We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic first snowboarding holiday!”
Review of Berghof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berghof
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic first snowboarding holiday!”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Lovely hotel, about 10 mins walk from the penken lift in full ski gear.

Rooms were always spotlessly clean and large in comparison to other hotels I have stayed in.

Highlight of the hotel has to be the food! Full English, breads, meats, cheeses, yoghurt, cereal and fresh juice available each morning. Dinner is an extensive buffet starter with a huge choice, main is chosen each morning from 3 options and desert is again a buffet.

Only complaint is no free wifi and if you pay for it you cannot get a good signal unless you sit in reception. However there is free Internet available on a computer in reception.

We are a young couple and despite the traditional feel the hotel it suited all our needs. We would usually go for a boutique hotel with an ultra modern feel.

Left with a fantastic impression of both the Berghof and Mayrhofen and looking to return next year!

All in all a great hotel which meets it's 4* rating.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Milliemoo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    62
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
59
92
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My partner and I stayed in Berghof for a week in Feb while enjoying snowboarding and loved everything about it. The service is exceptional, everybody was so nice and helpful. The hotel was beautiful, renovated, clean and very warm. Food was delicious with great choice for breakfast and dinner (our favourite was the orange juice maker and bowls of beautiful, ripe, sweet oranges for it). We were very impressed by the SPA (nude! :) ) with jacuzzi, steam room, two saunas (wood and stone), relaxing rooms, special showers etc. Great hotel.

Room Tip: 228 - renovated, spacious, cosy with balcony, bath / shower and separate toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We have been two Israeli guys who were looking for a place to stay with HB and Spa facilities.
We were happily surprised about the dinner, there is so much of it so that the main course might even be too much...
One had also a great variaty of Breakfast.
The Spa facility is just perfect, not too small but also still comfortable with two Dry Sauna, One Bio Sauna, two restroom and a big whirlpool. It was just perfect after a ski day for stiffed muscles.

Not to mention the Staff, especially Helen the Recepionist was always there to help us in any way.

Defintely, I would reccomend the Hotel for a family or friends.

Room Tip: The "older" rooms do not have a Wifi connectivity on the floor, only on the Lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed with friends during UK half term week at the hotel Berghof. It was a great base for skiing daily in Mayrhofen & the Zillertall valley, a vast area which means you don;t have to ski the same run more than once if you plan your days well!! The hotel is very clean & comfortable, the food is good & there is a good selection on the buffet if you don't want the main course. We were provided with a packed luch on our leaving day as we were missing breakfast! The only negative was the cost of water with meals, despite asking for tap water, we were told we had to purchase all water with our evening meals, which added up to as much as the wine bill at the end of the week!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel block have been updated & are clean & roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Before going any further, the hotel itself is generally of a high standard, the sauna area is fabulous and the breakfast provision was fantastic. I don't doubt that it is generally a 4* hotel.

However... not all of the rooms live up to what would be expected of 4* accommodation. My two room mates and I were allocated a room which was suffering, in the words of the receptionist, from "wear and tear". On first inspection, both the bathroom and separate toilet were old-fashioned in style, with a tongue and groove ceiling, mismatched tiles and pipework on display. The bath tub was chipped in a couple of places and there had been attempts to rectify it, but in a different colour paint.
But then we came to use it. The shower over the bath leaked through the screen onto the floor so that every shower resulted in dangerous puddles and towels all over the floor trying to soak up the leaks. At one point, my room mate tried putting a towel inside the screen, but to no effect. I then used the toilet and found it moved when I shifted my weight to reach for the toilet roll. Not just the seat - the whole toilet including the cistern. This was very disconcerting. The room itself was small, and again, somewhat old-fashioned with a CRT television and a radio built into the wall - items I hadn't seen in a hotel room in many years.
On questioning reception, it would appear that the Berghof has 12 grades of room, and we had been given the lowest grade room. We had friends in the rooms either side and theirs were similarly shabby. I went next door to use one neighbour's shower in an effort to avoid the flood, only to find that his shower leaked too. Then one room mate walked by the kitchen and saw food being prepared with one hand, whilst the chef held a cigarette in the other. Not what we would expect. On wednesday night, we were told there was no reception cover so we couldn't leave the only key for our room mates. This meant that when one room mate returned at midnight, he was locked out of the whole hotel as there was no one available to let him in. He ended up sleeping with other friends at another hotel. I have never heard of a 4* hotel reception being closed for a night!
Our rep asked us to inform reception of the issues, which we did. Apparently, the maintenance man mended the shower screen, but it still leaked. When we advised reception that the fix had failed following three more showers which soaked the bathroom floor, we were told that it hadn't as the maintenance man had definitely fixed it. We also demonstrated the wobbly toilet, only to be told to sit still whilst using it! I was amazed that my toilet skills were criticised and I was completely to blame, as opposed to the moving toilet!
The final straw was when reception asked me to stop complaining to them in such a loud voice as they were concerned other guests may hear. When I explained that I have hearing loss and naturally speak loudly, they were not interested and continued to crticise my loud voice. I found this quite offensive and upsetting.
Unfortunately the hotel was full so there were no rooms available to move us to. We paddled through the week but would definitely not return.

Room Tip: Check out the 12 grades and go as high as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bode C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Joerg_Moigg, Owner at Berghof, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Bode C,

We are pleased that you found Hotel Berghof to be generally of a high and 4* standard but are naturally disappointed that your room did not meet your expectations.

It is correct that within our hotel we have 12 different categories of room (all of a 4* standard). Of course these are different prices for the different room categories. As your travel agency booked one of our comfort triple rooms for you, this is the room category that you were allocated. We are unfortunately not always able to offer our guests free upgrades as your friends were lucky enough to receive in the hotel they booked.

Following your complaint about a leaking shower and a wobbly toilet our maintenance team visited your room to ensure both fittings were secured and in good working order. We are sorry that they continued to bother you throughout your stay. We would like to add that in the weeks leading up to your stay and in the weeks since your stay we have had no further complaints from guests staying in this particular room.

Our televisions are all in good working order and flat screens are provided in all our suites. In the other rooms the CRT TVs are being replaced with flat screens but this is a gradual process.

The hotel reception is occupied 24 hours a day except for Wednesday night when the night porter has her night off. On this evening a prominent sign is displayed at reception next to the box where our guests leave their keys to advise them that the hotel will be locked from 1am. In addition to this there is an intercom system outside the hotel with a direct link to a 24hr contact. Our guests are also able to take a 2nd key for their room at any time during their holiday for a deposit of € 30,-.

Smoking is of course strictly not allowed in our kitchens. Please be reassured that we will investigate internally to ensure that this rule is adhered to.

No insult was intended by asking you to come closer to the reception desk and hold a conversation about your complaints from a more comfortable distance, rather than shouting them from 10 metres away from us.

We are sorry that our efforts to make you more comfortable at our hotel were unsuccessful. We had hoped that our offer of waiving payment for the rest of your holiday would enable you find alternative accommodation better suited to your expectations. It was our understanding that your travel agency had been able to arrange a change of accommodation for you. As you chose to remain in our hotel anyway, we assumed the issues you mentioned in your review were no longer having such a detrimental impact on your holiday.

We hope very much that the memories you take home from Mayrhofen are of the aspects of the hotel which you did enjoy and a week of fantastic snowboarding in the Ziller Valley.

Kind regards,

Family Moigg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We booked here through Crystal Ski It was recommended by the advisor at Thomson. We arrived after 9pm on a Saturday evening (after the restaurant had closed). I was told we would be provide with a snack meal as we were books on half board. No such thing! We were served a full three course meal which was very surprising and much appreciated. We had a great stay at the Hotel. We were allocated a table that we kept for the week. Our waiter, Gunther, was brilliant. No request was too small for him. At breakfast we were given a choice for our evening main course. There was always a fish option and then two other selections. The breakfast buffet was awesome. All cereals, many different types of bread, full cooked English breakfast and all sorts of continental
Meats etc. the evening meal consisted of soup, hit and cold buffet starters followed by the main course, sweet and cheese! All of excellent quality. The staff all through the hotel were very friendly an helpful. There was a room where skis and boots could be kept. The boot racks were heated as well. We did not use the sauna or fitness area but I was told they were very good as well. There was a computer at reception offering free internet access. A wireless ticket could be bought at 5E a day or 15E for the week. All together a really welcoming Hotel that ticked all the
boxes.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We have just returned from a week's skiing holiday staying in the Berghof Hotel in Mayrhofen. We have been to Mayrhofen on many occasions and have to say this hotel has been the best by far for standard of cleanliness, friendliness, quality and presentation of food and superb service. Only regret we haven't stayed here before. The restaurant would give any cruise liner and some of the more prestigious hotels a run for their money both in service, choice and standard. Thank you to all the staff here who work so hard to make your stay something special and where nothing is too much trouble. Looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teddymuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#8 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose
Rose
#11 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Mayrhofen
Elisabeth Hotel Mayrhofen
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghof

Property: Berghof
Address: Durster Strasse 220, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Berghof 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genießen Sie einen Urlaubscocktail aus Musik, Unterhaltung, Ruhe, Genuss, Sport, Enstpannung und dem Lifestyle der Zillertaler Alpen im harmonisch traditionellen Berghof im Herzen von Mayrhofen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Berghof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghof Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing