We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bells the bells!”
Review of Hotel Neue Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Neue Post
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a lovely family run hotel with excellent rooms, robes and slippers. We were in the annexe across the road but there was a tunnel to get to the main hotel. The pool and fitness room and sauna were also in the tunnel. The food was good and our waiter was from Hungary and very pleasant. The wine was expensive which was a shame. The only downside was the bells which have been mentioned by other reviewers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M0n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Neue Post
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Arrived to this hotel for a week long skiing vacation with two other friends.
Staff were very very friendly and helpful, especialy in the dining erea, where they were so friendly it was a bit scary (but in a good way).
Food was ok, though the atmosphere during meals was really great.
Our room was located in the secondary building, and was really big, but did not have a blacony (most rooms did have a balcony), and because we had a smoker in amongst us, it was uncomfortable.
The pool was nice, and the spa wasnt my cup of tea, as you have to be naked to enter.

And as for ski stuff, there is a ski bus stop right outside of the hotel, that takes you to the gondola lift. On the way back from skiing, I think its better to walk back to the hotel. That way you get to stop and shop.

Room Tip: the secondary building is newer, therefor the rooms are better than the primary building.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

we didn't stay at the hotel but found ourselves coming back to eat at the restaurant 3 times !! the weiner(schnitzel) and steak are absolutely devine. a must if you visit mayrhofen and it's right in the town centre too

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Why did I rank this hotel a 3 out of 5:

1. They lost one ranking on service. The front desk folks were really unfriendly from the moment we walked in. No smiles, no welcoming feeling. Just blank faces. And this continued throughout the stay.

2. Rooms were very basic (although bed was comfortable). The showers were a joke (and not a funny one either). There may be other sections of the hotel with nice rooms - we stayed at the section which is across the street. Perhaps the rooms in the main building are nicer...

3. Nearby church. If you're the kind of person who likes to sleep, make sure you get a room that does not face the church otherwise your sleep will be disturbed ALL THE TIME. The church bells ring ALL NIGHT. At 15 past the hour, it rings once. At 30 past the hour, twice. At 45 minutes pas the hour, 3 times. And at a full hour, the bells ring 4 times plus whatever the hour is, so at 5AM, it would ring the 4 times to signal a full hour plus 5 ring since it's 5AM.

Then when 7AM rolls around, the bells ring 112 times, in 4 sets of 28 rings. So no matter what, you're up at 7AM. Good for some folks, not so good for others...

This craziness continues throughout the day as well, so if you plan on a nice siesta midday, think again.

Another thing that bothered me is that our stay was half board, meaning breakfast and dinner included in the price. However, they don't tell you that drinks are not included. I guess some places charge for drinks, which is fine. But at least they should give you the option of drinking tap water for free. Not here. The only way you drink anything at dinner is if you pay for it.

As I said in the title, the spa was very nice. But not enough reason to be returning to this hotel on my next visit to Mayrhofen.

BTW, was there in January 2014 to snowboard.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't get a room facing the church
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What a fabulous traditional hotel! We travelled up from Innsbruck on the local train and the station is a short stroll to the hotel which also makes it very handy for all the buses/trains you may need whilst you are there. We stayed in two single rooms and they were very spacious. I found the bed a little hard but a minor point. The restaurant and staff are fantastic. Extensive breakfast buffet and the 5 course evening meal was delicious and a treat after a long day's skiing. Make sure you find time to rest by the swimming pool and relax in the sauna (beware it is a traditional austrian sauna so be prepared to get naked!). It proved to be great value and i would definately go back. Mayrhofen and the Zillertal ski area is extensive and we will definately return

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovetoskitoskitoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Went to Mayrhofen with 3 of my friends for the second time and again stayed at Neue Post. Fantastic atmosphere, friendly staff and great food!

The value is second to none! Roomrates include a breakfast buffet with everything one can wish for and a 4 course dinner in the evening. The dinner is very tasty!

Spa and pool area is also included and what a treat it is! After a long day of skiing (and an evening of winetasting), you can hit up the sauna, steamroom and just relax. It feels so nice! Then take a dip in the swimming pool in a different area. All underground, giving it a very special feel.

Another note about the winetasting: It is superb and in a custom built winecellar. Make sure you book an evening before you go down there!

If you go to Mayrhofen, I can recommend staying at Neue Post.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcarloshuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lovley staff, food and service. wine tasting with a real pro, a wine cellar you must experiance, the atmosphere, the beauty, a must see.
2nd time there and definitely not the last time.
Definitely worth the price

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farhad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#8 of 38 in Mayrhofen
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose
Rose
#15 of 38 in Mayrhofen
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edenlehen
Hotel Edenlehen
#5 of 38 in Mayrhofen
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neue Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neue Post

Address: Hauptstrasse 400, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range: £126 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neue Post 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR HOTEL "NEUE POST" IN MAYRHOFENFamily-run ****Hotel in ZillertalOur Hotel "Neue Post" is ideal for a relaxing and adventurous holiday. In our family-run ****Hotel many leisure and spa services are waiting for you.Our traditional furnished rooms are equipped with single or double bed, telephone, radio, TV, safe, hair dryer, toilet and bathtub or shower.Leisure and Spa ServicesWhether active or wellness vacation - there is something for everybody. Skiing, cycling, mountain biking, hiking or swimming in the hotel's indoor pool. Spa facilities like finnish sauna, steam and aroma sauna, massages and sun-bed are provided.Our cuisineYou can also dine in our a la carte restaurant "Postwirt", here you can enjoy a variety of dishes such as fish and seafood as well as national and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Neue Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing