We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Value”
Review of Hotel Sonnblick

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Sonnblick
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is a 3 star hotel with an in-house restaurant for guests. The location is good just over the bridge from the village centre. It is in Hinterglemm, a village about 5 klm from Saalbach.

The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms newly refurbished. Most guests take the half pension option which gives you not only breakfast but a 4 course evening meal. The food was of good quality but predominantly in the hearty Austrian style. Drinks were reasonably priced (including the wine) and there is a bar downstairs to relax in.

A couple of issues though. Firstly, arriving mid June, both the foyer and stairs looked a bit grubby but I suspect it was just after the mountain bike week in Hinterglemm which was very wet. Secondly, parking is in the public parking area (free for guests) which could be a problem if the weather is inclement.

Otherwise a good choice and excellent value, especially as they give you the ‘Joker’ card which entitles you to free activity including the cable cars.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wintersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The accomodation is spotless and you are made to feel so welcome. The location is ideal and very central. The food is plentiful and beautifully cooked and presented. The only downside to our holiday is that we only booked for 1 week and wished we had booked for 2

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mabel_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here in March and as previous people have said it is well placed for the Gondola on the sunny side, it takes about 3 mins to get to it. It is near to the central crossroads so other lifts can be accessed. The hotel is great, it has a nice bar area and the restaurant has great views over the flood lit slopes.The food was always very good with loads to eat and plenty of choices for both breakfast and the evening meal. All the staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were well maintained on a daily basis, as a previous reviewer has said they do not bear any resembalance to the pictures on the hotel web site (maybe the top floor is kept for tour operator guests?).
All in all a great hotel which we would go back to if visiting Hinterglemm again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tofty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

A frend and I stayed here in mid Jan 2012. It is conveniently located near the cross roads in Hinterglemm and a very short walk to one of the main lift stations. Handy for apres ski, as the infamous Goastall is a mere 5 min slip slide up the piste (it's a must).

I have stayed in about 4 different hotels in Hinterglemm over the last 10 years, and on comparison this has been about average. A warm friendly welcome awaits and the hotel is very clean. Our room was small and bijou with a pretty good view of the hot tub of the Alpine Palace (one can dream). The food however was a little hit and miss at times, but the fish dishes I can highly recommend. You have to share your dinner table with other couples, didnt bother us but if you want to be alone, may be a problem for some. The staff were friendly and attentive. All in all a pretty good hotel which we hope to re book for next year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Northernninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here over Christmas (booked through Inghams) and overall we were very pleased with the hotel. The hotel itself has a lovely cosy bar and lounge area on the ground floor with the restaurant on the first floor - we have to say that the evening dinners were absolutely fantastic - we couldn't fault the food at all. Breakfast was also very good with ample choice - buffet style. If the hotel is full you will share a table for breakfast and dinner - we were very lucky and had another English couple who were fantastic company (so if you are reading this review - thanks again!) My only slight criticism is the timings for the restaurant: Breakfast is from 8am to 10am, but the lifts open at 8.30am so I would have preferred a slightly earlier breakfast, say from 7.30am. Also for dinner it is between 7pm and 7.30pm, again I would prefer a slightly later seating time - a very minor thing though! We were on the 3rd floor (top) and the room was rather small and in need of a refurbishment - it was not like any of the photos on the hotel's own website - I wonder if the top floor rooms are the package holiday makers? Having said that the room was clean and servicable / adequate as you are not in the room for too long. The hotel also has a ski / boot room on the ground floor which is easily accessed via the hotel and the boot rack is heated which is a nice touch! The staff are also very friendly. The hotel is in an excellent location - only 3 mins walk to the Reiterkogelbahn gondola from which you can ski the whole area (if anyone wants any further information on the skiing please contact me). Bars and restaurants in the town are also only 3 mins walk so very convenient. We did choose this hotel as it's fairly small and quiet but unfortunately there was a large group who were rather loud and noisy and a few times kept us awake through the night as they seemed to continue their party in their rooms and in the hallway - this was also slightly annoying, but we tried not to let it affect our overall review of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for the last week in August, the owner and staff were extremely friendly and polite.
We booked late so had a smallish room and no balcony, but we understood this when booking the holiday, the room was fine, spotlessly clean and well serviced during our stay.

The meals were excellent. Breakfast included muesli, fruits, eggs and bacon and a wide range of cold ham and cheeses (naturally) with a variety of breads. You made your own pack lunch and placed it in a pre-prepared bag containing fruit juice and biscuits.
Evening meal was a selection of 3 items including a vegetarian option. The specialised evening meals were enjoyable. We give hearty congratulations to the chef.

The hotel has a central location, 3 minutes walk to a gondola. The joker card giving free access to 4 lifts in the valley, together with free use of the half hourly public buses make Saalbach/Hinterglemm a very attractive proposition.
The large network of footpaths means that we will have to return and the Sonnblick is the place we will stay.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff_and_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We have spent 11 days at the Hotel sonnblick. It was fantastic. We didn't want to leave. The food was Excellent, the staff were really friendly, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The Garden is lovely sit out in on a sunny day. The bar is a great area to relax in at night. The area is beautiful. There are lots of cable cars to going up in and plenty of walks to do. There is a brilliant crazy golf course in Hinterglemm and a fantastic swimming pool in Saalbach. We got the Joker Cards which were brilliant. We got free access to many things such as the cable cars, the swimming pool, crazy golf and the buses. The only thing that let us down was the weather. If we were to come back to Hinterglemm again, which i hope we will, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the hotel sonnblick!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.2 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#15 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpine Palace
Hotel Alpine Palace
#9 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
375 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#10 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residenz Hochalm
Hotel Residenz Hochalm
#24 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#17 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unterschwarzachhof
Unterschwarzachhof
#30 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnblick

Address: Reiterkogelweg 141 | Hinterglemm, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range: £77 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonnblick 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Sonnblick Hotel Hinterglemm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing