We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pension Strolz
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A perfect location for walking skiing or to relax. Great facilities and wonderful food. Good with children and ideal for a family holiday. A good swimming pool and sauna plus steam room area. Quiet lounge and study room. Good waiter service throughout the stay. A family run hotel with three generations of history.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve3448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked the Strolz through a package with Crystal. We had a room in the annexe. This is located about 80 m (three buildings away from the main hotel where all amenities were located). So remember to take some outdoor shoes that can be worn for breakfast and dinner.

The hotel was mixed clientele - some young and some old- some families and some couples. The hotel is traditional Austrian and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. The ski bus stop was about 100 m away and the A1 and A2 buses came aboutevery 15 mins. The walk to the ski lift was about 15 mins - too far really for carrying ski equipment every day - so we rented space at the crystal office (30 euros for two sets for the week) which is right next to the penkenbahn lift so was really convenient.

The hotel meal times were from 7 to 10 for a good and varied buffet breakfast and 6.30 to 8 for evening meal. The choice of main course was required to be made at breakfast. A four course meal every night was great (no choice of starter, soup nor sweet). The food was outstanding - traditional Austrian fare which might not be to everyone's taste - but we had veal, pork, beef, goose, duck in a variety of ways. Always enough to eat - and drinks were bought to the table and an itemised bill provided in the morning.

The room we had was for 3 - a comfortable double bed and a separate room with sofa bed. There were two balconies and had great views of the valley. The only down side was the size of the bathroom which was tiny.

We paid 20 euros for a week of internet access - which once we complained about the reception in the annexe - was usable by one device at a time.

The pool area was lovely and the water was really warm. We did not use the sauna but looked nice and clean.

Overall - if you want to sample some fantastic and traditional local food the stay at the strolz - but if you are a traditional English eater and want Brit food - then stay away as you might struggle with the dinners!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank safetyman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic fortnight's stay in the Strolz back in August. It's in a super quiet location just a few minute's walk off the main road. Had a great view down the valley from my lovely single room. The room itself was great, spotless for the duration and the bed was super comfy!

All staff were friendly and helpful, with the male waiter being particularly chatty (even had a discussion about Scottish independence!). While the food was tasty and filling, we felt we were perhaps a little bit rushed in the evening, all the portions need time to settle...

We would definitely consider going back to the Strolz. It was our first time in Mayrhofen and we absolutely loved it. You cannot run out of things to do here :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelPineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a brilliant holiday in June with Inghams Holidays. Hotel is in a quiet area away from main streets. Food was excellent and great that we could pack our own lunch, staff really friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the front I would suggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjcat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We went on a family skiing holiday over the New Year in Mayrhofen and had a superb stay at the Strolz. The food is excellent - the meal in the evening real does make this place stand out from anywhere else I have stayed in Austria - delicious, great portions and beautifully presented. The spa facilities are impressive, the perfect place to unwind after a day on the slopes and the staff are great - friendly, helpful and informative. In fact we were so impressed that we are returning again next season!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank asbestas33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I spent 6 days here with my partner for the recent Snowbombing festival. I cannot fault the staff, they were polite, courteous and we felt welcome. The breakfast was also great (scrambled egg, bacon, boiled eggs - still runny!, cheese, ham, juices, breads, toaster, cereals... and more!). The only criticism I had was that when we arrived we were told we had been moved to make room for a family to the room we were going to stay in. This room was in a separate room just across the way from the main hotel (about 20sec walk), where you had to go for breakfast each morning. The room we had was two single beds at opposite ends of the room (attached to the walls), which wasn't exactly ideal for us. I am aware that there are lots of Austrian twins (two single beds which are together), which would have been fine. The room was quite dated, and my bedding smelt a bit musty. However these weren't massive issues! We did have a balcony which looked out on the mountain which was lovely.

In all, it wasn't a terrible stay, but it wasn't amazing either. I do appreciate that it must be a big ask for the Snowbombing/BeOutgoing team to organise 3000 people into the hotels in and around Mayrhofen. Even though I gave it only 3 stars, I would recommend it, as I'm sure it's a very different experience outside of snowbombing.

Not a far walk to the main town, A little walk up to the Penken, and even further to Ahorn. But with depots in and around the lifts, you dont have to lug all your gear around. The hotel also has a boot room (unsecure) which was useful.

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony room if you can! And I would say the main part of the hotel looks nicer (from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have just returned from holiday in Mayrhofen. We spent a one great week there. Strolz is very nice, warm, clean hotel with very kind staff and big dog inside who makes you smile every time:) Sometimes I felt like at home not at hotel. The biggest THANKS we would say to the restaurant, the dinner was incredible every evening. Sauna/ swimming pool area isvery beautiful and nook. I would recommend this hotel to my firends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fegda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 39 in Mayrhofen
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#8 of 39 in Mayrhofen
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Obermair
Hotel Garni Obermair
#23 of 39 in Mayrhofen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Berghof
Berghof
#13 of 39 in Mayrhofen
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose
Rose
#14 of 39 in Mayrhofen
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Eckartauerhof
Hotel Eckartauerhof
#22 of 39 in Mayrhofen
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Strolz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Strolz

Address: Durst 279, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range: £78 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Strolz 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pension Strolz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strolz Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing