We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you don't mind being 1.5 miles from the centre of Mayrhofen!”
Review of Schneeberger

Schneeberger
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schneeberger
Ranked #66 of 91 Mayrhofen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, I could not fault it for the price we paid compared to some of the hotels in the centre that were almost double! The only snag was the distance from the main Penkenbahn gondola and the centre for a meal & drinks on an evening. During the day there is a free ski bus that comes just down from the reception to the penkenbahn gondola for all lift pass holders which also pretty much covers the whole area and around, however despite reviews saying this runs every 15mins, be warned that there are only two buses 15mins apart before 9am but then they are every 45mins which is fine unless you have lessons to get to on the 1st morning for 930am! then you are struggling if you miss one! Buses back again are every 45mins from right outside the penkenbahn but stop at about 430! So if you miss this a taxi is 5euro! If you don't have lessons to get to on a morning, a far better option is to get the bus on the opposite side of the road to the reception which takes slightly longer but goes to the Horbergbahn gondola where there is far less queuing and you dont seem to be so packed on luke sardines so a definate must!
It was a brisk 20-25min walk for us on an evening into the centre where the bars and restaurants are then we usually got a taxi back for 7euro, which if used every day still makes this B&B a far cheaper option than staying in the centre!

We were staying in a room in the building opposite the main reception of Scheeberger which was great! Really spacious, cleaned and fresh towels brought every day. It was also lovely and quiet which you probably won't get on an evening in the centre of Mayrhofen!

Breakfast was simple but delicious! Although be sure to go before 9am as we didn't on one morning and found there wasn't much left despite being told it didn't close until 930am! The staff are good though so asking for more wouldn't be a problem for them.

I would definately stay here again mainy for cost reasons as this far outweighed the issue of being a little furter out than most!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FES82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

Myself and my wife wanted a relaxing walking week in Austria, and the Pension Schneeberger fitted the bill perfectly.
Frau Schneeberger keeps the place beautifully clean, and our room was a nice sized typical Austrian guest room, with a sun trap balcony overlooking the mountains.

The breakfast was perfect, with plenty of everything including cheeses, hams, Jams etc, fresh fruit from the trees outside, home made butter and milk from the family farm on the mountain.
If you want to know what proper milk should taste like, try a glass of this !!
The house is situated just short of a mile from the centre of Mayrhofen, but it is a very pleasant 15 minute stroll (alongside the river if you wish), or there is a bus stop just outside.
There is a hotel for drinks and decent food just 3 minutes walk away, and in the other direction, 10 minutes walk will bring you to a pizza restaurant which is well worth a visit.
Pension Schneeberger ticked all the boxes for us, and I would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisoxby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed here in January 2011 I travelled alone with Crystal ski and was assigned my accomodation on arrival.A nice warm and well presented guesthouse. I think there was 10 bedrooms . My room was a double with attached bathroom there was no bath but a nice shower with allways lots of hot water. Having a double room gave me lots of space based on the top floor at the front of the house i has a lovely larger balcony in the eaves with a nice view. Beds were firm but i allways had a good nights sleep, nice warm room with radiators in both bedroom and bathroom which could be turned on and off as required.
Breakfast was cold meats cheeses cerial hot options of course were tea and coffee you could make your own toast and always a good supply of boiled eggs which came soft boiled.
It was away from the centre of Mayrhofen which was about a 20 minute walk but the ski bus was only 50 yards away running both ways so you soon could get to the centre or the gondolas. the nearest gongola was the opposit way to Mayrhofen 5 mins by bus or 12 minutes walking ( in snowboard boots).
One drawback was there was no evening meal and the nearest place was a good 10 minutes walk although the food was very good
The owners of the guesthouse are very friendly spoke very good english and are very helpful...........i even got a lift into Mayrhofen of Mr.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew-Melton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: за такие деньги можно найти апартаменты поближе к центру
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Santaapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano_Friuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liliya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
1 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
1.3 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#24 of 39 in Mayrhofen
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eckartauerhof
Hotel Eckartauerhof
#22 of 39 in Mayrhofen
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alpin Lodge Das Zillergrund
Alpin Lodge Das Zillergrund
#10 of 39 in Mayrhofen
88 reviews
1 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 39 in Mayrhofen
369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#8 of 39 in Mayrhofen
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schneeberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schneeberger

Address: Burgstall 362, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Mayrhofen
Price Range: £65 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schneeberger 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schneeberger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing