We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Sporthotel Manni(Mayrhofen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Helene(Mayrhofen)
View Hotel
Pramstraller(Mayrhofen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Knunbauer(Mayrhofen)
View Hotel
Hotel Neue Post(Mayrhofen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Berghof(Mayrhofen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
71
38
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
38
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski busbarbecue grillevery nightgreat hotelseparate loomin walkmain centremost eveningsstay there againgreat view of the mountainstrain stationwinter holidayevening mealperfect stayrooms are basicquiet streetspent a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Rose being on winter vacation with husband, our 8 years old son and one more family of three. Hotel itself is fine, good restaurant and service, clean and comfortable rooms though the staff in the sauna is quite unpleasant. We're from Russia and not used to be naked in the common sauna area, so the men used towels and 3 ladies were wearing bathing suites, and the sauna staff told us (in a quite rude manner!) that we're not allowed to be dressed like that in the sauna. Maybe if the management asked us (ladies) to use towels instead of bathing suites in a proper manner we would do so, but they didn't offer any alternative to us other than to be naked. By the way, we noticed that some men in the sauna were looking all over us in an indecent manner so we felt ourselves like pieces of meat. I must say that we tend to go to Austria for skiing almost every year and this was the only hotel with such an attitude. One more tip: when we stayed at the hotel the ski storage room was not under lock or key. We didn't have anything stolen but one should keep this in mind (if the Hotel management hasn't changed this matter since that). The hotel is a 15 minutes walk from the nearest ski lift. We used to get there by foot and it was also possible to get there by bus. The bus stop is just right near the hotel. The train station for getting to Hintertux slopes is also in around 5 minutes of walking. The lady at the reception was very kind to explain us the itinerary for this trip to the glacier. So, the location is quite central but not noisy, though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nikannika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was my wife's first time skiing ,so I wanted her to enjoy it ,so we could return,and the rose did not let me down .after arriving late due to being diverted to Munich,the hotel kept the restuarant open for us,and gave us great meal.the staff could not do enough for us .the food at the rose is up their with Michelin star quality,great relaxing bar at the end of a days skiing,ideally situated for shop and bars,and only 90 secs on the bus to the main gondola.rooms comfortable clean and warm overall the best hotel i,ve staed in while skiing(p.s mayahofen it's self is a fantastic resort ).as you will realise by now we have all ready booked to go back to the rose jan 19th 2013 carnt wait

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've spent many years taking my summer holiday at the Hotel Rose. It's now under the management of Simon Kroll, the son of the owner (also named Simon). To be honest, I've not stayed there since old Simon moved to Apartments Rose just up the road, but I have visited for food.

The place has been extended taking a chunk out of the grassed area at the rear, not many people used that so it's not an issue. The extension has bee tastefully done and is in keeping with the rest of the hotel. The rooms were always very clean, with TV (only one English channel) and most have on-suite (the bathroom and toilet is seperate but both in your room) we always stayed in the rear rooms of the hotel - we had our normal room which Roswitha always reserved for us.

The views from the rear are excellent.

The hotel is very well placed, being a short walk from the main centre of the town. That means it's quite peaceful while still being very close to the local amenities. It can get noisy with the nightly entertainment and in the summer be sure that you are a fan of local Austrian music, you get it every night apart from one!

The food is excellent and hasn't dropped in it's standard under young Simon (he used to be one of the chefs) and the Lasagne is amazing.

In summary, this place is a real gem and well worth taking you holiday there - be it for summer walking or winter sports.

Room Tip: Some of the better and quieter rooms are at the rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

we have just come back after staying at the rose for the snowbombing festival.
After checking in with the extremely friendly and helpful staff, i have to admit i was a little surprised by the room. It is not the 4* i am used to as the room was very basic and functional. However saying that i cannot fault the hotel on much more! considering the whole area was full of rowdy drunken people there to enjoy a festival they dealt with it all great. Although the rooms were basic, when you have been skiing/partying all day all you need is somewhere clean to crash and this fit the bill perfectly. The location of the hotel is also perfect. we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast was perfectly fine, as was the dinner the one time we ate in the hotel. all in all a great stay at the rose. A note to be aware of... through no fault of the hotel is that we were promised a room with a balcony (according to our agent they all had this) unfortunately we were misled and not all rooms do have a balcony!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ekta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a fantastic Hotel the room had a shower and bath which is what you need when your legs are tired from snowboarding to soak in the bath. Spa has a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, foot spa, yes it's a naked spa but you don't have to use it if you feel awkward in doing so(you are in Austria).
The rooms are immaculate, cleaned every day, storage for your ski/snowboarding kit downstairs, extra toilet on the same floor incase your partner is using the room toilet.
They speak very good English, every day you got a weather report and info about the piste or info Hotel facilities.
You pick from at least 3 different meals for your evening meal which ends up as a 5 course:- Salad,Starter, Soup, Main meal then pudding, food is outstanding.
If you have an early morning pick up to go to airport they will give you your breakfast early if you ask or a packed lunch.
The owners and staff at the Rose know how to run a Hotel and will always have customers booking up no matter what the season.( Mayrhofen is a fab place to ski/snowboard as your pass is for 4 other piste's which you can get the bus and train for free) will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews