decorating, just to add a bit of ambience to it. This probably wasn't helped by the fact that a conference was taking place in the hotel, so it was full of conference attendees as opposed to genuine holiday makers.
The bar in the evening was very quiet; I'm not sure if this was because we were here in early March and most people had been earlier in the season, but the restaurant and bar in the evening were deathly quiet - this may have also been because the conference attendees ate in a different room.
The best thing about this hotel, however, was the fact that the ski bus (K2 to the Kitzsteinhorn) stopped directly outside the hotel, was only the 2nd pick up in the morning (so you were guaranteed a seat), and dropped off again directly outside the hotel. Perfect after a hard day's ski-ing!
Kaprun itself is a lovely village. There are plenty of bars and restaurants; we often sat outside at the Pavillion bar (as we couldn't take our 11 year old inside at apres-ski time), but they have heaters and furs to sit under, and the atmosphere was brilliant. The staff here are very good and the pizzas are lovely. I would also recommend the free wi-fi here. There are also loads of sports shops in Kaprun, so lots of shopping if you're looking for new ski gear.
The ski-ing is very good; you're guaranteed snow on the Kitzsteinhorn and the slopes here are really good for intermediates. There's plenty of scope for going off-piste as well. We also popped across to Zell am See on the ski bus, and the long black runs between the trees in this ski area are excellent. Overall, the resort has a lot to recommend it.
For the Antonius, the food was good, the staff were pleasant, but the hotel definitely lacked a holiday atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side of the hotel, facing the castle, which was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaprun
0.8 mi away
Hotel Toni
Hotel Toni
#9 of 30 in Kaprun
146 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Berner
Hotel Berner
#12 of 43 in Zell am See
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenparks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antonius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antonius

Property: Antonius
Address: Schlossstrasse 39, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kaprun
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
#9 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antonius 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the land of mountains, valleys and lakes, to the dream holiday resort of kaprun. Welcome to the province of Salzburg, a miniature paradise. Welcome most sincerely to Hotel Antonius. Hiking and biking through untouched nature Resting in fields of flowers near cristal clear mountain lakes Rafting tours in wild white water mountain streams Bathing in the cool wet. Our Antonius offers you comfortable double rooms for 2 persons up to a family. Our Spa is perfect to end a day, to gather strength for the next adventure, to daydream at leisure. Dive in and relax. Wind down, let off steam. In the adventure world around the huge outdoor panoramic pool and by the indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antonius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antonius Hotel Kaprun
Antonius Austrian Alps
Antonius Hotel Austrian Alps

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing