We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice”

Hotel Garni Pramstraller
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mayrhofen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Garni Pramstraller
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Reviewed 24 January 2013

we were a group of 3 guys and stayed here in April 2012 for a weeks ski, booked through Neilson. Chose this hotel as they had single rooms.

Hotel is 50yrds from ski bus stop,10 min walk to gondala lift, 5 mins walk to train station for zell am ziller ski area.

Nice and quiet location within 2 min walk to bars.

Rooms had a single bed, tv, safe,en suite, balcony. they were very clean and cleaned daily.
staff were very friendly

Breakfast was basic but fine

Evening meal was taken in another hotel opposite, and as previous reviews said, you are sat in a seperate restaurant and served only a basic 3 course set meal.
If you are hungry and want to eat real grub, then the pubs and restaurants are the place to head for, and not the hotel restaurant.

I would definatly stay here again if we return to Mayrhofen

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garni Pramstraller
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Just returned from a week over Christmas 2012. Room was big and clean with plenty of storage and a new widescreen TV. Bathroom was although clean and newish, an after thought to the room. The low frosted glass window gave the opposite hotel a view of what ever you were doing in the bathroom... Some may enjoy this? Others may not!
Breakfast was good for what my be considered 2 star or just adequate for a 3 star. Boot room was again adequate but found my boots were not drying over night and now smell musty. A good tip would be to remove the inner liners and dry them in your room over night.
Location is good for Kino's bar, the train station and near to plenty of sports and outdoor shops. It's a bit of a hike to the lift station, especially if you've got ski's to carry, but that's tough, try snowboarding instead ;-)
Lastly, a few more Christmas decorations in the breakfast room wouldn't have gone a miss.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel or you'll be kept awake by the church bells.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinSnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Pros:
Cheap, central, 3 mins from train/Banhof to all ski areas, great breakfasts, wi-fi hotspot for 5€ daily, easy access ski room, very friendly staff, BBC Entertainment on Ch 39, shops/ski hire & bars <2 mins away
Cons:
No evening meals but options at Berghof across the road, no kettle/drinks in room, awful pillows, paper-thin quilts & rock-hard mattresses, wallpaper stinks of cigarettes, TV in room size of a postage stamp, no communal rest area, no laundry, no washing lines in bathroom for ski kit, heating naff - wet kit next day inevitable.
Summary:
Cheap, better for singles than families, take your own kettle, awful beds & pillows - suggest you go to the family-run Hotel Pramstraller 4* if you can!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movementsystemopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here as a group of 9 in Feb 2012. The hotel is in a good location, towards the more quiet end of town. Having stayed in Mayrhofen previously I don't think that this is a bad thing! There are several ski bus stops less than a minutes walk from the hotel, depending where you want to go, and it's also only about 5 minutes walk (in ski boots!) from the train station, so you can really take full advantage of your lift pass.

The rooms that we had as a group were all spacious, with balconies. The bathrooms are a little small, but the piping hot water in the shower, even at peak times, meant that we didn't care! The rooms are clean and had TV's - only with Austrian channels though. There are safes in the room too, however ours wasn't working, but we just locked valuables away in cases. They state that they change towels twice a week, but ours were changed every day.

The doors to the hotel are locked with a passcode, and then keys are left in a relatively unsecured area, but this is very easily resolved......don't leave your key! There is a ski/board storage area, but it could be warmer and we often found that boots hadn't dried out overnight.

Breakfast is normal for Europe - lots of bread, cheese and ham. There was also a range of pastries, fruit and scrambled eggs.

Dinner is served at the Hotel Berghof which is across the road. The food was fine, on a fixed menu and you are seated in a separate area from the main restaurant. The only problem with the food is that the portion sizes were quite small, which wasn't a problem for me, but the lads in the group would often eat prior to dinner. The rep advised us that there'd been quite a few reports about this, but to be honest, I've had much worse food on ski trips.

All in all, the Pramstraller is a good basic hotel in a good location, in a relatively expensive resort.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burgerdenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

A beautiful Austrian village, lots of great places to stay - this was a good location with bus route outside but we used the ski lockers by the Penken gondola so walked each day in our snow boots! Perfect for a pop into the spar or one of the bars/cafes! We were half board but we only ate once in the evening preferring to visit a different restaurant each night! Manis is great for steaks or pizzas, fondue across the road, burgers in Mos - champagne in the harikari bar! Breakfast was lovely in the pramstraller - rooms are basic but cosy and warm - bathrooms serve the purpose - didn't see much of the owners other than at breakfast so make sure you ask for anything then! Great resort families and all ages

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
1  Thank Tracyw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

me my husband and daughter ( 13yrs old ) stayed at the garni pramstraller on our first skiing holiday in feb 2010 . when we arrived we were delighted with our choice of hotel it was immaculate, spacious and 5 minutes walk to the gondola ! I would recommend this hotel with no problems to anyone who likes a no frills but very warm friendly and very clean base for a busy holiday skiing we had a wonderful holiday and have already booked our next skiing trip .

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
Thank roxycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Stayed here for 1 weeks skiing from 13th March 2010. Our room was large, with nice table area, big balcony and good views. It was basic but clean and comfortable. The room keys are left in reception each day but this is pretty common in Austria and there was a secure access coded door.
The breakfast was also typical Austrian fare, I don't know what some people expect. There was an excellent selection of breads and the standard meat, cheese and cereal, only thing missing was the boiled eggs!
We took the half board option offered by Crystal and enjoyed really good Austrian 4 course meals in the Hotel Neuhaus each night which is a 2 minute walk. I would highly recommend taking this option there is a choice of main meal each night and the menu is very varied.
The location of Garni Pramstraller is great it was very quiet but close to everything. The Penken Gondola is 5-10 minute walk you can get free ski bus outside but we didn't bother as the walk is pleasant.
For a skiing holiday where you will
not be spending much time in the room and requiring extensive facilities I would definitely recommend the Garni Pramstraller.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Obermair
Hotel Garni Obermair
#23 of 38 in Mayrhofen
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Helene
Chalet Helene
#31 of 38 in Mayrhofen
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pramstraller
Pramstraller
#11 of 38 in Mayrhofen
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Kristall
Hotel Alpenhof Kristall
#19 of 38 in Mayrhofen
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Pramstraller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Pramstraller

Address: Hauptstrasse 404, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range: £43 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Pramstraller 3*
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing