We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Break”
Review of Sporthotel Strass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sporthotel Strass
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We took a punt on the Strass after a little research and received almost exactly what we were expecting.
Cant fault our room (Junior Suite) very nicely furnished and a comfortable bed with a great balcony looking over the gondola station (Not noisy) and mountains. The bathroom was high spec a fairly new with bath and shower.
Mealtimes were perfectly acceptable, we are probably used to a little more choice at breakfast time but apart from the odd replenishment issue everything was fine. Waiter's were happy to assist with any requests.
Having paid for a spa area it was a shame we did not use it, We did not really get the layout or the feel of the spa so gave it a miss. The fact you have to walk through the bar in your gown is another big put off.
The American bar was nice enough and smoke free, entertainment to the usual standard for the area although football and rugby was shown on a big screen on a couple of nights which my partner did not appreciate.
All in all good for the area, having stayed in higher end resorts/hotels but for double the price its difficult to compare. I would say Mayrhofen concentrates on the winter masses where luxury is not required by most. That said, I would stay again at The Strass and also visit Mayrhofen again, the Zillertal national park is an amazing place for a holiday. Stunning valleys and very high mountains, 7 days was not enough to appreciate the whole area.

Room Tip: High floor south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edwardsintrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you love Austria and the Alps then you will love Mayrhofen! And Hotel Strass is an excellent choice. Probably the biggest complex in town with every facility on hand within the complex. Additionally it is next door to the Penken lift so great for an early start into the mountains. There are two adjacent buildings - one connected by walkway - the other just past the Penken lift. Stayed previously in the connected building which was excellent, stayed this year in the villa which is detached from main hotel. To be fair the rooms here are furnished in pseudo-traditional style which is sadly not particularly attractive and the rooms have an old fashioned feel about them and the bathrooms are functional but not decorative. However, they are spotlessly clean and bedding, towels, daily cleaning is first class.
Food has moved away from the older traditional foods of some years ago but there is a lot of turkey in one form or another but generally speaking food is good, very plentiful and the puddings are excellent. Whilst menus are fixed from choice 3 there is always flexibility in the kitchen to provide something different if the fixed menu cannot meet a particular taste.
Staff are all, without exception, very helpful, very professional and a credit to the hotel. The hotel is well staffed and most staff know you within a few days of arrival - an excellent team.
So, positives, location, staff, facilities, food, cleanliness and all round 'good' feeling - possible negatives, Villa is old fashioned, some more wider appeal foods would go down well ( french fries would be welcome at times!) and flies this year were a problem in some areas (a few exterminator devices would deal with it) So, overall the Strass continues to provide an excellent base in this wonderful location - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Main hotel best, 'Villa' perhaps the least attractive ( but still ok)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just back from a super 10 day holiday staying at the Hotel Strass. Once again made to feel like 'part of the family' in this family run hotel. All of the staff I met are very friendly and helpful and often go out of their way to respond to requests and questions. Room (overlooking the Penken lift but not an issue) and room cleaning, food and facilities all excellent. It is good to be able to make use of the spa / sauna area after a good walk or cycle ride in the local area. Many well marked routes to follow and walks led by Bergwanderführer Gerhard Stock (Stocky) have the added advantage of getting some local knowledge input :) The Wellness area and treatments available at the hotel (at reasonable charges) are also good to help tired legs recover before more walking. Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: I have had same room for a number of visits. This faces the Penken lift - but lift only runs in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

location, location, location !! Perfect base for a ski holiday. We stayed in the Strass Garni, linked to the sport hotel strass by foot bridge. The ski lift is directly next door and there is also a large supermarket across the road. Would recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaeveKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Staid here for a week, easter 2014. We hade two suites next to each other, perfect for a family with 3 big kids. The best location next to the lift, and very good food. Mayrhofen has the best ski conditions, and Strass is a very good hotelchoice.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite on the backside, with a view to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate Munch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were here for a week on a very good deal in early June staying on a half board package through Thomsons. The hotel lived up to the expectations generated by other Trip Advisor reviews and we had a very enjoyable stay in what is a good quality hotel in an excellent location in the centre of Mayrhofen.

The food was of a high standard and plentiful. The was a wide range of items to choose from at breakfast. Dinner was generally very good, although 5 courses is a little excessive! Perhaps the only slight downside was the need to choose your dinner main course the evening before, rather than on the night itself. Service in the restaurant was very efficient and friendly.

Our room was relatively quiet, very large and had a separate seating area, although lacked a little in character. The only disappointment was the balcony which abutted a green flat roof with a large vent unit sticking out of it in front of the balcony. We were on the first floor (probably the second floor in continental terms), so go for a higher floor if possible. The room was spotlessly clean with fresh towels every day. There was also plenty of storage space. At least the view was of the mountain and not of the lift station which will affect some of the south facing rooms.

Our enjoyable stay was made by the weather which was quite superb throughout with temperatures of 30c under blue skies. There is so much to do and see that a week was not long enough. The walking is quite superb and facilitated by excellent local transport that can get you into the heart of the mountains. The 6-day Activ card is well worth purchasing at E57 for those who are happy to do their own thing and covers you for cable cars and buses.

We'll be back, although I doubt if the weather can be as good next time.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor if possible. Some of the rooms (south facing) overlook the lift station which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned from the Garni building of the Strass after spending a few days in the area for business.

Hotel is in an excellent location, on the main street in Mayrhofen, with a variety of shops, bars and restaurants either side of the hotel.

Rooms are of a fantastic standard with free wifi throughout the property.

Breakfast is of your standard continental style; cereal, bread, meats, cheeses & eggs.

Evening meals top things off here though, fresh salad buffet, soup then a choice of three main courses each evening with something for everyone.

Will definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uk1988Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.2 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 39 in Mayrhofen
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 39 in Mayrhofen
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Manni
Sporthotel Manni
#17 of 39 in Mayrhofen
203 reviews
1 mi away
Alpin Lodge Das Zillergrund
Alpin Lodge Das Zillergrund
#11 of 39 in Mayrhofen
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#8 of 39 in Mayrhofen
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Strass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Strass

Address: Hauptstrasse 470, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mayrhofen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mayrhofen
#1 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range: £116 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Strass 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sporthotel Strass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Strass Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing