We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great rooms, wonderful food”
Review of Hotel Waldheim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Waldheim
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great rooms, wonderful food”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Waldheim in May/June 2013, on an organised walking holiday with HF. This is an excellent, family-run hotel, on an extremely quiet street just a couple of minutes’ walk from the principal cable-car and main street in Mayrhofen. The rooms are spacious, and I believe that all have French windows giving on to balconies with lovely views of the mountains. Ours was a corner room, so we had a wrap-around balcony. The bathroom was well-laid out, with a proper window and good shower. The spotlessly clean room had plenty of storage and sitting space, with comfortable beds and pillows, plus loads of decent hangers in the wardrobe. The food was excellent: we had a plentiful breakfast, and an overwhelmingly generous dinner for 14 nights. I am a vegetarian, and am used to restaurants running out of ideas after a few days, but I had a different – and delicious – main course for each night of my stay. Perhaps most exceptional was the warmth of the hospitality extended to us by the owner and her family and staff. They could not have been more welcoming or helpful, and thoroughly deserve the highest praise for making our visit as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Note that you can use the sauna, steam room and infra-red room: all are included in the price of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachcomber789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed here on a walking holiday in the summer. Excellent position, great food and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are large and many have balconys with wonderful views of the mountains. We would love to return for a ski holiday here as the hotel is very close to the Penken lift.

Room Tip: we had a lovely corner room with large wrap around balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipper019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Myself and 9 friends have just spent a fabulous few days at this lovely hotel. The location could not have possibly been any better, couple of minutes walk from the Penken lift but just off the main street so no noise. The owners and staff were very friendly, and the quality and cleanliness was excellent. Lovely hotel and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSuggsmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed here on a walking holiday. This is a great base with lots of lifts to the top of the mountains. Every room is large, clean with good facilities and a balcony. Good sized bathroom. The staff are friendly. Food is plentiful and breakfast is a highlight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Excellent hotel! Very friendly staff, the hotel has a family atmosphere.
We used the hotel for a short ski break, the location was perfect - you can see the penken lift from outside the hotel which is great when you're walking in ski boots. We dropped our equipment back at the hotel every afternoon before heading back to the ice bar or hara-kiri bar for a couple of drinks - after the hotel's tea and cake of course!
The room was great - two separate sleeping areas which is great for two blokes sharing! We had a balcony, tv and plenty of storage. We were also lucky to get wi-fi in the room.
Best bit about the hotel was the food - five courses every night; well cooked and presented.
Lastly, the hotel were kind enough to let us use the spa area to shower and change before heading home.

Room Tip: Suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flapnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The service in this hotel was excellent. Staff were unfailingly helpful and cheerful. The hotel was very clean and comfortable though I would have preferred to have a room with a balcony. We were on a walking holiday and appreciated the boot room for drying and storing coats and boots.

Mayrfhofen is a very convenient base to explore the many excellent walks in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karkur
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Small, stylish and cozy hotel. Close to the Penken lift (less than three minutes walk), the food is excellent, and the staff is very friendly.

The only drawback is the internet connection. First – it costs money (not much, around 10€ per week); Second – it exist only in the public areas and not in the rooms and third the quality is very poor.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Manni
Sporthotel Manni
#13 of 38 in Mayrhofen
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gutshof Zillertal
Gutshof Zillertal
#9 of 38 in Mayrhofen
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edenlehen
Hotel Edenlehen
#5 of 38 in Mayrhofen
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldheim

Property: Hotel Waldheim
Address: Fischerstrasse 509 | 6290 Mayrhofen, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldheim 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Waldheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing