We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Central
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Alpinresort Sport & Spa(Saalbach-Hinterglemm)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhotel Saalbach(Saalbach-Hinterglemm)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Unterwirt(Saalbach-Hinterglemm)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Konig(Saalbach-Hinterglemm)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Berger's Sporthotel(Saalbach-Hinterglemm)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saalbacher Hof(Saalbach-Hinterglemm)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Post(Saalbach-Hinterglemm)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kohlmais(Saalbach-Hinterglemm)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bauer(Saalbach-Hinterglemm)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kristall Hotel(Saalbach-Hinterglemm)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
6
15
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
15
9
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We opted for a low cost hotel knowing it would be basic, probably didn't quite think it through. Reviews are correct, it's clean, tidy, and good for those who literally want somewhere to hang up their boots and lay their heads.
A few things to note that made our stay a bit less pleasant than it might have been, plus some things it would be helpful if they put on their website...
1. There is no communal area to sit, so for those in groups, should the slopes be closed you'll be at the mercy of the local bars
2. WiFi does exist in the hotel, but is intermittent and only worked for 2 days of our 7
3. A room on the second floor does not mean you can't hear the live music in the bar, which goes on til 12.30am
4. There are no hair dryers
5. Reception is not manned, so if there's anything wrong, tell the lady at breakfast as you won't see anyone else all day, and that includes the reps
6. It seems not a night goes by without someone vomiting on their way up the stairs from the bar, so the mix of bleach, soap and vomit in the morning is quite overpowering
7. Breakfast is fine, if basic, but only full fat milk is on offer and all cups and glasses are miniscule

I guess I'm saying this may work for some, but others will find it painful to be overlooking those in the next hotel in their private outdoor jacuzzi whilst staying here!

Btw manager please fix your safes! One of our party couldn't get theirs open and we couldn't persuade ours to lock! If going for no frills, make sure the facilities you do have, work!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Kerryad876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Location:
Pros: Not far from Bubble lift. Near Taxi park. Opposite Hotel Centraal is "Hansi's Ski hire" AKA SKISET where we hired our equipment from and were given schnaps as part of chosing to rent skis with them.
Cons: Hotel Centraal is NOT "central". Two floors below was "Under bar" yet we could hear the same music being played every night through the walls.

Room
Pros: Very clean. Comfortable beds (I am 1.95m tall so my feet stuck out a bit but not too bad). Beds were folded every day. TV with lots of German or German dubbed channels. Always warm. Plenty of Cupboard space for belongings and a safe (which we didn't use). Towels were provided. Bathroom was clean. Small Shower- if you are "large" you may have difficulty getting in. Overall it was quite cosy.
Cons: SHOWER WAS FREQUENTLY COLD and would have to wait up to two hours before it was acceptable. Curtains let in a lot of light- thus if you are a light sleeper, bring a night mask.

Breakfast
Pros: Muesli, cocopops, corn flakes, jam, chocolate spread, paté, yoghurt, orange juice, milk, Coffee/Tea/hot chocolate machine, white bread, breadrolls.
Cons: Breadrolls ran out regularly. No hot breakfast. (3 star hotel? really?)

Ski/Snowboard/Boot Room
Pros: Ski and board wall rack, 4-5 chairs to sit down on whilst you put on/take off boots. Heated boot rack. Key cards used to get into room also give you access to boot/ski room. Thus should be safe.
Cons: Heated boot rack wasnt turned on but this wasn't a problem

Service
Pros: Friendly welcome.
Cons:

Comments
Having been to other hotels in Saalbach and Austria with 3 stars, the four of us who stayed at Hotel Centraal found it quite surprising how much more basic it was in comparison.
As the four of us were skiing during the week of Christmas, we had brought gold tinsel along to tie around our ski poles, before christmas day- we had hung this up in our rooms to make it look more festive and cheerful. We were however told off by the "breakfast-lady" who completely dissaproved. We were confused because we did not make a mess or leave any behind and took care in terms of health and safety.

Summary
-Sometimes cold showers
-Basic breakfast
-Comfortable beds
-VERY Clean facilities
-Can hear music from the bar 2 floors below.
-Good for students

-Still confused as to why Hotel Centraal is 3 stars.

Room Tip: Try being on the highest floor possible to minimise sound traveling from the bar in the basement.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlorisDboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Good clean hotel , with good boot room in good location , near Bobby's Bar in Saalbach ( good for Beer, food & Wifi ) lock up your snow board though , had ours stolen but Hanisi at Europ sport ski rental were really helpful about it , thanks for great ski trip .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AmandaF25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Booked the Hotel Central on-line about 6 weeks before traveling. Travelled with my two sons, ideal hotel if all you need is somewhere to sleep, shower and get some breakfast before hitting the slopes. Breakfast is frugal, basic continental cheese and meats, with a few cereals and juice. There is no lounge bar or Wi-Fi, which is a real shame as sometimes you just need to relax and catch up. The 'Underbar' is a lively local attraction, packed nearly every night, open till 2AM. We were on the 2nd floor so there were no noise issues for us. It's basic, comfortable and clean, service is good - room cleaned every day. Room had plenty of space and the beds were comfortable. Franz is a pleasant host and very helpful. Stopped for 1 week - that was enough. We would stop again, but only if nowhere else was available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor to avoid being disturbed by the bar in the cellar
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IaShaCraSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Having travelled to Saalbach many times before, we took a punt at travelling with Neilson this year. The hotel was more basic than described and the breakfast left quite a lot to the imagination. A couple of time there were no bread rolls left and the tea and coffee were shocking. Thankfully there is a bakery across the road!! Other guests have mentioned the noise from the club downstairs, and they're completely right!! One night we decided to take the view of "if you can't beat them, join them" and when we got down to the bar it was jam packed, noisy, hot and smelly - not the sort of place we would usually go.
The skiing was fantastic. It's a short walk to the lifts, but that's brilliant as a bit of a warm up in the morning.
The only other thing that really disappointed us was the attitude of the reps. The older rep (John) was more interested in chatting up the younger female guests, and the younger rep (Rob) was arrogant and rude, even telling everyone in a bar one night to "all be quiet because I'm talking, I know it sounds rude and ignorant but I really don't care". This is not the attitude we expect from reps who are employed by a reputable company, and has put us off travelling with this company again. Sorry Neilson, but you can lose the arrogant reps, or you can lose your guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkiSurfSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews