We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot fault it! Exceeded expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpin Hotel Garni Eder
Ranked #1 of 90 Mayrhofen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it! Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just got back from a week stay at this beautiful hotel. The location is great and christine was amazing. If you are interested in dining in different restaurants she knows all the best places. We asked every morning and she told us somewhere different every night and each place was great. Breakfast is fresh and there are plenty of choices. The surprise at breakfast every morning was a nice touch and the scrambled egg was the best I have ever tasted. The hotel and room are immaculate and the cleaner was very thorough everyday. The shower was very powerful and hot just what we needed after a day skiing. Lots of nice little touches at the hotel that made a perfect stay. A big thank you to christine and marcus. We most definitely will be back and would recommend to anyone! See you next year!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
72
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The minute we strolled up to the hotel we were greeted with open arms and a huge smile, Christine couldn't be happier to see us, we were immediately offered a shot of a very strong liqueur which set our holiday off perfectly, we relaxed straight away! We had a lovely welcome then we were shown to our rooms, personally. The rooms were lovely and had such a warm feel to them, we have stayed in Mayrhofen twice before and no hotel is no where near the standards of this one, we were shocked to find out it was a 3 star is should be going on 4! Everyday we were greeted with a great big smile and conversation about the previous evening and places to go etc, the breakfast was spot on, choices of cereals, breads, hams, cheeses, fruit, yogurts and choices of scrambled/boiled eggs (they are the best boiled eggs we've ever had, we all had one everyday of the holiday, we couldn't say no once it was offered!).
We couldn't have asked for more at this hotel and we couldn't thank Christine and Markus enough, anything we could have wanted we got. We strolled in late one evening after ice skating and caught Christine's eye as we were passing the dining room, she rushed to see how our evening had been and insisted we sat down for a chat whist she brought us cakes, we had a lovely chat before going off to bed!
We also noticed that every day our rooms were seen to, beds were made and the room was generally tidied, Tina the maid would make lovely shapes out of our bedding, pillows and towels and on occasion would leave us little treats on our pillows, we would always wonder what we were going to walk into after a day on the slopes, it would never fail to put a smile on our faces, she works very hard and is always smiling. Thank you Tina!
After this visit i would not stay anywhere else in Mayrhofen, not a single complaint to give, i would go as far as to say this is the best of hotel I've stayed in whilst at a ski resort in Europe, I've skied for 16 years!
See you again soon Christine and Markus! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_adventure27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our very first time to Austria and we are so glad that we chose Mayrhofen and more importantly the Eder. This little hotel is set on the outskirts of the town but within 5 mins walk to the main high st with all the shops, cafe's and cable cars.
It is situated up a small lane so if you come by coach transfer as we did, they drop you at the bottom of the road and you have to walk the rest of the way which only took a couple of minutes. It was quite interesting to see where other people were staying as the coach dropped each group off hotel by hotel. We were the very last drop off and they definitely saved the best till last!
Standing outside we were greeted by peace and quiet and the wonderful freshness of the clean air. It's situated opposite a wood so it is really peaceful.
Inside, the Eder was beautifully decorated and has a fantastic mix of old and new styles done in the most exquisite of ways designed by Christine(the owner). The lobby and breakfast room are really beautiful and a very calming place to start the day.
Our room was very traditionally decorated with pine furniture and wooden flooring with a lovely big balcony overlooking the woods and mountains. The bathroom was very modern and the shower was better than ours at home! Even the bathroom flooring was stunning and completely different to anything I had seen before. There was also a superb flat screen TV with many channels including BBC World News. Plenty of storage space, digital safe, hairdryer etc. all you need for a comfortable stay. We did require extra pillows which the lovely Gretl (mother in law) personally dropped at our room. So nothing was too much to ask.
Breakfast the next day and throughout our stay was something to look forward to. Every morning we were greeted by our wonderful and cheery host Christine the owner of the Eder who would often sit at another table and make us laugh or advise us where to go that day.The breakfasts were fantastic. Christine would often make us the best scrambled eggs made with local produce, followed by a huge array of fresh meats, breads, pastry's, cheeses, jams and the best coffee machine I have ever used. We would easily be an hour and a half for breakfast every day enjoying the food and our hosts conversation.
On certain days we would be joined by Christine's husband Markus who was equally generous and very hospitable. One day we were going on a trip which involved catching a bus. When they found out that we weren't going to make that bus they insisted on driving us to a bus stop 10 mins drive away just so that we could make the connection and not ruin our day! Never have I know kindness like this before, they are truly lovely people.
There are bikes available to use at the hotel but we were very fortunate to be allowed to use their personal KTM E-bikes which was fantastic as it meant that we got to see more than we would have done on conventional bikes as we don't ride too often at home. Again, so kind.
We were staying half board which meant that we were to have our evening meals down the road at a lovely restaurant called the Wald Café. This was owned and run by Martin and his business partner Carsten. Together with Romain our waiter we enjoyed our meals immensely and nothing was too much trouble for them even when they were extremely busy. Their hospitality was superb. Each night we had a 3 course meal starting with a different soup then a main and a dessert. The local Zillertaller beer is something I would recommend as was Radner which my wife enjoyed.
It was very sad to say goodbye to our 'new' friends from the Wald as they were always so pleased to see us. We will return again one day.
We bought a 6 day Zillertal Active card (55E) which gave us free access to all the local buses and trains and also 1 free cable car ride each day in the area which is something everybody must do.
Mayrhofen is such a stunning place to stay with so much to see and do. The high street with all the shops and cafes, the cable cars up to the Ahorn and Penken mountains etc. We were lucky to be there when they started to bring the cows down off the hills and they came clanging through the streets with their huge bells round their necks.
Truly a beautiful place to visit and only a short train ride away from Innsbruck and Salzburg. We had planned to visit both these cities but we ran out of time with so much to see and do in and around Mayrhofen.
So it was with a very heavy heart when our last day arrived. We didn't want to go. It was quite emotional saying goodbye to Christine and kissing mother-in-law Gretl goodbye was like saying goodbye to your grandmother.
We have had such a fabulous time here with so many fantastic memories. But all of this would not have been possible without the kindness and generosity of our fantastic hosts Christine, Markus, Tomas and Gretl.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tribester40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have been visitors to Mayrhofen twice before, staying once at the Elizabeth and once at Mannis Sport Hotel as part of a package holiday. We wanted to return as the previous visits had left us wanting to do so much more in terms of walking. It is a lovely town and the possibilities are endless. We wished for a bit more freedom this time from the routine of a package holiday so hired a car from Munich and looked for a B&B on the internet. The reviews said this hotel was number one so on the basis that so many people can't be wrong we booked a week at the Garni Eder. What can I say that hasn't been said already? You check in as a customer and by the time you leave you are waving goodbye to friends. Christine and Markus are so helpful, cheerful and friendly. You look forward to the lovely breakfast each morning and what they have to say. The Rooms are spotless and the atmosphere is homely. I could go on and on but the message is simple, if you don't stay there you will be staying somewhere else. Thank you once again Christine, Markus and Gretl.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My sister-in-law and I have just returned from a fantastic week's skiing here.

We loved Christine and Markus! They are wonderful hosts, such a bright and cheerful start to the day and extremely helpful.

The hotel is clean, modern and beautifully decorated. The rooms are a comfortable size, with a good sized bed with two single duvets, an ensuite bathroom with shower cubicle, a balcony and a flat screen tv. There is also wifi available.
Breakfast is a very good selection of cereal, hams, cheese, breads, cake, yoghurt, fruit, and delicious scrambled eggs or a soft boiled egg if requested. We loved the surprise item on our plates every morning!
There is a machine that you can get coffee and hot chocolate from after breakfast is finished for €1.

The Eder is in a lovely quiet location, beside the forest and it is only a 5 minute walk to the main street.
There is a ski/boot storage area, but after the first 2 days of lugging skis in ski boots up to the hotel, we chose to reserve our feeble energy and took the Crystal ski/boot storage offer of €15 for a week, right beside the Penkenbahn.

A fun, warm and super friendly experience, would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radishmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here the last week of February. Arguably one of the best places I have ever stayed at. Don't get me wrong,,, I have stayed at 4*-5* star hotels around the world but there is something special about this hotel.

At Eder you don't just get beautiful accommodation, you get a family too!! The owners, Marcus & Christina make this place so special! Their attitude to work and life as a whole has been so inspirational to us.

They would do anything to help! Wife & I got too carried away apres skiing one night that we ended up missing the last bus back to Mayrhofen. Christina had told us to call her with any problems. With some hesitation we called Christina ... no problem whatsoever.. she just asked us to wait outside the bar and Marcus was there in 15 minutes to pick us up. He was so cool about it that we didn't even feel guilty! It was their "little extra", as Marcus put it.

M & C are so nice you look forward to the morning to see them. The breakfasts are beautiful and the breakfast room and the tables are always so nicely decorated making the place so welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and our breakfast chats with Marcus & Christina. They can give you lots of tips about different things to do and places to go.

On the last day we had a few hours to kill and Marcus recommended we walked to the local cheese factory (about a 30min beautiful walk) to see how different cheeses are made and enjoy a local delicacy (Apparently Christina's most favourite snack). Of course we obeyed and we had such a lovely time.

The hotel is in a lovely place just 5 minutes walk from the centre and the lifts. Having previously stayed right in the centre, in Chamonix, having to cope with the noise of the bars till 3-4 AM I had sworn not to ever stay right in the centre again, so this place was a lovely solution. We didn't go for the Crystal ski lockers as the 5 min walk in the ski boots was not a problem to us plus the ski room at the hotel was so comfortable and had boots heaters making the boots perfectly dry and ready for your next day.

There is of course a big downside to the whole experience and that is that at the end of your holiday YOU DON'T WANT TO LEAVE THIS PLACE!!!

And of course you can't justly finish the review on Eder without mentioning Marcus's mum and the other also very friendly staff at the hotel.

Thanks to all at Eder for making our holiday so special. Can't wait to visit you again soon,,, hopefully in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soli6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Have to agree with all the other reviews. If you want a nice, family run B&B, just off the beaten track, then I would recommend here. Christina and Markus certainly know how to make you feel welcome and at home. From good breakfasts to booking restuarants at night, nothing was too much trouble.
If you are skiing, we left our gear at the bottom of the Penken Gondola. Probably a good idea as the Eder is a (slight) uphill walk - didn't fancy the walk in ski boots.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteWEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.5 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Mayrhofen
Elisabeth Hotel Mayrhofen
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edenlehen
Hotel Edenlehen
#5 of 38 in Mayrhofen
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#6 of 38 in Mayrhofen
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apart Central
Apart Central
#8 of 38 in Mayrhofen
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpin Hotel Garni Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Hotel Garni Eder

Property: Alpin Hotel Garni Eder
Address: Zillergrundweg 572 | 6290 Mayrhofen, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpin Hotel Garni Eder 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Alpin Hotel Garni Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing