We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pension Strolz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pension Strolz
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Kaunas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have just returned from holiday in Mayrhofen. We spent a one great week there. Strolz is very nice, warm, clean hotel with very kind staff and big dog inside who makes you smile every time:) Sometimes I felt like at home not at hotel. The biggest THANKS we would say to the restaurant, the dinner was incredible every evening. Sauna/ swimming pool area isvery beautiful and nook. I would recommend this hotel to my firends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fegda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    29
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 2nd-9th February 2013, and I have nothing but good things to say about our stay.

The hotel location is set back from the main centre, which we quite liked, but is only a leisurely 5 mins walk onto the main street through Mayrhofen (only 10 mins walk to the Penken lift). Although there is a ski-bus stop 100m from the front door if you'd prefer.

The hotel itself is very "traditionally Austrian", spacious, comfortable, and very clean. we loved the quirky decorations throughout the hotel, it feels like they've got a real 'family' feel to it.
We had a corner room on the 3rd floor, so it was very big and our balcony stretched all the way round the corner. There is plenty of wardrobe space for all your ski/snowboard clothes, jackets, etc, and space on top of the cupboard for storing your luggage. The bathroom was modern, and had all the amenities required.
Towels and linen were changed every day... the maid even folded our pyjamas ;-)
The ski room is located at the basement level and is accessed directly via a side door and stairwell, which is very handy. The ski room is MASSIVE, with loads of ski/board racks, and has heated boot storage with plenty of space for ALL guests boots.
The swimming pool, and spa area is based on the lower level too. The pool is huge and we found it great for unwinding after a day on the slopes, we even used it in the morning before going out on a couple of occasions when the weather wasn't great. Perhaps the pool could be heated a little bit more ... but that's a minor personal gripe and doesn't count as a negative ;-)

The restaurant was very nice, you are allocated a table at the start of your stay and it's yours for the week. We particularly like the time slots allocated for meals. Breakfast was served between 7.30am and 10am, and dinner was served between 6.30pm and 8pm. The flexibility of these times is great as it means you can easily squeeze in an extra 30 mins in bed, or an extra few apres drinks, without worrying about missing your meal!
The food was incredible! Each day there was a full choice of cooked breakfast, cereals, fruit, etc. There was a 4-course meal every evening, and we didn't have one bad course throughout the week. Seriously, this is really really good food! We were a wee bit concerned initially that we would struggle to finish 4-courses every night, but we needn't have worried!
All of the staff were extremely friendly and very very helpful, and always had a smile and time for a chat.

All in all, a great stay. I'd HIGHLY recommend this hotel and we are already planning our trip for next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidMacfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I have just returned from a week at The Strolz Hotel in Mayrhofen.
we booked quite last minute, and because we got a good deal.
our expectations, were not particularly huge, but what a lovely surprise.
a typical Austrian hotel, the decor inside was old fashioned and busy but full of Austrian charm, very warm, clean, and as we found through out the week, very friendly.
Our room on the 3rd floor, had a huge balcony on two sides, the rooms although dark, and possibly a little dated, were immaculate, the beds comfortable and all very clean, as was the bathroom.
The staff at dinner, were charming, smiley and very patient when constantly asked by one of the 6 of us, for another drink etc etc.
Meals as others have written were superb.
Breakfast was a laid-back great experience, help yourself buffet, hot and cold, and much more choice than I would have expected.
We were assigned our table on day one, and had the same one every day which was great.
Evening meal of 4 courses was excellent, far far better than I would have believed, great taste, great presentation, and flair. All 6 of us were very satisfied every evening.
Additional wines, beer tea coffee etc in the hotel was very reasonable.
The boot room under the hotel was one the the best I have ever experiences, large, warm, heated boot racks, great.
although we took our swimwear, we didn't have time, but the pool, sauna (beware Brits nude), jacuzzi area etc, were very clean, larger than I thought it would be.
Also if with youngsters, a pool table, tabletop cootie, giant connect 4
All in all a great experience.
my uncle and aunt paid a little less than us and opted to stay in the hotel annex, that is 3 building downs, their room was on the 3rd floor, and as good as ours with large balcony, but you had to walk to the hotel for meals, boot room etc, and didn't have a lift, so they had to walk 5 flights of stairs, but I think their inconvenience was represented in the price.
would be stay here again, yes definitely, would like to stay in summer to appreciated Mayrhofen then as well.
A big thank you to the staff at Strolz for their friendly helpful cheery manner, and to all the staff we didn't see in the kitchen, that produced great mea

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Devonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

just come back from a fabulous skiing/boarding trip in mayrhofen... stayed at the strolz... could not fault the hotel at all... clean, friendly, great pool and sauna area, secure ski room and the food in the restaurant was excellent, especially the soup that was served every night, a different type but equally as tasty...
we got a late deal through inghams and would definately consider returning to this hotel again, we had fabulous snow conditions all week, we were well fed and watered, the hotel was lovely and warm, rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels... we also got engaged up the ahorn which added to the holiday, but i cant recommend this hotel enough... thanks to everyone there...
excellent...

Room Tip: we were on the 1st floor, lovely and quiet couldnt here anyone else in hotel and your set back from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emsyemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

A late booking made with a package that turned out to be great value - helped by a week of beautiful weather. Picked on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews, we were not disappointed - slightly old fashioned, but comfortable, clean and well run by the resident family owners. More German/Austrian guests than English, and many of them regulars, a good sign. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre, and there are bikes to loan (free). Would be happy to return

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Northerner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday here and the hotel is beautiful, clean and well maintained. We had a very nice room, although a little dated, particularly the bathroom, but it was spacious and had a wonderful balcony with stunning views. Very nice pool and sauna etc., lovely gardens as well. The hotel staff in the dining room, especially Marco were fantastic and very eager to please, he really made our stay! At breakfast there was a choice of bland cereal, sour yoghurt,meat,cheese and eggs, but no fresh fruit at all and no nuts or dried fruits. Free packed lunch each day, although it was always the same, 1 cheese roll, 1 ham roll, 1 egg, 1 apple and a Knoppers biscuit. Some evenings there was lots of shouting and plate crashing which we wlaughed at as it sounded like Faulty Towers! Overall though we found the food a bit disappointing, especially the evening meal, the chef obviously had some strange ideas - a slice of green pepper filled with lentils didn't appeal as a first course, the soup was either consomme or bread and egg soup, although 1 night we had a very nice cream of mushroom, but no bread roll with it! The main courses were strangely disappointing too and we have always had wonderful food in Austria so I suppose it wasa bit of a let down. I realise that everyone's ideas of good food are different, but we felt that there was a bit of penny pinching going on with it all. We also didn't find Hans, the manager very customer friendly, although the reception lady was ok and very helpful. We used the free bikes to cycle down to Zell am Ziller and then put the bikes on the train to go back to Mayrhofen, super! There's lots to do in and around this resort, fabulous cable cars with spectacular mountain vista's, ensure you purchase the Zillertal active card as it's great value for money to use on the cable cars, trains & buses.

Room Tip: Corner sunny rooms with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SANDRA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just enjoyed a brilliant week, spring skiing, at this lovely hotel. A real family run establishment, it had everything we needed. The 4 course meals were delicious, varied and beautifully presented by the friendliest and most efficient team that you could wish for. It was a pleasure to stay there and meet Hans,his family and his great team of staff (not to mention Santo the camera shy dog). Excellent facilities when you don't want to ski - swimming pool, solarium, hydro massage, sauna etc. Heated boot racks in the ski room and all situated in a stunning part of the valley. Close enough to walk into the town (10-15 mins) or get the ski bus (just a few hundred metres from the hotel). We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.4 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Mayrhofen
Elisabeth Hotel Mayrhofen
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rose
Rose
#13 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#6 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Strolz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Strolz

Property: Hotel Pension Strolz
Address: Durst 279, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Strolz 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pension Strolz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strolz Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing