We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Hotel!”
Review of Sporthotel Strass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sporthotel Strass
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Rathfriland, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Loved this hotel stayed here with my parents on half board. I had a single room with balcony which was very cosy and had a nice view of the penken cable car. The staff were very facilitating as my mum has to use a wheelchair or crutches. There was a handy spacious lift . The food was great and the swimming pool and saunas were lovely. Good location and really good food <3. Breakfast and Dinner. Good walking distance from many key points, the ahorn cable car, penken cable car , spar and church. Loved this hotel and its staff only downside was we arrived late because we booked with crystal and typically we were on a horrible air post flight. The flight wasn't delayed but because of crystal's crap flying times from northern Ireland we arrived at the hotel at 10:30 pm meaning we could only get a platter of mainly cold meats which did not suit me or my mum as she is a vegetarian. <3 overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street as my single room was close to the street and was noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    172
    72
    31
    17
See reviews for
224
218
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a great week at this hotel, excellent service, very clean nothing too much trouble. All eating catering for, plenty of choice every day. Situation is great, right next to the cable car and easy walking for all other activities. Only gripe, too hot in the bar area at night, air con would be great for the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from a most enjoyable 2 weeks in the Strass.
It is a much larger hotel than we usually use, but the staff were friendly and helpful.
As usual in Austria everywhere was spotlessly clean, and our bedroom was very comfortable.
The garden is very relaxing and we liked the way that the pool area opened up into the garden - nice to cool down on a hot day (and we had a few of these!). Also there is a beautiful spa area - although the naked-only policy put us off. It seemed to mostly be used by older men - perhaps the hotel should review their nude policy so everyone can feel comfortable using this facility? I am no prude, but was not going to get into a pool naked when surrounded by men on adjacent sun loungers!
The food was some of the best we have ever had - a special mention to our waiting staff Ewald and Adina. Good choice of main menu and the option of fruit salad or ice cream if you didn't fancy the sweet on offer.
The position of the hotel in the town centre and next to the cable car is great for anyone with limited mobility. However, the views from many of the balconies are not that great, and we noted that some face north so would get no sun. The first room we were offered just looked out on the cable car station, but fortunately staff were able to move us to a top floor room which had lovely mountain views. Most rooms look out over other buildings - and into other people's rooms.
So no huge complaints - but would probably go elsewhere next time for better views and a spa where you can wear a swimming costume!

Room Tip: South facing and high floor. Not facing the cable car station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkingWithBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have recently stayed here for a weeks holiday. A beautiful hotel , in a perfect position to explore all that Mayrhofen has to offer. From the moment I arrived I just knew it was going to be a good hotel. The reception staff were all polite, efficient and friendly. Cleaners polite and hard working. The restaurant waiters saw to your needs without been over the top. The bar staff and entertainment at the Strass was great, everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. A mix of nationalities with quite a few more Germans. What the Strass got my top mark for though was the spa facilities, pool, sauna's etc. Laying on the sunbeds with that view of the Penken cable cars smoothly going up and down the mountain is a memory that will last. The weather wasn't its best, but book the trips, use the facilities and get in the mountains, itsa must! A beautiful holiday to remember. Thank you everyone at the Strass.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the mountains, most of the hotel is quiet, but I would imagine c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Arrived Saturday 28th June 2014 third visit to Mayrhofen and Sporthotel Strass this time accompanied by a friend we had single rooms with lovely mountain views. Excellent wellcome from Staff most of whom, have been working at this hotel for a number of years, always a very good sign of a well run hotel. Food excellent, very good choice, not repeated over the two weeks that I was staying, quality and presentation was of a very high standard, service quick and always with a smile. Austria is so beautifull and with 1700k of marked paths and tracks in the Myrhofen area you would never tire of these spectacular valleys, transport links are so good using the Z card for Cable cars, train, and bus. I always enjoy the wonderful spa facilities at the Sporthotel Strass and now they have a clothed Turkish and Sauna for the shy folk. I have booked again for 2015 this time bringing along my husband to enjoy Mayrhofen and Sporthotel Strass.

Room Tip: Ask for Mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just back from a week at the Hotel Strass, Mayrhofen. What a wonderful Hotel, nothing too much trouble forthe Staff, you are made to feel welcome from the minute you enter reception. Food very good with 5 courses on the menu,something to suit all tastes. Our main waiter Jovo was a star, he looked after everyone with a smile, served the drinks in double quick time.He never rushed you to finish eating. Hotel spotless throughout, lovely bedroom with Balcony, which was very welcome as we had a wonderful week of glorious sunshine. There was some rain in the evening and overnight twice in the week, never had to put on an anorak. Hotel located near the Gondola Station for the Penkan and not too far away from the Ahorn Gondola Station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a great time at this hotel in July 2014. Mayrhofen is a brilliant place to go walking in the Summer with gondalas whisking you to 2000+ metres for high level hikes with amazing scenery. There's easily two weeks of great, well marked trails for walkers of all abilities.

The Strass hotel is three interconnected properties operating as a single hotel. Although large we found it relaxed and never busy - it's probably a lot busier when full during the winter season. The 'Sporthotel' where we stayed has direct access to the Spa and pool; the rooms were spacious and the balcony gave great views up the valley to mountains beyond and the next door Penken gondala station. The room was quiet and very comfortable. High strength, high bandwidth wifi was free and stable.

Food was excellent - a five course set meal each night with choice of three main courses, one always vegetarian. We're vegetarian so this was important to us, and the food was great. We looked at other restaurants/hotels during the week we were there and would say the Strass had the best offer for Vegetarian food. Fellow diners loved the meat choices too. We stayed half board (very good breakfast buffet) and were also given free packed lunches for hikes on three days.

The Spa area is a huge asset and a lovely way to relax at the end of a busy day. There's two areas, a "clothed" pool and garden area, which also now has a sauna and steam room upstairs, and then the main "Spa" downstairs where you must be naked. The hotel provides lovely robes to hotel guests and two towels on each visit for use in the Spa, so there's ample opportunity to cover up for those who are shy. The Spa comprises several saunas and steam rooms of varying temperatures and humidities, a small swimming pool, and lots of loungers for relaxing either inside or in a Conservatory with access to a private 'zen' garden. There are plenty of showers and private changing areas. Treatments, such as massages, are available for an additional charge and take place in a separate part of the Spa.

The Swimming pool area is open all day from early in the morning, the Spa opened at 3pm. Both are open until 9.30pm. Children (<15) are not allowed in the Spa area. We thought the Spa was lovely. We used it late afternoon most days we were there and it was not busy, with plenty of space in all of the rooms. A great way to ease muscles tired from a days walking.

In summary, the Strass is a great hotel in a lovely location. The food and the service was faultless and the Spa facility was really excellent. Highly recommended. We will be back to Mayrhofen and to the Strass.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms in 'Sport Hotel' give mountain views and direct access from room to Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Poodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel
Elisabeth Hotel
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edenlehen
Hotel Edenlehen
#5 of 38 in Mayrhofen
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#7 of 38 in Mayrhofen
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Manni
Sporthotel Manni
#14 of 38 in Mayrhofen
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Strass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Strass

Property: Sporthotel Strass
Address: Hauptstrasse 470, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mayrhofen
#1 Spa Hotel in Mayrhofen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Strass 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sporthotel Strass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Strass Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing