We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Energy charger!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Active by Leitner's
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever been! This hotel combines traditions and modern. Beautiful design lobby as well as hotel rooms. Rooms are pleasant, airy. On the evening is very nice to enjoy some drink in the lobby bar with comfy athmosphere. Restaurant is in hundread years old farmhouse just a few steps away and if you have half board scheme you get nice 3 course menu. Service in hotel and restaurant is perfect and very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pavleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActiveKaprun, Inhaber at Active by Leitner's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you indeed!
We are very happy -and most of all to hear "energy-charger" ... - is the best compliment we can get!
It is always a great pleasure, if we read about our and our team's hospitality, efforts and service , which are hard work, but also day by day a challenge which we are willing to face- and after getting this evaluation with a much larger smile in our faces :-)
See you again;
with warm regards from Kaprun
Rosmarie & Wolfgang Leitner and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

... but take a closer look and you"ll find out that a few things could be improved, number one on my list: dinner (small plates, standard food, very little creativity). really nice stay if you are not too picky ;) on the bright side: beautiful area, a lot of things to do both in winter and summer, awesome breakfast buffet, friendly local people!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebluetrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActiveKaprun, Inhaber at Active by Leitner's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you indeed!
As all visitors can read, the most compliments are for the menues from our creative, young "cooks", so we are a bit sad now what happened, but always we feel really happy if we can talk about this during the stay of our guests, this gives us a chance to offer some other opportunities, but thanks once more. Happy to hear you have enjoyed the wonderful location, our large breakfastbuffet ( and sure you have enjoyed also the cakes on afternoon and the large spa) the ZellamSee-Kaprun Card which is included for our guests and allow to use all cable cars and many more free of charge.
Thank you for the time, with our very best wishes
Rosmarie & Wolfgang Leitner & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We spent there a week during the summer of 2011, July to be exact. We loved the modern design, spacious interiors, friendly staff. We were greeted every day by the lovely owner, Frau Leitner who goes about her guests with a lot of care.

Our kids liked playing outside (we got the ground floor room) and in the outdoor pool. Also nice place to hang out in the main lobby to have a drink in the evening. No wifi though !


In plus:

- very nice modern design,
- good breakfast ,
- nice staff
- fitnesroom with very nice view and well equipped, clean and new
- nice and clean wellness area if you care for a massage

In minus:

- no WIFI in the whole building accept little dungeon in the basement.
- only breakfast served in the main building, for other meals you have to go to the next
building, just 50 meters but in case of rain you do have to put your jacket on and during the
winter the more troublesome,
- the swimming pool outdoors not heated and somewhat in the shade so water is cold
- no playroom or playground for kids

Summary:

If you like the modern Austrian design hotels, quiet location and dont mind having to go coulpe of steps outside to have your dinner it is a good choice. If staying with kids mind that in the case of rainy weather there is not a whole lot to do for them in the building and with no WIFI to pacify them with games you will end up out of patience pretty soon...

Room Tip: If traveling with children get the groundfloor rooms facing the garden or pool. Kids can roam outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActiveKaprun, Inhaber at Active by Leitner's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you very much indeed!
We are happy to read, you have enjoyed your holidays with us, and its a pleasure for all of our family and staff to help our guests and be care of them .
One correction- we have WiFi connection (free of charge) in the lobby, connection to the internet in the rooms via highspeed-LAN (also free of charge), AND the most important, of course the out door pool is heated also in the winter.
Thanks once more, we are looking forward to meet you again,
our very best wishes and regards from Kaprun
Rosmarie & Wolfgang Leitner and our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed with three friends (English and German) for a ski weekend. We had a car so didn't need to rely on the ski bus to the glacier although the ski bus stop is only a short walk from the hotel. The hotel is on the outskirts of Kaprun and therefore it is a 10 minute walk to the centre of the village. Hotel was extremely clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. We found the owners and staff to be extremely friendly and helpful although perhaps I should point out that the hotel was quiet with relatively few guests when we stayed. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosecski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActiveKaprun, Inhaber at Active by Leitner's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you indeed for this evaluation!
It is always a great pleasure, if we read about our and our team's hospitality, efforts and service , which are hard work, but also day by day a challenge which we are willing to face- and after getting this evaluation with a much larger smile in our faces :-)
See you again;
with warm regards from Kaprun
Rosmarie & Wolfgang Leitner and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at Leitner's for 1 week in summer with our new born baby. Because of that we picked apartment instead of hotel room. The apartments are situated in the separate building (connected with hotel building with a tunnel), which is not new and modern (compared to the main hotel building), but still ok.
The apartment was a bit worse than we expected (old small kitchen, small bathroom) but not bad.If you expect modern design, go for the hotel room. Breakfast buffet was great, staff also very nice. We really enjoyed the outdoor pool and wellness area, especially the indoor relax room was very comfortable. As we were at the end of season, the hotel was not so busy. That made the wellness area even more relaxing.
We haven't tried the hotel restaurant, we wanted to try it once at 20,30 p.m. but the kitchen was already closed.... This would probably not happen in the main season.
The hotel location is good, nice quiet area. Few minutes walk to the center, near the biking and in-line skating route.
The only problem during our stay was very loud music till 5am (1 night only....) in the apartment house.
Still I would recommend this hotel both for couples and families.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aja01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActiveKaprun, Inhaber at Active by Leitner's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you very much indeed!
It makes us happy to hear you had a enjoyable, recovering stay in the hotel (maybe next time in one of the suites in the main building).
Thanks once more;
with our best wishes and regards from Kaprun
Rosmarie & Wolfgang Leitner and our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We have recently stayed in Active by Leitner for a few days.

Actually most of the things in the hotel were very nice:
- the room was alright ( although the bathroom is totally wet when taking a shower), - breakfast was good,
- relaxation area comfortable
- and nice location.
Except for the restaurant, which didn't meet our expectations, but fair enough, that could happen and didn;t ruin our stay. Until upon check out the owner Rosemary Leitner showed us some unacceptable and not hospitality minded behaviour, which we have never experienced befor.

At check out we had a question about our bill where it showed a charge of the relaxation area which we thought was included in the room. Nothing special, it was just a question. However, the owner, Rosemary was very defense, unfriendly and inhospi66 straight away.

When we then asked why she acted so unfriendly and inhospitable - especially after we already didn't have the best experience in the restaurant - we got litteraly the following answer: ' Our restaurant is excellent. If you can wait here at the reception for 10 minutes I will ask all the other guests and they will ensure you our restaurant is excellent'. We were totally blown away by such an answer, especially as we run hotels ourselves.
It was clear the owner is not capable to discuss any feedback in a normal way.

Saying such a thing to your guests, not taking them seriously ( she could have just asked what it was in the restaurant we were not that excited about, but no...) feels unacceptable.

We had already checked out, so we left the hotel with a bad feeling, which would not have been necessarry at all resulting in a negative feeling of this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZsuzsikaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed in an apartment room, which is attached to main hotel by tunnel. The room was more like a suite, with bedroom and separate living room. Both were very clean and comfortable.
The wellness area is fantastic. Very relaxing and comfortable and perfect after a days skiing. The abundance of available towels and the free tea is a nice touch.
We stayed B&B and breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and very good food. They even managed decent coffee (not exactly the forte of hotel restaurants).
Location was handy, 5 mins walk from ski bus stop and about 10 mins walk to village centre.
The overall impression of the hotel is that it is meticulously clean and comfortable. It's the best ski hotel I've stayed in for years and I highly recommend it..

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShamrockWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
1.4 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpen Wellness Hotel Barbarahof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Orgler
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kuenstleralm
Hotel Kuenstleralm
#14 of 30 in Kaprun
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Active by Leitner's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Active by Leitner's

Address: Kitzsteinhornstrasse 10, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kaprun
#5 Spa Hotel in Kaprun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kaprun
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kaprun
Price Range: £159 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Active by Leitner's 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life and Style in the here and now! Brandnew Style Hotel & SPA at the Kitzsteinhorn in Kaprun - Zell am See. Dine & Lounge, Spa & Balance, Sports & Coaching and all this in a unique atmosphere. We will move you! #activebyleitners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Active by Leitner's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Active By Leitners Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing