We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect trip overall.”
Review of Der Kapruner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Der Kapruner Hof
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect trip overall.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

All very good. Comfortable clean rooms, kind and helpfull staff throughout the hotel and good location away from the main road makes it a quiet setting. Food in restaurant is tasty with an extensive breakfast buffet and egg dishes to order. Also dinner is good, but mosts guests are on half-board, so it is clear that all food is produced in advance and then served en mass. Still presentation and taste were very good, with good variety and good choices of meat, fish and veggie every day.
The hotel provides little extra touches that make a big difference. Like a welcome drink on your first evening and a tin of sweeties as a thank you when you leave.
Also the wi-fi in the hotel is free and faster than I have experienced in many big chain hotels.
Just remember that this is still a small, family run, hotel, as the website is very slick and the photos are very well done it is easy to think you are going to a big chain hotel, it is not.
So I can recommend the Kaprunerhof for a visit to this part of Austria.
(just one little tip: bring short sleeves for going to the dining room and all areas of the hotel as it is VERY warm everywhere, even in December with snow outside).

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DoMeAFavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    24
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the Kaprunerhof In September this year and were sadly disappointed. We had expected a four star experience but the proud boasts of the hotel's website about the quality of the rooms and food did not meet our expectations.
We booked the grandly named Panoramic suite and we did have an excellent view of the Kitzsteinhorn but also the local sports field, supermarket and a neighbours back garden needless to say the hotel's location is nothing special just an average suburban backwater.
The suite itself was tired and in need of updating. The carpet and sofa were stained and the bedding was polycotton not what we expect in a 4 star hotel. The spar bath did not work!
However, we could have overlooked all of the above if the FOOD had been anywhere near 4 star quality. The restaurant is beautifully presented and staffed by friendly and attentive staff but the food although presented well was mostly remarkably poor in taste and quality.
Jus’ were simply made from a commercial stock concentrate and cream mousses were similarly made from commercial preparations. The food was presented in a series of courses; thankfully the portions were small so my plate was never returned too embarrassingly full. An Austrian Buffett was hosted on Saturday night and the main course was somewhat better but the meal was again let down by the poor dessert that was just a piece of cake from the local budget supermarket covered in custard made from a packet!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter7902013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This small Kaprun Hotel is very nicely located. From my suit room I had the view of the Kithsteinhorn Glazer, the river and beautiful green gardens. Silent to rest for pare ski. Renewed every year, nice and clean. Compered to its price it deserves mud better rating. Had a early 13/14 season 5 day ski trip and was very happy. All the employees are friendly and smiling. The food was excellent. Will come back soon.

Room Tip: Sky view suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haluk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very warm welcome to a very nice family run hotel. From the minute we arrived made to feel welcome, food great, could not fault the service. On the first night struggled to read the menu, the next day the menu had been translated to English for us. I would most defiantly use this hotel again should I return to Kaprun.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel. Haifa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Family hotel. Modern, comfortable, very good cusine ( I do not recommend to order fish dishes in Austria, better take something they REALLY know to cook, like beef). Excellent service. In the room, bathroom and toilets everything not only new, but most important clean and shining. Good veiw from the balcony, what else do we need? Good SPA, I loved third sauna outside of SPA. Parking place, free Wi-Fi. Good place to spend ski vacation at Sell am zee - Kaprun. Don't forget to ask the owner to recommend good shnaps)))

Room Tip: HUNTING SUITE is best option quality/money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felshyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Our second visit to the Kaprunerhof was even better than our first! Our room had recently been refurbished to a very high standard and had lovely views of the Kitzsteinhorn; the food was even better than we remembered; and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful including dealing with my wife's special dietary requirements. Stefan's advice on walking options, particularly after the first snowfall of the year was much appreciated and we enjoyed a guided walk to the hydro scheme reservoirs. We greatly enjoyed the spa facilities!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susandavid206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel as a base for a walking holiday.There were magnificent views of the Kitzteinhorn from our room which was clean and a decent size (deluxe romantic). The half-board option is very good value and the chef produced a consistently high standard every night. Service is very efficient. What was particularly useful was that the hotel participates in the Summer Card scheme which proved invaluable when using cable cars, buses, etc. We worked out that the savings on the card paid our bar bill at the end of the week!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
1.0 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
0.4 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#4 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tauernhof
Hotel Tauernhof
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Kapruner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Kapruner Hof

Property: Der Kapruner Hof
Address: Schulstrasse 21, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Kapruner Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Der Kapruner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing