We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time at Strass!”
Review of Sporthotel Strass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sporthotel Strass
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

What a nice hotel. Very friendly staff and the food was very good. We were in the annexe building next door. The hotel location is amazing, right next to the gondola. Had a nice spa and we also used the squash courts one evening. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here February 2013. Loved the hotel - wonderful food, service and spa facilities. I particularly enjoyed the roof-top pool and jacuzzi after a day's skiing. The staff were excellent and the food was plentiful, varied and good. We had fabulous rooms overlooking the Main Street, but the noise from homeward bound revellers kept us awake until about 0500 every morning. If you are booked to go here this season remember to take ear plugs!

Stayed: February 2013
Thank JoannaFloW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Excellent rooms, great food, helpful and friendly staff, All you could ask for from a hotel - and right next to the two gondolas and close to the town centre, buses and train. A great stay enjoyed by everyone. My room was a little noisy on Saturday night being next to the road and the packed lunches weren't brilliant but I'd come back again (and again). Needless to say the area is a walkers paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our first time to Mayrhofen and certainly won't be the last. We were very lucky and were given a room which overlooked the Penken Gondola which was situated right next door. We did pay extra for a better room than the standard one and weren't disappointed. We had a corner room on the second floor which was spacious, very clean and comfortable with a corner corner table and bench seating. We weren't disturbed by any noise coming from the Gondola as it didn't start until 9am and finished at 5pm. We had a set table in the restaurant and the staff that served us were very polite and helpful. The meals were good and although portions were small they were perfectly adequate as we had three courses. We were also allowed three packed lunches during the week which were pretty good consisting of a sandwich, chocolate bar and an apple but no drink. The hotel was very central for all amenities and certainly would visit again. The only disappointment was the Sports Lounge where all the entertainment took place. We only went in once and were overcome by the smell of smoke so didn't use it any more therefore missing out on the entertainment programme.

Room Tip: Be very careeful when chosing a room as another couple paid extra for a better room which they got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Visited Austria for the first time after many years of pestering from my husband and we were so lucky to choose the Hotel Strass for this. The hotel is ideally situated next to the Penken cable car and a short walk to the Ahorn cable car a bit further to the bus/railway station but buses stopped close by if you didn't want to walk back up. The staff were very friendly from reception desk to the cleaners and they always spoke if they saw you outside the hotel. All areas of the hotel were clean and litter free although we didn't use the pool, sauna etc so cannot comment on them. The food was excellent, a buffet breakfast with plenty of choice although the sausage, bacon etc could have been a bit warmer. The evening meal was plentiful and there was nothing we couldn't eat. The good thing was that when you booked in you were given a table number which you sat at for all meals which meant you didn;t have to go looking for somewhere to sit every meal time.We had upgraded our room as we wanted a separate shower so had one on the fourth floor overlooking the penken chair lift and had a lovely view of the ahorn it was spacious and had plenty of room for your clothes and it contained a free safe which was very handy. No teamaking facilities but we did hire a kettle for 1 euro a day saved on the luggage weight. The entertainment we saw was good although most of the introductions etc done in German yes there was cigarette smoke in the bar but it is allowed so if it got too bad we just went out.We will definately return to this hotel if we visit that part of austria again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamanntow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Strauss hotel consists of 5 hotels all close together in the centre of Mayrhofen, some connected by walkways and where all guests can eat in the original, main part of the hotel and use the other facilities. This made it confusing when booking as I was not quite sure which was which - so many hotels with the name 'strauss' in them but the answer is, it is all part of the same complex - the same family seems to own half of Mayrhofen!!!

There are several pools and an excellent spa with many different types of sauna and steam bath, all with a roman themed design and we used these every day - it was a highlight of our holiday. ( Other reviewers have complained about having to go naked in the spa - however,this is not unique to this hotel - in my experience this seems to be pretty uniform in Austria and it seems that Austrian and German people are much more comfortable with this. Anyway, it seems sensible given the nature of the Spa facilities and once in there, no one is bothered!!!) There is a also a well equipped fitness room overlooking beautiful scenery, so you can admire wonderful views as you try to work off the holiday calories!!!

Food at the hotel was fine - identical breakfast buffet every morning but enough variety to keep you going for a week!!! Evening meals involved plentiful quantities of food, with a good salad bar, 2 possible starters, 3 main courses to choose from and only one dessert. Sometimes we waited quite a while to be served - the waiters were rushed off their feet. Given the enormous size of the catering operation ( 400-600 guests??) it was amazing that things were done so efficiently and the main meals were beautifully presented on the plate, although the tastes were sometimes variable ( some overcooked fish and meat but some other meals delicious).

Staff were very helpful and considerate to my husband, who is blind. In particular, the waiters were very thoughtful and we went on a guided walk with Gunther, who was very considerate and knowledgeable.

The hotel overall, somehow has a slight 'holiday camp' feel about it ( maybe this is inevitable given the size??) but nevertheless a good quality holiday camp with spotless facilities and a range of other facilities eg evening entertainment, games rooms etc that we did not use.

It is conveniently located in the centre of Mayrhofen and even though next to the cable car, this is not noisy. Overall we felt very comfortable and had an enjoyable stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our group's 7th visit to Austria & Hotel Garni is by far the least attractive place we have stayed in. In essence it is the dormitory for the main Strass Hotel & nothing more, a rabbit warren of corridors with bizarre numbering. Although we had been told differently, it was totally unsuitable for anybody with mobility difficulties as the lift always seemed to stop between floors which meant steps up & then step down again to reach the rooms. Very odd.
Situated on a very busy street the noise made it unpleasant to sit out on the balconies during the day & drunken revellers continued until nearly 3a.m., particularly at the weekend.
The staff were mainly very nice but surely somebody could have translated the menus better so that we didn't have to make a guess as to what to order. Some of the descriptions( particularly for the wine) caused great hilarity & ,,although trying out different food is part of the holiday we particularly enjoy normally,we were often a little bemused by it all & several of the party were unable to eat their meal as they usually came smothered in sauces. And couldn't covers could have been put over the food at breakfast instead of being left for the numerous flies to help themselves? The range of breads was great but not very appetising when the flies had to be shooed away first.
Would we return again? Definitely not

Room Tip: Don't stay in Garni, perhaps go instead into the main building although be prepared for a strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.2 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 39 in Mayrhofen
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 39 in Mayrhofen
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#9 of 39 in Mayrhofen
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edenlehen
Hotel Edenlehen
#5 of 39 in Mayrhofen
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Manni
Sporthotel Manni
#16 of 39 in Mayrhofen
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Strass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Strass

Address: Hauptstrasse 470, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mayrhofen
#1 Spa Hotel in Mayrhofen
#1 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range: £122 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Strass 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Sporthotel Strass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Strass Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing