We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place!”
Review of Pension Bergheil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Bergheil
Ranked #28 of 45 Kaprun B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Just got back from the Bergheil, it was a family room and I have to say it was spotlessly clean, nice and warm and not to far from the town, so not to noisy, the owner Was so nice and could not do enough for us,
Not far for the bus stop, and great boot room down stairs . Our only problem was 2 squeaky beds so we kept waking each other up, but I'm sure if we would have said something it would have been sorted, but we didn't!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Pension Bergheil
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

I have stayed here twice now, Once for a few days and recently for a week ski holiday through Neilsons travel.
The rooms are basic but warm and comfortable. Breakfast is the usaul cold meats, cheese, cereals etc but you can ask for boiled eggs.
The owners are very lovely and speak good english (if you cant be bothered to learn German).
I would recommend this place to anyone and the village is beautiful and the ski areas are some of the best in Austria

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hedgecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend from 29th December to 5th January. A basic but fantastic little place. It’s situated directly opposite the ski rental place, 5 minute walk to the nearest bus stops for both Kitschenhorn and Zellam See. There’s a heated rack downstairs to store ski boots and ski equipment. The rooms were great, spacious and always warm, cleaned everyday and fresh towels if we needed them. Loads of storage for all your ski gear, cupboards, wardrobes, hangers etc. There is free wifi; we had great signal on the third floor.

Breakfast was very straightforward but had everything we needed, fresh coffee, boiled eggs on request, breads, meats, cheeses, jams and a variety of cereals and juices. The owner Haust, was an absolute delight, going out of his way to accommodate us and make sure we had everything we needed, including giving me an endless supply of plasters for my blisters! We had excellent views from our room and bathroom, including a balcony with seating area. In terms of location there’s a selection of bars and restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. We went to the local spa down the road on our last night which was abit disappointing, but no reflection on Bergheil of course. It was abit like a posh public swimming baths with kids bombong into the jacuzzi and outdoor pool, rather than the relaxing spa evening we had planned! We came to ski, and had a fantastic few days doing just that! The apres ski bar, Pavllon 5mins right out of the Bergheil had the liveliest atmosphere between 4 and 8 pm, but gets really smoky as they have different licensing laws to the UK.

A smooth check in/out, breakfast was even laid on at 5:30am on our final morning. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great start to 2013!

Room Tip: Higher floors better views from balcony, and can sit in bath looking out at the mountains with the w...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Just got back from a brilliant snowboarding holiday in Kaprun the sun was out and the sky's were blue, the snow conditions were excellent,fresh powder everyday.The mountain is a bit of a pain to get to on the bus and two gondolas to get up to the main area but its worth the effort.Plenty of off piste,2 snowboard parks and half pipe.

The only let down to the holiday was the hotel Pension Bergheil.It was a cheap deal 350 pounds each, flights, bed and breakfast,3 adults sharing a room.the showering facilities were inadequate.the shower was over the bath but you could not stand up in the bath because the ceiling was to low so you had to sit in the bath and shower yourself down! that's if there was enough hot water,at peak times you had to wait 30 minutes for the water to warm up.Now if your out on the mountain snowboarding allday when you get back you expect the basics that you can get a hot shower!!! We asked the Hotel reception if there was a problem with the hot water?We were informed you have to wait 30 minutes for it to warm up.
The other problem was the Breakfast which did say Continental but im afraid was very minimal! The Hotels in a good position in the village and the rooms are nice its just a shame that a few basic essentials let it down.

Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would also be a bonus!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
5  Thank warlordo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Myself and two friends stayed here on a weeks boarding holiday with Neilson. Kaprun itself was lovely, and good boarding! We enjoyed the kitzsteinhorn more than Zell Am See, but may be because Zell was totally packed the day we went (something to do with lent), and we spent most of our holiday in the park.
The pension was great. Located a few metres from the rental place, and a couple more from the bus stops for the free ski bus.
The best thing about this place was the guy who ran it! He was genuinely the nicest man I have ever met. Very friendly and eager to cater to any of your needs. He did the breakfast and reception, and I dont think I have met anyone more genuinely nice than him! My only regret about this place is I didn't find out his name so I could give him a shout out on here!

We had a triple room that had a double bed (but was basically two single matresses with two seperate duvets) with a single bed, as well as a sofa and plenty of floor space. The room came with a fridge, tv, plenty of storage, and a bath with shower, and a shared balcony.

As it was B+B, we had breakfast each morning which ran from 7-9, but for those departing early on the last day he was more than happy to provide it then too. There were fresh rolls, bread to toast, jams, spreads, cheese, ham, butter, fruit, cereals...a large selection of teas and coffee was provided. We filled up enough to go without lunch on the mountain.
Food in the evening was easy to come across, with Kaprun being packed full of restaurants. We did this holiday on a budget, and food in the evening was completely reasonabley priced. I reccomend Kitcsh and Bitter for a fantastic meal and atmosphere!

Overall fantastic holiday, fantastic accommodation and fantastic food! Thanks Neilson!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
4  Thank flooige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I really enjoyed my skiing week at the Bergheil. The place was comfortable, friendly, (the earlier review on this aspect could be a misunderstanding of the culture, I think), and well appointed.

The Hotel was well appointed and well serviced and my room also serviced well with personal touches, breakfast was substantial, The boot room had warmed heaters, information on ski areas and conditions excellent.

Proximity to both the buses around Kaprun ski areas and to Zell and the Glacier just outside Kaprun is great for skiers, who have mobility issues and damage their ski boots by walking in them: so this is a great drawcard.

I suppose that one area where the room could be improved would be around comfort: putting new towels in the room would be my top improvement as something that could be done quickly, cheaply and easily. The towels used now are 'tired' in terms of both softness to touch and appearance. Improvements through a firmer mattress, the lighting and electric points could also be made with a more significant investment.

This last is really criticism for criticism's sake, though: given the level of quality for price Pension Bergheil is top of the tree. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCCR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Very basic accommodation. No tea/coffee facility. The pension was in great location but not the friendliest of staff. Breakfast was not great. Restaurant just across the road was very reasonably priced with friendly staff and good selection. Sauna had to be booked and was small.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelusbt20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.3 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Abendruh
Chalet Abendruh
#24 of 30 in Kaprun
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#28 of 30 in Kaprun
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landhaus Anke
Landhaus Anke
#28 of 46 in Kaprun
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
JUFA Hotel Kaprun
JUFA Hotel Kaprun
#8 of 45 in Kaprun
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Bergheil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Bergheil

Address: Hauserdorfstrasse 469, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Kaprun
Price Range: £43 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Bergheil 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pension Bergheil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Bergheil Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing