We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little pension”
Review of Pension Bergheil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Bergheil
Ranked #28 of 45 Kaprun B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our party of ten have just returned from staying here for a week over New Year and, if you're looking for a comfy little b and b, I would definitely recommend Pension Bergheil.
Extremely clean and well-maintained with an extremely helpful and friendly host - he even put on a very early breakfast for us on the day we left.
It may not be a five star hotel but we got five star service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Pension Bergheil
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed at the Pension Bergheil in January 2013. I found it to be homely and comfortable. The rooms were clean and warm although an extra pillow is a must. i found the staff to be very polite and genuine. The location is a good one for eating out and getting around town. The breakfast provided was more than adequate to keep you going.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rogueagent1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week in Kaprun. Our stay at the Bergheil was very pleasant. Horst is a very warm and cheerful host at breakfast, making every effort to accommodate his guests. He provides the area weather forecast at breakfast and offers suggestions about where to ski on a given day. His English is excellent. Breakfast is basic continental with breads, meats and cheeses, yogurt and cereals,jams, teas and coffee, juices - and you can request a boiled egg. Horst even got up at 5 am to make breakfast for us on departure day!

The rooms are basic but just fine for a ski week - well appointed with shelves and closets for spreading out damp gear. The shower was a bit iffy - small and took a long time to heat up if you are among the first to get up. But not too bad. Would have liked a bathtub after skiing but our room didn't have one. So we took advantage of the free sauna. Just ask them to turn it on at breakfast and it will be hot for you between 5 and 7 pm. Also, free wifi and pretty good reception. The ski room downstairs is very convenient -- with heated rods for ski boots. Dry and warm by morning.

The location of the Bergheil was perfect for us. Lovely views from our room. Across the street from the ski shop, on the corner for the Dorfbus to the Maiskogel area in Kaprun or a couple of hundred meters from the bus stops to the Kitzsteinhorn glacier or the Schmittenhohe lifts at Zell am See. Also, just a bit away from the noisy late night dancing bars in the centre of town, and close to the best restaurants in town. All in all a very good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruising_kitty_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Just got back from the Bergheil, it was a family room and I have to say it was spotlessly clean, nice and warm and not to far from the town, so not to noisy, the owner Was so nice and could not do enough for us,
Not far for the bus stop, and great boot room down stairs . Our only problem was 2 squeaky beds so we kept waking each other up, but I'm sure if we would have said something it would have been sorted, but we didn't!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I have stayed here twice now, Once for a few days and recently for a week ski holiday through Neilsons travel.
The rooms are basic but warm and comfortable. Breakfast is the usaul cold meats, cheese, cereals etc but you can ask for boiled eggs.
The owners are very lovely and speak good english (if you cant be bothered to learn German).
I would recommend this place to anyone and the village is beautiful and the ski areas are some of the best in Austria

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hedgecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend from 29th December to 5th January. A basic but fantastic little place. It’s situated directly opposite the ski rental place, 5 minute walk to the nearest bus stops for both Kitschenhorn and Zellam See. There’s a heated rack downstairs to store ski boots and ski equipment. The rooms were great, spacious and always warm, cleaned everyday and fresh towels if we needed them. Loads of storage for all your ski gear, cupboards, wardrobes, hangers etc. There is free wifi; we had great signal on the third floor.

Breakfast was very straightforward but had everything we needed, fresh coffee, boiled eggs on request, breads, meats, cheeses, jams and a variety of cereals and juices. The owner Haust, was an absolute delight, going out of his way to accommodate us and make sure we had everything we needed, including giving me an endless supply of plasters for my blisters! We had excellent views from our room and bathroom, including a balcony with seating area. In terms of location there’s a selection of bars and restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. We went to the local spa down the road on our last night which was abit disappointing, but no reflection on Bergheil of course. It was abit like a posh public swimming baths with kids bombong into the jacuzzi and outdoor pool, rather than the relaxing spa evening we had planned! We came to ski, and had a fantastic few days doing just that! The apres ski bar, Pavllon 5mins right out of the Bergheil had the liveliest atmosphere between 4 and 8 pm, but gets really smoky as they have different licensing laws to the UK.

A smooth check in/out, breakfast was even laid on at 5:30am on our final morning. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great start to 2013!

Room Tip: Higher floors better views from balcony, and can sit in bath looking out at the mountains with the w...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Just got back from a brilliant snowboarding holiday in Kaprun the sun was out and the sky's were blue, the snow conditions were excellent,fresh powder everyday.The mountain is a bit of a pain to get to on the bus and two gondolas to get up to the main area but its worth the effort.Plenty of off piste,2 snowboard parks and half pipe.

The only let down to the holiday was the hotel Pension Bergheil.It was a cheap deal 350 pounds each, flights, bed and breakfast,3 adults sharing a room.the showering facilities were inadequate.the shower was over the bath but you could not stand up in the bath because the ceiling was to low so you had to sit in the bath and shower yourself down! that's if there was enough hot water,at peak times you had to wait 30 minutes for the water to warm up.Now if your out on the mountain snowboarding allday when you get back you expect the basics that you can get a hot shower!!! We asked the Hotel reception if there was a problem with the hot water?We were informed you have to wait 30 minutes for it to warm up.
The other problem was the Breakfast which did say Continental but im afraid was very minimal! The Hotels in a good position in the village and the rooms are nice its just a shame that a few basic essentials let it down.

Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would also be a bonus!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
5  Thank warlordo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaprun hotels
0.3 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Abendruh
Chalet Abendruh
#24 of 30 in Kaprun
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#28 of 30 in Kaprun
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landhaus Anke
Landhaus Anke
#28 of 46 in Kaprun
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
JUFA Hotel Kaprun
JUFA Hotel Kaprun
#7 of 45 in Kaprun
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Bergheil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Bergheil

Address: Hauserdorfstrasse 469, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Kaprun
Price Range: £42 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Bergheil 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pension Bergheil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Bergheil Hotel Kaprun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing