We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT - AS ALWAYS !!”
Review of Berghof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Berghof
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed for a week late March. Took 3 rooms for a party of 6. This was our 4th return visit. We've skied at other venues but always return to the Berghof. If you love decent sized, well maintained accommodation and fantastic food - we defy you to find better !!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just returned from a weeks ski holiday in mayrhofen with crystal ski . This was the second time we have stayed at the hotel Berghof it was lovely the staff were nice and helpful we had a large room with a lovely balcony at the front of the hotel got the sun all day.The food was great plenty of choice starter buffet hot and cold loads to chose from main course waiter service and best of all the desert buffet well what can i say just so much to choice from it was lovely.the hotel is at the bottom of the high street so its about a 10 to 15 min walk to the penken the ski bus stops out side the hotel so we would ride up and a nice walk back down stopping at a few bars on the way.we rent our skis from rent for fun just across the road form the penken lift its just 50 euros for standard skis and boots and rent a locker 15 euros for the week best buy of the week .
we stayed 22nd march to 29th so the hotel and resort were not as busy as when we stayed before but this was better we had loads of new snow so the skiing was great .If we return to mayrhofen again we would only stay at the berghof in all our skiing holidays this has been the best hotel in austria we have stayed in .thank you to all at the berghof for a lovely stay .

Room Tip: we had a large room at the front of the hotel with a large balcony and last time we stayed we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123pat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from ths Berghof, If I'm honest I don't know if I could recommend it. Starting with the staff...some are good, some are not....if you're a Brit, be prepared to think you're invisible.....the german, Dutch Russians dominate, if you've never been to Austria this is quite common in my experience ( they don't mind taking your money tho')...this goes for the European guests too...they have a great ability to look straight through you...

That said, if you are prepared/don't mind this, the berghof is an average place to stay...the rooms are kept clean with fresh towels every day, it's a 15min walk to the penken lift. (get there for 8am if you want to avoid huge queues) .... The mountain is absolutely awesome and made up for the negatives ....

I would return to mayrhofen, but would look to stay somewhere nearer the center of town, great bars etc and nice to stroll around.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fancaseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed here for a weeks skiing Jan '14, after getting a discounted holiday via Inghams (£500 per head) including half board in the Berghof. Couldn't be happier with the hotel, relative to the price paid for holiday of course. Thats why I've rated value lower than others, I wouldnt have been entirely happy if I paid full whack for this hotel. Some quirky aspects don't match up to north west European standards.

Hotel;

Hotel is clean, relatively modern and with most mod cons. Friendly enough staff although girl at front desk smiled at your enquiries, but didn’t really seem interested at all, and was clearly very very tired pretty much all of the time. Not many English speaking guests, mainly Russian and Dutch, other Eastern Europeans. A funny mix of cultures for the week but very enjoyable indeed.

Room;

We arrived and were told we were in a Suite (Room 5 in the annex) which is the building directly across the road from the Berghof main entrance, and is connected via underground tunnel 1 minute walk so no issues there. Two main rooms, large bedroom with Austrian style double bed (low bed with two single matresses stuck together), thin pillows but no issues. Ensuite bathroom, shower and toilet, LCD screen TV in room. Second large bathroom in corridor with shower bath, then toilet. Living room down the end of hall with another LCD TV, table and two seated areas. Room for person to sleep on the seated area. Ground floor balcony accessible also. It was excellent, no noise at night. Only issue was a spotlight from the hotel across the road which was on all night and created a glow in our room. Used to blackout curtains at home so this was a minor irritation for me.

Wifi;

Gripe about the wifi access, I wouldn’t be happy if I paid full whack for the holiday as you have to pay €15 for wifi access for the weeks stay, with the password locking it to a single device only, and no guarantee of wifi connectivity in every room. Luckily it worked in ours just fine.

Food;

Food was fine, 4* hotel in Austrian standards, but certainly not UK/Ire quality in terms of 4* cuisine. Some funny and unusual combinations, but really enjoyable regardless. One morning there was an option of Soup for breakfast… haven’t come across that before! Some of the foods (especially the dinner starter buffet) were recycled through the week, but this is understandable, and wasn’t a problem as it was fresh throughout the week. Table service was good. No real complaints.

Bar;

not pleasant experience as we are nonsmokers and Austria still permit smoking indoors. Went in once to order a large beer, few old barflys hanging around. Once realized I wasn’t going to be able to hack the smoky atmosphere, I asked barman to change my order to a small beer. Even though he had just started the pour, he told me flat out no. Austrians can have a funny attitude to minor things, not as relaxed as my own countrymen.

Spa;

They have a smallish spa area, with two or three very clean saunas of various temperatures, and steam room and also infra-red hot box thing. Jacuzzi also but wasn’t hot enough for us to brave, plus didn’t look exceptionally clean. Note Austrian tradition is no swimwear in sauna area, which kind of put us off a bit. But you can wrap towels/bathrobes around you for the sauna areas. Just be aware you will likely find nudie types down there so be prepared if you use it. Reception can provide you bathrobes, but they look for a €30 cash deposit to lend them out, and will only accept cash as I found out myself. I hadn’t brought my wallet with me so offered my room key as deposit, but they wouldn’t accept it. Which is ridiculous really – where was I going to go without my room key in a bathrobe in the middle of an Austrian Winter??? I had to walk all the way back to my room to get my wallet, a minor inconvenience but an annoying policy nonetheless enforced by the rule programmed robot at the hotel reception desk.

Location;

Great location. ski bus right outside 2 minutes walk away from front door. Far enough away from the party end of town (Penken ice bar attached to Strauss hotel) to avoid the noise of the drunkards at night, but no more than 10 minutes walk uphill to the Penken gondola. Billa supermarket is 5 minutes walk away, close to Scotland Yard bar also and the Greenroom ski & board shop if you need to rent any proper ski equipment. Spar supermarket 6 minutes walk away up the hill towards Penken.

Room Tip: We were put in the annex across the road... when I usually hear "your room is in the annex"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have just come back from a week snowboarding in Mayrhofen (Jan 14). The resort boasts excellent pistes and great après ski bars and restaurants.

We stayed at the Berghof Hotel and booked with Inghams. Inghams were great, seamless transfers, friendly and helpful reps (Chris, Charlotte & Tim). Unfortunately I can not say the same for the reception staff at the Berghof who were cold and unwelcoming. Any enquiry was met with a frosty response. Not to mention that wifi was €15 per week but for only one device, not ideal for families with iPads, laptops and several smart phones. The bar allowed smoking and most guest seemed to think that was the case for the whole hotel and the place often stank of smoke, particularly the ground floor, regardless of no smoking signs everywhere.

The bedrooms were really spacious and decor simple. Spotlessly cleaned daily with humorous duvet designs each time. The pillows were awful and lumpy, with only one per bed. We booked a double room which was two single beds side by side with separate duvets and the frames getting in the way of cuddling up.

The restaurant, food, service and choice was second to none. An extensive choice of buffet available for breakfast, starters and deserts and you could order your individual main course. If anything there was too much food and any calories used up on the slopes were certainly replenished. Amazing!

The ski, board and boot room was well organised and spacious with heated boot prongs. The ski buses stopped just outside the hotel with a choice of 3 different cable cars taking you up to the Penken, Ahorn or slightly further away (but quieter) Hoberg. And the train can take you even further a field to discover the Zillertal, Tirol.

I would recommend the resort to all and can't wait to go back. If you still have pennies in your purse post Christmas I highly recommend a January trip. The slopes were quiet and with fresh snow daily it was perfect boarding conditions. A great destination for snowboarders with plenty heading there from all over the world and without the ski snobbery often experienced in other euro resorts.

In Mayrhofen it would be a crime to head straight back to your hotel, there was lots of après ski. Our favourite bars/ restaurants were; Happy End at the bottom of the Penkenbahn which is a cafe / wine bar, Joe's an American sports bar with good food and Scotland Yard a traditional old English/ Irish pub particularly popular with snowboarders. The last two both played good music, a pleasant change to the euro techno played on the piste and in most other bars. Be warned we are in our early forties so younger party animals will appreciate the larger, crazier après ski places such as, Ice Bar (Penkenbahn), Bruck n Stadl (Ahornbahn) and Harakiri Bar.

No matter what your age though don't miss out on the piste bars/ mountain huts for food and drink; White Lounge (Ahorn), Panoramic Bar at the top of the Hobergbah - very 007 and there is a cute place with great views on a clear day at the bottom of piste on Slope 13.

Mayrhofen - Great area, great holiday, greatly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What a lovely Hotel, best we've stayed in on a Crystal ski holiday. Food was excellent (and lots of it), bar area is clean and spacious with entertainment most nights. Great Spa area and boot room. Only one thing stopping me giving 5 out of 5 was the bed pillows, they were thin and lifeless, had to fold it in half to get some height. Don't let that put you off though, great place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week staying at the Berghof Hotel in Mayrhofen from the moment we arrived the welcome we received made us feel relaxed. Our room was on the second floor with a balcony looking towards the mountains was clean & comfortable with clean towels, bed linen every day. We stayed half board & the food was of a very high standard with plenty of choice for breakfast & Evening meal. The hotel bar had two seating areas available for both non- smokers & smokers with entertainment most nights. The spa only opened from 4pm & once you got over the "Britishness " of not wearing clothes was excellent (you could always wrap yourself in a towel) provided. Ski & boot storage was of a very high standard also. Certainly worth a visit for skiers or non skiers.

Room Tip: Our room which was on the second floor was very quiet even though it was overlooking the side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.3 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 39 in Mayrhofen
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#9 of 39 in Mayrhofen
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rose
Rose
#15 of 39 in Mayrhofen
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 39 in Mayrhofen
374 reviews
1 mi away
Alpin Lodge Das Zillergrund
Alpin Lodge Das Zillergrund
#10 of 39 in Mayrhofen
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghof

Address: Durster Strasse 220, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mayrhofen
#7 Family Hotel in Mayrhofen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mayrhofen
Price Range: £97 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berghof 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Mayrhofen for your perfect vacation We would like to invite you to spend what we hope will be the most enjoyable days of your year at the Hotel Berghof in the heart of Mayrhofen. Treat yourself to an enticing blend of sport, entertainment, relaxation and tranquility surrounded by the beautiful Zillertal Mountains. Rejuvenate and unwind as you experience the very best of Zillertal hospitality. We look forward to ensuring you enjoy a wonderful holiday with us. Your hosts, Family Moigg and the Berghof team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berghof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghof Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing