We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a short stay”
Review of Landhaus Roscher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landhaus Roscher
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short stay”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just returned from a one night stay here as I was in the area for business.

This hotel is perfect!

Location wise - it's far enough out of the centre of Mayrhofen to avoid the noise of bars and traffic, but also close enough if you want to head out - roughly a 5-10 minute walk will get you to the centre of town.

Rooms are nicely decorated austrian twin beds, large bathroom. I had a ground floor room, and even though the main door was next to my room, you never heard a thing.

Breakfast is your traditional continental, will cereal, juice, coffee, selection of fresh bread, meats and cheeses.

Would not hesitate on booking this accommodation again.

Room Tip: Room 3 very large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Uk1988Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel was in the perfect location, 2 minute walk to the Penken Gondola (down a slight hill).
The hotel was clean, well maintained and the cleaner visited each day.
The German guy that runs it (i forget his name) is always on hand if you need anything.
Wifi is free and available, but you may need to sit reception to pick it up.
Breakfast was basic continental, but fine.
My family were staying in the more expensive sister hotel, The Strass 2 mins away, I have to say, their rooms were no better than ours! So don't be fooled that the Strass/Strass Sport is any better. We had halfboard so ate in the Strass anyhow.
Loved my time in Mayrhofen, Apres ski was amazing, Bruck 'n' Stradl just up from the Strass was brilliant fun, Ice bar in Strass was great too, but this was loud and party time :)
I would stay in this hotel again in a flash if I went back to Mayrhofen.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunsetparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here back in June. We booked last minute with Inghams and from what I can work out I think pretty much everyone staying there was also staying on a last minute deal.

As a last minute deal the Landhaus Rocher was very good value. The place is a little tired looking and the decor is dated. But having said that it is spotlessly clean, nothing was broken, the beds were comfortable, there was plenty of hot water and a good shower and Gunter provides a warm welcome.

At the time of booking there was a 2(+2) room available at the same price as the twin room and so we booked this and were really pleased to discover that this meant we not only had an ensuite bedroom we also had a separate lounge and dining area with a small kitchenette with fridge - brilliant. There is a fabulous large covered balcony with beautiful flower boxes.

Breakfast is I agree a little limited but there was plenty of it. Muesli, yoghurt, bread rolls, sliced breads, boiled eggs, ham and cheese. You are also given a bag, an apple and a milkyway bar so that you can make up a packed lunch from the breakfast materials.

For dinner we went down to the Sport Hotel. Landhaus guests are in the conservatory area which is obviously the ski-party area in the winter. It's not flash but you get the same menu as the main hotel guests and it was really good quality food - a real highlight! It's about a five minute walk from the Landhaus which was actually a really nice stroll. However I could see that if the weather had been bad that would have been a bit of a drag...

All in all at a reduced price this was a great value place to stay. I'm not sure I would have wanted to pay the full price though.

Room Tip: Pick the 2(+2) rooms for extra space. We were in 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This eccentric guest house is amusing and fun. The room we had looked out into the pine woods and was of comfortable size, the balcony could do with being renovated. This guest house is not suitable for the infirm as there is a delightful walk to the much bigger hotel for delicious evening meals down in Mayrhofen. It is ideal location for hiking, and if you get the reasonable priced Zillertal card (which give you free lift, bus and train passes) There are two lifts in Mayrhofen itself and fantastic walks in all directions. Breakfasts are good and you pack your own pack lunch. We have stayed in more expensive accommodation in Austria but we will be returning here and not just because of the price

Room Tip: Balconies in the front of the hotel have better views and get the sun those at the back face the pin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mostly_b9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked the holiday through Crystal and opted for half board. This was definitely good value and is recommended. Breakfast was basic but expected in Austria and the evening meals at Cafe Tirol were excellent. We had a choice every evening of a meat or vegetarian meal plus visits to a well stocked salad bar. They were also very accommodating when I asked to choose something off the normal menu and was very pleasantly surprised when I did not have to pay any extra.
The accommodation was super clean but the decor is so dated its actually now back in fashion!! I agree with previous reviews with the disappointment of the bed sheets - the had many holes, some darned, and were not changed within the week. However we did receive clean towels on a daily basis. The room had a fridge which added to the 'heat' of the room - which was not too helpful when Mayrhofen was experiencing some very hot weather!
Mayrhofen itself was excellent and our highlight was definitely meeting Peter Habeler at the top of Ahornspitze.
We would definitely return to Mayrhofen and Landhaus Roscher.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Recently stayed at the Landhaus Roscher and had an amazing holiday in Mayrhofen.
Location of the Landhaus: Lovely, quiet location right by the forest, and ideal for both the Penken and Ahorn Lifts (5 mins walk to Penken and 7-8 mins to Ahorn). We ate our meals in the Strass which was a 5 minute walk away (slightly uphill on the return journey). Outdoor swimming pool is a short distance approx. 4-5 minute walk).
Guesthouse: We were in a family room which consisted of two bedrooms, which was great as we were expecting to be all in one room, however the bathroom was very tired and in need of updating, it had a hand held shower, and a shower curtain that fell down every single time you tried to touch or move it. The bedrooms were tired looking, and very dark (we were on ground floor level at the rear overlooking the forest). We did not have a fridge or a kettle like all the other rooms seemed to have. I really think that spending a little money on updating the rooms a little would make the accommodation much more pleasant. Some of the bed sheets had small holes in them and they were not changed at all during our 11 night stay. The rooms were kept clean and tidy but getting towels changed proved a bit of a challenge. The notice said to put them on the floor if you required a change, but they almost always ended up neatly folded back on the rail!!! I am not one for asking them to be changed every day, but I do think they could have been changed more regularly. We eventually had a couple of new towels towards the end of our holiday. Other than this, the room was clean.
Breakfast: We enjoyed our breakfast, the breakfast room is lovely and clean and bright. It is a simple breakfast but plenty of it - rolls, jams, eggs, yoghurt, meat, cheese, cereal etc and plenty of tea and coffee. The apple and milky way for a packed lunch was great, you just had to make up whatever rolls you wanted.
Overall: I was disappointed with the room and more importantly the view (or lack of it!!) .... I was not expecting the Ritz and would stay here again ...if the price was right .... however looking for the same holiday next year it has increased in price by £1000, so I would be unlikely to pay that price as could stay at the 4 star Berghof for £400 more. Our meals at the Strass in the evening were FANTASTIC, as were the swimming facilities that we were able to use.

The guesthouse lacks a few touches that could make it amazing, generally there is no one about to ask if you have any queries, and when you do ask Gunther, he seems unhappy that you have bothered him !!

Room Tip: rooms at the back are cooler and fantastic if you like to look at trees !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booked through a travel agent and went with my mum, already thinking of bringing some friends back and this is a wonderful guesthouse to stay in! It's quiet with a lovely view of surrounding forests and mountains, yet less than a five minute walk into the centre of the town where there is a hive of activities. Plenty of mountain walks, close to the cable cars, and lots of other sporting activities. Used the train a lot running through the valley...got a 7 day ticket on the train for €34 which includes unlimited travel on trains and buses up and down the valley, up to the Hintertux (well worth a visit) and to Achensee (another must see)!! Worth it if you want to do sight-seeing in neighbouring villages and towns as opposed to going up the mountains in cable cars.

In regards to the guesthouse, breakfast was simple but there was plenty of it. We were half-board and our evening meals were in Cafe Tirol, in town...three courses, massive portions and sooo delicious! We went in what seemed to be the hottest weather they've had yet 42 degrees!! - a lack of air conditioning meant the rooms were stuffy all day and night, lots of insects flapping about if the windows were left open. However we were informed that they don't have summers that are that hot normally! We had use of the pool in the local hotel, jacuzzi, with a view of the sunset in the mountains - delightful!

Mayrhofen is wonderful, with a plethora of things to do for people of all ages with different interests! Cannot wait to go back, and would certainly recommend this guesthouse!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor in the eaves, looking out onto the forest...not much sun there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffanyRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof
Jaegerhof
#15 of 38 in Mayrhofen
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Theresia
Hotel Maria Theresia
#35 of 38 in Mayrhofen
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl
Hotel Garni Glockenstuhl
#6 of 38 in Mayrhofen
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pramstraller
Pramstraller
#13 of 38 in Mayrhofen
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Roscher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Roscher

Property: Landhaus Roscher
Address: Zillergrundweg 568, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhaus Roscher 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Landhaus Roscher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhaus Roscher Mayrhofen
Landhaus Roscher Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing