We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpine Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is a fantastic hotel with first class service and a great location right next to the gondola. Food was excellent, buffett breakfast with great selection and 5 course evening meal with good service. Note if you are travelling with young children or you like to eat quick and move on then this may not be suitable for you. Our children are 14 and 12 and they really enjoyed the dining experience but I could imagine that a min 1.5hr evening dining experience is not for everyone.

Drinks are expensive but then that was expected anyway, great choice of wine again expensive with starting prices around 25E a bottle but you could have wine by the glass if you wanted or simply tap water.

We stayed in the old part of the hotel which was perfectly adequate although rooms were a little small. If you can afford to stay in the new wing then go for it as the rooms look truly magnificent. It can be a little noisy if you stay slopeside in the old wing as the rocking apres ski bar, the GoaBstall, is a 2 min walk away and revellers roll out of there late at night. With the rooms being hot we had to have the window open at night so we did get woken up a couple of nights.

The spa facilities are excellent and there is a fantastic outdoor hot tub and pool which overlooks the slopes and a lovely indoor area with a pool and relaxing area with heated beds. As for the skiing the snow conditions were great, lift system was very good but we did find the slopes reasonably busy but there wasn't too much of a wait. That may be different if you choose to visit during the half term weeks. We did not use the ski school so couldn't comment on that although from observation they looked very professional.

All in all a great hotel, a good skiing area if you want to cover distance and friendly hospitality from the Austrians once again!!

Room Tip: If you can afford the new wing than opt for that as the rooms look fantastic. Try to avoid a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel. Very luxury rooms, friendly staff, very good location in the center of the village, near the reiterkogellift. Exellent breakfast. We will return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annv992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely food, great location. Bar expensive like all hotels of this standard. Will return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdAuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We have spent 8 days in the new part of alpine palace having two rooms (big family of 5 persons). What can I say. Before we stayed in other hotels in Hinterglemm and this year wanted to try "the best one" in the area. What a mistake! Just imagine impressive design of the entrance with glass lift. But what in reality - constant need to wait for this lift up to ten minutes to get in. Plus this lift is used also by the personal that uses this lift to bring dirty dishes. About this dirty dishes. Once they stayed outside of the door for more than one day!!!!! About the food. Breakfast was excellent. But day time the was no even tee (they where giving something in the lobby), but after ski you expect like in all good 4 stars Austrian hotels tee with sweets. Here pay and get it. About evening meal. Believe me in Theresia hotel which is four star hotel the food was much better. One day alpine had buffer. This time food was just not eatable. You could see people trying and spinning Alpin`s high cuisine sushi. We also stayed in Adler hotel once. Which had buffers (actually we don’t like this type of serving food). But after bad experience in alpine we realized what great buffers we had their. Actually the problem of this hotel as i see it is the desire to get maximum profit from everything. They economize even on the shampoo. Shame.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Just returned from New Year ski holiday. Family of four with two children aged 2.5 & 10. Having seen the reviews before we left my only worry was the room. We had booked with Crystal. They had erroneously booked us into two small, separate rooms (not connectIng) in the old part of the hotel. My complaints to Crystal pre trip left me unhappy as they indicated the rooms were indeed unsuitable for children aged 2&10 & we could only cancel. Having spoken directly to the hotel (Mr Brown- wonderful reservations manager) we were told he would move us to the suite in the old wing. Not knowing what to expect, we accepted that.

On arrival to a wonderful snowy small town we were dropped at the bottom of some steep steps (no porters to help is not a good start). Bags moved up two at a time, buggy, kids etc we then met the service desk who initially seemed a little fazed by English guests but ultimately came good. We were offered a seat & champagne. The check in was painless. We had a room waiting in the new wing! A suite! It was unbelievable. We had been upgraded to one of the best rooms in the hotel, overlooking the main run & the town. The rooms were enormous. The bath/jacuzzi was amazing etc etc. Mr Brown had upgraded us because of the hassle with Crystal. We had two great nights in the room including a fantastic view of the fireworks on New Years Eve..then.....sadly, we were move to the old hotel suite. It was like something out of a 50's time warp. Curtains didn't fit the windows. The bath was a brown type colour and it was old. It was a deeply unhappy experience being downgraded. For the money we had spent, it felt as though we had been had. That said, the food was exquisite. Best we have tasted in Austria. The restaurant & staff were great. However, it was very expensive. Sparkling water at €6.50 a bottle. A single brandy €8. Wine averages at about €45-50 per bottle. Needlessly OTT.

The hotel facilities are generally very good. The kids area is good although it doesn't really cater for younger children. We were told the hotel could provide a baby sitter for our youngest. The pool (in/out) was very nice and unusually warm (a must that some hotels miss). The bar areas, library etc are all very nicely done. Free wi fi in most areas (not rooms) was useful. The ski rooms are great with lockers that actually lock and are heated over night. Warm, dry boots and gloves was very nice in the mornings. The hotel sits right next to one of the main lifts. The ski school is no more than 100 metres to the lift up to the bottom slope. All very handy. The night skiing is superb. Brilliant lit slopes which are open till late (9.30 ish).

Check out was fine. No nasty surprises on the bill.

All in all, a great trip let down by the quality of the room in the old part of the hotel and overly expensive. If the hotel get round to upgrading the basic rooms and turning them into something like the rooms in the newer part, they will have succeded in producing a top quality 5 star hotel. At present it's a 5 star in part and 2 star in the basic rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mccarthymrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Design of this hotel is something what makes this hotel very specific as austrian hotels are usually more traditional and do not experiment with design. Modern and old in perfect symbiosis, sense for detail and good ideas.
Rooms - spacious, pleasant, comfortable "wow" beds - difficult to wake up - nice furniture, beautiful and very spacious bathroom, lots of "small surprises" - I really enjoyed my room.
Breakfast - great, also very good selection of teas and very good coffee (when you make it yourself from the coffee machine) Dinner - greetings to the chef... really great!
Spa - nice, the swimming pool is quite small, but its OK.
Staff and service - ok, though in austrian hotels I am used to a little bit warmer atmosphere. :) But still - THANKS to everybody.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alen214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

It all starts when arriving in the hotel. You're welcomed with a glass of champaign while someone unloads your car. The rooms in the new part of the hotel (5*) are very spacious and a mixture of modern & classic style. The food is suberb, as if your dining in a Michelin star restaurant each day. The spa area is also very nice. We would certainly to go back in the near future to this 'dream hotel'

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreParet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.1 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#15 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#10 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpin Juwel
Alpin Juwel
#8 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#1 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
412 reviews
1.4 mi away
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#4 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Designhotel WIESERGUT
Designhotel WIESERGUT
#19 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpine Palace

Address: Reiterkogelweg 169, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range: £212 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpine Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel royal, enjoy Lässig! Tradition meets modernity at the 5*S sports, wellness and gourmet hotel in the heart of the ski- & hiking circus Saalbach Hinterglemm. 2000m² Alpine Spa, 470m² event area, helicopter scenic flights, wood workshops, private Wolf’s hut. Free wi-fi; incl. JokerCard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Palace Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing