We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here recently with friends for a weeks skiing and boarding.

Location - The hotel is situated on the edge of town, easy reach of all of the other hotels and bars etc, but is about as far as you can get from the main gondola. Mayrhofen is not a big place but it is a good 10/15 Minutes uphill walk to the main gondola.

The hotel medium sized, pretty and clean with good facilities. Room are comfortable and bathrooms are lovely. Not all rooms have balconies.

Food was good, nothing to really rave about but good. Breakfast was usual continental buffet, dinner was chosen from a menu giving two choices per course. My main issue with the evening meal was that i found it a little pretentious, looked great but not just not enough and after skiing all day you really want more.

The bar and lounge areas are nice and comfortable - but the bar is shut in the day and even if you just want a cup of coffee you tend to play find the waiter! It got annoying. Also bar prices we a little on the high side.

All in all i wouldn't mind staying here again but would probably go back to the Manis (just better service)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Alpendomizil Neuhaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel has very helpful staff. The restaurant's food is gourmet. The hotel is very clean with comfortable rooms. Our room had a balcony with a view of the Austrian Alps. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reisechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We recently returned from our holiday staying in the Landhaus accommodation which is part of the Alpendomizil Neuhaus. Although we were aware that we had accommodation in one of the Neuhaus hotels annexes, this in no way detracted from our wonderful holiday.
After a horrendous day travelling the staff were still very welcoming on our late arrival, and we were offered and served a full three course dinner at 10.30pm. Our rooms in the Landhaus were reasonably spacious with balconies and best of all very clean, The 100m walk back to the Neuhaus for breakfast and meals was again not an issue at all,
Food was plentiful and varied, breakfast at busy times a little slow if wanting freshly cooked eggs and omelettes due to demand. Dinner was far better than we expected after reading some reviews, to be honest we all thought that the food overall could not be faulted. Service at dinner polite and efficient although the reluctance to serve jugs of iced water rankled us a little.
The pool and wellness facilities are excellent. We also enjoyed the bowling alley...great fun and The Movie bar as a meeting place each evening. The lounge bar is very relaxing with friendly if sometimes 'laidback' service.
Location, although at the lower end of Mayrhofen is ideal for the train station if going down the valley to Zell am Ziller and beyond, also bus stops at train station to Hintertux as well as other nearby bus stops to Penken and Horberg .Not to far a walk to any part of the village even in ski boots if you are not too keen on the sometimes overcrowded buses especially to the Penken gondola. If you are not a skier then the hotel offers a free walking guide with the wonderful Christine, who offers a daily programme of varied mountain walks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I could end my review with the title, but then I would miss the opportunity to praise this hotel. We ski every year in Austria and this was the second time to Mayrhofen, but only the first time to this hotel. The hotel is located at the outskirt of the city, but next to the main transportation hub that takes you to the gondolas, the Hintertux Glacier and the other ski locations in the Zillertal area (including the Arena which offers excellent skiing). Thus, unless you intend only to ski at Penken, this is the best location in town.
The hotel looks like a typical Tirol hotel, but that's the only thing typical about it. What is untypical is that the staff is friendly and helpful. Throughout our stay, we were met by helpful smiley people who went out of their way to help us. On arrival, one of the staff helped us with the luggage on his own initiative. When I got back with the ski equipment another staff member offered to help me with the equipment to get to the ski room. Anyone who has stayed at Austrian hotels knows that this is not typical. All members of staff spoke English and that is not typical either--it certainly made our stay easier and more enjoyable.
We had a triple room, as I was with two children (11,14). The triple room is large with a double bed, a single bed a couch and two comfortable chairs. This is also not typical as the third bed is usually a pull-out couch -- not in this case. The bathroom was modern and beautiful. We had a small balcony and two large windows in the room. All windows and the balcony door had electric shades, so keeping light and noise out was easy. Our room number was 27.
We had half board and were very happy with the food. Breakfast was rich, including eggs prepared to order. Dinner was a six course arrangement as typical for these hotels and we found the food both tasty and fresh, fancy enough to enjoy and not so fancy that the kids wouldn't eat it. Our waitress, Mila, was extremely friendly and went out of her way to make us enjoy. Her English is excellent so couldn't have asked for more.
The hotel boasts a spa which we didn't try, because Austria spas are for naked use and thus not suitable for children. However, this hotel has a family spa which includes a pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, solarium and various water showers. This was a great surprise, because the kids really like to water after a long day on the slopes.
The hotel has a nice well equipped ski room and a number of other activities.
All in all, we were positively surprised, based on our previous experiences in Austria. I can compare this hotel to our stay at the Strass Hotel in Mayrhofen last year and Neuhaus wins a clear knock-out victory. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We arrived late to the hotel after being delayed at Manchester, the staff were not fussed by this and served us an evening meal. The waiting staff were mainly helpful and friendly, especially our waiter Georg. The facilities were very good indoor and outdoor pool as well as jacuzzi ( that was a little cold ) and sauna room.
We stayed on the first floor of the landhaus in rooms 157 and 158. The rooms were small although we met some people staying on the top floor whose were bigger. The rooms were kept very clean.
There were some poor points to the hotel, the biggest being the entertainment!

One singer, who was clearly miming as her singing started before she reached the microphone, and a piano player spoilt the nice atmosphere the hotel had.

The bar man, to be honest, wasn't miserable, he was just quite and liked to keep himself to himself.

All in all I was very happy with the hotel and Mayrhofen in general. I would happily return there soon!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were a little apprehensive when the hotel was recommended by the travel agency, as the photos on the website were not too inviting. For our surprise, the hotel was completely different from the bad photos. The room was quite large and comfortable - and very clean. The staff was very friendly and always ready to help (they even helped me to open my bag lock that broke during the flight). The food is delicious and there's plenty of food. The waiters are amazingly friendly. Our waiter, Georg, did everything to please us and our children. I will definitely come back !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurício A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were informed that the ski room was secured but my wife's ski boots were stolen during the day. The room is unlocked from 7am to 8pm and anyone from inside or outside can enter the room. On advising the hotel of the theft they were unconcerned. It took two days of asking to view the CCTV and when we did see the theft it was clear they were not going to pass the footage onto the police. There was no offer of compensation or even an apology. Quite frankly didn't give a damn!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sporthotel Manni
Sporthotel Manni
#16 of 38 in Mayrhofen
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edenlehen
Hotel Edenlehen
#5 of 38 in Mayrhofen
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpendomizil Neuhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpendomizil Neuhaus

Address: Am Marktplatz 202, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mayrhofen
#7 Spa Hotel in Mayrhofen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range: £105 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpendomizil Neuhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alpendomizil Neuhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpendomizil Neuhaus Mayrhofen
Alpendomizil Neuhaus Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing