We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetent UNfriendly hotelowner”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Austria
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The hotel is not verry wel located (not next to slopes of lift), but there are ski busses every 20 min.
Nice renovated Welness but depending on the mood of the owner (or the face of the client), it is accessible or not...
Try to avoid the rooms nr 100, 200 and 300 because they're located just nex to the elevator shaft, and have POOR acoustics.
And try to avoid mentioning it to the owner or you will get insulted...
Also, when you stay there in group (with an organisation or so): you will be treated as a second degree guest.
Big disadvantage: hotel has NO visa, or Maestro facilities...

Positive: food is not too bad, some of the staff are friendly, goof ski-locker room and rooms are clean.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

The holiday was a last minute ski booking with Neilson & arriving at the Hotel booking into our room was swift, the staff in the restaurant were very efficient & friendly.
The room was well laid out & we were lucky to have a room with a balcony facing south which despite being in March allowed the sun to shine on it most of the day which was wonderful. The bathroom was spotlessly clean & tidy with a shower which had plenty of hot water at all times of the day.
The location of the Hotel was in between both (Hinterglemm 10min walk & Saalbach 15min walk) which both my wife & myself did not mind. If your not a person who likes traveling on foot & held a valid lift pass there was a free bus service in either direction every 20 minutes or so from 9am to 5pm with a bus stop on both side of the road directly outside the Hotel.
The bar area in the basement had a warm & friendly atmosphere typical of hotel bars in Austria but if this is not your cup of tea, it was either walk or pay for a taxi or local bus to get into Saalbach or Hinterglemm for other bars & clubs.
The best thing we thought about the hotel was that it was out of any town centre, was very clean & tidy & the evening meals were plentiful, excellent food & each night a themed menu based on different countries & local fare with the staff dressed to suit the particular theme.
The down side was the room (in March) was a little bit too warm & if the window was opened to cool down, the traffic could be heard on the road outside.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Just got back from visiting Saalbach and hinterglemm. We stayed at Hotel Austria which was difficult to find on the maps. Basically go to the piste map and find bus stop 13 linzerhaus [I think its 13]. It's just outside Hinterglemm on the Saalbach side. We [my gf, her brother, brothers girlfriend and myself] had the half board. This was a breakfast buffet in the morning, and themed buffet in the evening [each night had different theme.....italian, american, balkan,snitzel, asia....... to name but a few.] Food was well cooked and very tasty. However local restaurant were also very good too. It's a short 15 min walk to Hinterglemm. Saalbach is about 15Euro taxi ride. BUT if you're skiing they are all inter-connected with the ski circus ski slopes. The snowboarding was fantastic for someone who likes blue and red runs. Red run 32 is ideal for your first red run. The bus service to the hotel is good..... however you do pay for the post bus after a certain time. Probably worth getting your own beer in from hinterglemm, especially due to the euro to pound exchange rate. However you can't complain too much to be fair. France was a lot more expensive last year.
Great little hotel, the sauna and steam room are naked so be warned. But they are very nice, very helpful, if you ask for things they are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wingsteroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Me and about 40 others went skiing in at the end of season last April for 10 nights. The hotel was really good could not fault it one bit!
really good bus link which if free if you buy a skii pass. I dont no how anybody can fault the food to be honest it was well cooked really nice tasting differant food the crap we get over here like sausage and chips everynight!! The bar downstairs isnt to badly priced and a bit cheaper than to say if you went out although coke and lemonade and vodka is very expensive!! stick to pints!!.

All the staff were very friendly and our rooms were basic but comfortable but you arnt really in them that much anyway! unfortunatly for me i got injured on the 2nd day out of the 10 so couldnt skii and had to walk around on crutches but the staff helped me as much as they possibly could and was very greatful for that, so just nights out and sunbathing for me! The weather was really hot when we went around 28 degrees so i recommend a lot of suncream especially when ur at the top of the moutain and glasses not goggles cause they get so hot! and long sleeved thin tops so you wont have to wear your jacket because you sweat like nobodys business.

Thankfully our teachers were not really strict on us and we were allowed out on the night and have a drink and the nightlife is really good especially for a skii resort and is really close to the hotel.

Our school have booked for next year at the same hotel and ive already paid being as it was my last year and injured last time and the fact i had a fantastic holiday weather you skii or not! x

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaaarlottee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Myself and my husband on a coach tour have just returned after a week staying at Hotel Austria. Room was acceptable, although it wasnt cleaned on a daily basis in fact I dont anything except the beds being made was done. Luckily I take my own towels, their Towels were not very nice, not big enough and very hard and a dark green colour - urgh - they said they changed them every Tuesday and Thursday but I dont think they did. We used the little rubbish bin in the room on the first night, just some sweet papers, the bin was taken out of the room after that and we never got it back, obviously didnt like lthe extra work!!! Hotel Manager okay, he greeted us but he could do with some PR lessons, his wife wasnt very friendly and she would walk past you and not acknowledge you.
Very nice clean dining area and breakfast choice was usual for that area and more than adequate. Evening meals were a set four course, salad, soup, main course and sweet. Our tour had free drink of our choice each evening with meal which was a nice gesture. After saying all this I would definately go back because it is in such a beautiful area but I would next time ask for a room at the front with a balcony, if you are at the back you dont have balcony and you are facing onto the swimming pool which can be quite noisy at times, but on the whole it was a nice hotel to stay at. The staff who work there are really nice and helpful and all speak great English

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank october1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Stayed in this hotel in March, near the end of the season. Resort itself was quiet and the hotel only had guests that we travelled out from England with. Reasonably quck transfer from Salzburg. Rooms were basic but comfortable, with everything you need and a balcony. Bath would have been nice to ease the aching limbs at the end of the day but the shower was good.
Food was limited n choice but nevertheless was all very good, plentiful and well cooked. Service was quick.
The bus service was quick, but I agree with Ali, it was a little erratic and you could end up waiting up to 20 minutes (not helpful if you have a lesson booked). Hinterglem is within easy walking distance if you are wearing shoes but a bit of effort required in ski boots. Saalbach is about 30 walk, very pretty with more nightlife.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Just got back after one week skiing in Hinterglemm and stayed at the Hotel Austria (it is closer to Hinterglemm than Saalbach). The room we had was excellent although there was no bath which was a shock at first but really good shower so no problem. The staff were very friendly and for a three star hotel the food was very good, Yatz the barman was a star and made our stay even more enjoyable with his good taste in music, he even loaned our 13 year old son his guitar one evening!!!. The ski bus does stop outside the hotel but the timing is a bit hit and miss and service stops at 5pm. If you're a beginner our best tip is to stay on the bus until the other end of the tunnel at Hinterglemm and walk over to the nursery slopes and lesson meeting place (approx 3 mins), not the first stop. For skiers there are a couple of ski routes via T bar lifts into Hinterglemm one of which you can see from the hotel.
We went at the end of the season and the snow and weather were great, skiing brilliant with almost empty slopes, met lots of really nice people and had a fantastic holiday, will definately stay there again. Incidentally this is the only hotel we've stayed in where the owner comes onto the departure coach, takes the mike from the rep and says thank you and goodbye to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#9 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpenhotel Saalbach
Alpenhotel Saalbach
#53 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpine Palace
Hotel Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Interstar Hotel
Interstar Hotel
#16 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Nr 330, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range: £105 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing