We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landaus Roscher”
Review of Landhaus Roscher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landhaus Roscher
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked the holiday through Crystal and opted for half board. This was definitely good value and is recommended. Breakfast was basic but expected in Austria and the evening meals at Cafe Tirol were excellent. We had a choice every evening of a meat or vegetarian meal plus visits to a well stocked salad bar. They were also very accommodating when I asked to choose something off the normal menu and was very pleasantly surprised when I did not have to pay any extra.
The accommodation was super clean but the decor is so dated its actually now back in fashion!! I agree with previous reviews with the disappointment of the bed sheets - the had many holes, some darned, and were not changed within the week. However we did receive clean towels on a daily basis. The room had a fridge which added to the 'heat' of the room - which was not too helpful when Mayrhofen was experiencing some very hot weather!
Mayrhofen itself was excellent and our highlight was definitely meeting Peter Habeler at the top of Ahornspitze.
We would definitely return to Mayrhofen and Landhaus Roscher.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondieNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Recently stayed at the Landhaus Roscher and had an amazing holiday in Mayrhofen.
Location of the Landhaus: Lovely, quiet location right by the forest, and ideal for both the Penken and Ahorn Lifts (5 mins walk to Penken and 7-8 mins to Ahorn). We ate our meals in the Strass which was a 5 minute walk away (slightly uphill on the return journey). Outdoor swimming pool is a short distance approx. 4-5 minute walk).
Guesthouse: We were in a family room which consisted of two bedrooms, which was great as we were expecting to be all in one room, however the bathroom was very tired and in need of updating, it had a hand held shower, and a shower curtain that fell down every single time you tried to touch or move it. The bedrooms were tired looking, and very dark (we were on ground floor level at the rear overlooking the forest). We did not have a fridge or a kettle like all the other rooms seemed to have. I really think that spending a little money on updating the rooms a little would make the accommodation much more pleasant. Some of the bed sheets had small holes in them and they were not changed at all during our 11 night stay. The rooms were kept clean and tidy but getting towels changed proved a bit of a challenge. The notice said to put them on the floor if you required a change, but they almost always ended up neatly folded back on the rail!!! I am not one for asking them to be changed every day, but I do think they could have been changed more regularly. We eventually had a couple of new towels towards the end of our holiday. Other than this, the room was clean.
Breakfast: We enjoyed our breakfast, the breakfast room is lovely and clean and bright. It is a simple breakfast but plenty of it - rolls, jams, eggs, yoghurt, meat, cheese, cereal etc and plenty of tea and coffee. The apple and milky way for a packed lunch was great, you just had to make up whatever rolls you wanted.
Overall: I was disappointed with the room and more importantly the view (or lack of it!!) .... I was not expecting the Ritz and would stay here again ...if the price was right .... however looking for the same holiday next year it has increased in price by £1000, so I would be unlikely to pay that price as could stay at the 4 star Berghof for £400 more. Our meals at the Strass in the evening were FANTASTIC, as were the swimming facilities that we were able to use.

The guesthouse lacks a few touches that could make it amazing, generally there is no one about to ask if you have any queries, and when you do ask Gunther, he seems unhappy that you have bothered him !!

Room Tip: rooms at the back are cooler and fantastic if you like to look at trees !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booked through a travel agent and went with my mum, already thinking of bringing some friends back and this is a wonderful guesthouse to stay in! It's quiet with a lovely view of surrounding forests and mountains, yet less than a five minute walk into the centre of the town where there is a hive of activities. Plenty of mountain walks, close to the cable cars, and lots of other sporting activities. Used the train a lot running through the valley...got a 7 day ticket on the train for €34 which includes unlimited travel on trains and buses up and down the valley, up to the Hintertux (well worth a visit) and to Achensee (another must see)!! Worth it if you want to do sight-seeing in neighbouring villages and towns as opposed to going up the mountains in cable cars.

In regards to the guesthouse, breakfast was simple but there was plenty of it. We were half-board and our evening meals were in Cafe Tirol, in town...three courses, massive portions and sooo delicious! We went in what seemed to be the hottest weather they've had yet 42 degrees!! - a lack of air conditioning meant the rooms were stuffy all day and night, lots of insects flapping about if the windows were left open. However we were informed that they don't have summers that are that hot normally! We had use of the pool in the local hotel, jacuzzi, with a view of the sunset in the mountains - delightful!

Mayrhofen is wonderful, with a plethora of things to do for people of all ages with different interests! Cannot wait to go back, and would certainly recommend this guesthouse!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor in the eaves, looking out onto the forest...not much sun there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TiffanyRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Very quiet location well away from the church bells and town bustle only a v short walk to the Penken & Ahorn lifts. Clean, light & spacious room, older style decor but perfectly adequate with amazing views up the valley. Breakfast is a little limited, continental style food but cheerfully overseen by Gunter the owner who is always on hand with helpful advice if needed.

If on a package deal food at the Sport Hotel is excellant, they have several restaurants and we nly had access to the Pavilion restaurant but the food and service is 5 star. Facilities at this hotel are also very good.

Loads to do in Mayerhofen, weather was very hot for us - up to 37C, so we spent most of the time in the mountains. Definately recommend buying the Ziller activity card E55 (can pay by card) from the lift stations gives unlimited bus use and a single up/down lift trip each day plus other local discounts. Also take a trip up to the Hintertux Glacier - you have to pay for the upper lift stations and to go in the Glacier itself but well worth it - beware it was 0C on the top with a strong wind - people who went up in shorts & T shirts didn,t stay long!! We walked down the access road from the third lift to first station descending through the snow line and watching all the spring flowers in increasing stages of bloom before getting back into the heat. Views are incredible and loads of marmots as well.

Other good walks are across the ridges from Penken and Ahorn lifts or take the bus and walk across the italian border - all are well signposted with good paths marked by the Austrian flag painted on rocks. Beware if you take a lift up and try to walk all the way back to the valley - its a very long and tiring way down.

Room Tip: We picked the 2 + 2 option for the same price and got a room with kitchenette and lounge area, or as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here twice now, first time through a travel agent, second time we booked direct, very reasonable rates. Lovely rooms with nice balcony, basic breakfast but you can make yourself a small packed lunch as they leave each person a bag with an apple and milky way, evening meal was superb at the sister hotel a few minutes walk away. Do yourself a favour, book your flight seperately and get a couple of trains to Mayrhofen, the second one is a narrow guage train which takes you through the valleys between the mountains, it was great. Cant wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank V8Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We fond this place for a jolly boys' week of skiing in this lovely resort, but it would be good for small forums and couples and families seem well serviced. We took the half board option, which is really good value. Breakfast in the hotel and supper in a big local hotel, where the meals are sumptuous. Rooms are comfortable, warm and have the feel of the country. Set well away from the madness of the night life, so it is quiet, it is only five mins from the main cable car.

I will be back and I will bring my family. The place is run by Gunther, a character in his own right for whom nothing seems difficult to sort. A mine of information and a really nice guy.

Mayrhofen is great; he and his hotel make it even greater.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Visited this hotel for a week during april during the 'snowbombing' festival , and found the service and welcome fantastic, food was of a high standard and well above the norm. Great facilites and perfect location. woould definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JUNe11232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Waldheim
Hotel Waldheim
#12 of 38 in Mayrhofen
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Edenlehen
Hotel Edenlehen
#5 of 38 in Mayrhofen
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#17 of 38 in Mayrhofen
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof
Jaegerhof
#14 of 38 in Mayrhofen
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Roscher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Roscher

Address: Zillergrundweg 568, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range: £108 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhaus Roscher 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Landhaus Roscher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhaus Roscher Mayrhofen
Landhaus Roscher Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing