We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!st time in Austria great skiing.”
Review of Hotel Central

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Central
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“!st time in Austria great skiing.”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The hotel has clean and tidy rooms. We looked in the under bar one night but did not bother. We slept wih ear plugs in due to the noise from the music every night..
We would have liked a change at breakfast eggs would have been good.
Close to the lifts.

The underbar smokers were stood outside the hotel when we returned in the evening. There is only one door in for the hotel and the bar.
It's not a hotel I would return to as in the village there are some lovely hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juboto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Clean rooms, good breakfast that will keep you going down those slopes, but it's the same every day, but then again, you are not there to eat. Good ski rental shop next door, I got a pair of brand new boots! There is a caffe downstairs in the basement of the hotel, not too busy, shame as the staff is great and they have live music most nights, the guy sounds really good! Best kebab ever (and cheap!) across the road in the caffe Bobby's Bar downstairs, in case you decide you are hungry on the way back. Ski lift 2min away but that one takes you onto the shaded side of the mountain. Other ski lifts taking you to the sunny side are 6min walk to the lift/elevator and we used them all the time. Find the lift/elevator on the right hand side of the road! That will take you straight to the slope/ski lift.
But... towels should be bigger and pillows should be better.
I am being a bit harsh when grading this hotel with a 3, but I just cannot give it a 4...
Even though we got a really good deal... I definitely would go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faith007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

After suffering at the hands of Heathrow we last minute booked an Austrian honeymoon and ended up at the Hotel Central. Great value, clean, tidy, spacious and comfortable. If you are in room 205 watch the shower as the screen is not sealed to the base and the water leaks out at a rapid rate of knots and floods the bedroom carpet. When done once you know where to aim it!!! Breakfasti s basic and could do with a croissant or pain au chocolate to bolster it, but it is worth getting up for.

Yes the beds are Austrian twins and are very close but it is the norm, friendly! There is a little noise from the club under the hotel but on the second floor it did not disturb us at all. As close as most hotels to the lifts and remainder of the nightlife. All in all a nice little hotel which was great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 979corki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
english riveria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2010

hotel central , GOOD POINTS- Very friendly staff , very clean and tidy , great shower , loads of hot water , breakfast ok and worth getting up for . close to all bars and restaurants and only a 5- 10 min walk to all lifts.
BAD POINTS- twin beds to close together, bar under hotel can be a little noisey take ear plugs.
SUMMARY - Top Resort, very nice hotel .Will be back for sure.
Recommend- Peters Restaurant top of main street.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theredmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

This was a last minute deal bed and breakfast deal through Neilson's. We arrived by coach mid-afternoon and were dropped off at the bottom of the hill (most of Saalbach is a pedestrianised area) and informed by our rep were the hotels were located. We were lucky, ours was the first hotel on the right!!!!!

Room: We were booked into our rooms and given security cards to get in and out of the hotel and ski/board room. This was because under the hotel was a nightclub, we were aware of this at the time of booking and during our time here the the music did not bother us, it was quite muffled. The drunks caused more of a disturbance but this did not bother us at all. Our room was MASSIVE!!! We had a bedroom which fitted twin beds, a large wardrobe with shelves and we even had travel adapters in the room. We also had a living room with a three person sofa and TV and another large wardrobe. The bathroom was quite small in comparison but the shower was always hot and towels were replaced every day. We also had a balcony in both the living room and bedroom, where we left our bottled drinks to stay cold.

Food: Breakfast was continental which consisted of ham, cheese, toast, tea, coffee and rolls quite adequate before going on the slopes, but I did crave for something different towards the end.

Staff: Were helpful when you needed something, but tended to stay out of your way so you could enjoy your holiday rather than annoying you.

Overall: We would definitely go back to Saalbach, the slopes were amazing and for a budget holiday the Hotel Central is more than sufficent. The only downside was the walk to the lifts, although only about 5 minutes walk in ski boots it don't half hurt, just make sure you do not secure your boots until you are either on the gondola or about to put your skiis on. The Apres Ski was fantastic and on more than one occasion got slightly intoxicated without actually realising it until it was too late. Great atmosphere and great people!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bareteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Travelled as a party of two couples. Shared one of the rooms that has two bedrooms (although one was linked so take your PJ's!). First time skiing so didn't know what to expect. Hotel Central is as it says 'central'. At the bottom of the main pedestrianised street in centre of Saalbach but be wary, the street is very noisy at 3 and 4 am when the party revellers are leaving the late bars/clubs (bear in mind though that we were there from Boxing day and over New Year, which we are told is the busiest and most noisy time!). There is a night club come late bar underneath the hotel which presents you with a dull thudding music sound until about 3/4am most mornings. If you can cope with this (take some ear muffs!) then you will find the hotel really pleasant.

The rooms are really clean and well decorated. Maid service each day with fresh towels and bedding. The breakfasts are more than ok, just don't expect too much. Coffee, tea, crusty rolls, bread, cheese, hams etc. On departure day, the owners opened breakfast at 6am for us which was a nice gesture.

If you are looking for a central location - Ski school only 500mtrs away and ski lifts virtually on your doorstep, lots of shops and resturants'cafes on your doorstep. Want to ski and arrive back in your resort for really good Apres then a short walk back to your hotel to drop off your skis, then this hotel will be great for you. Just consider the possibility of noise!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Saalbach, big up party town. Hotel Central, well if you are on a budget (and it wasn't that cheap) I suppose it is ok. It is B&B and breakfast was basic to say the least, tea and coffee were awful. rooms were good, all seem to be different and of varying sizes but nice and clean and look refurbished. not all have balconies so be sure to request. The Underbar, below the hotel was a source of problems with noise....as were the clients in the hotel. If you are a groupd of lads, great, this is your hotel...group of girls maybe. But if you want to get some sleep at night, don't bother. The noise from other ignorant guests was too much, and nothing was ever done about it until we resolved it ourselves!!!! We travelled with Thomas Cook....never saw the rep.....!!

all in all, budget, loud, basic....

Helpful?
1 Thank PodgeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
226 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
362 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpinresort Sport & Spa
Alpinresort Sport & Spa
#1 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
319 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tiroler Buam
Hotel Tiroler Buam
#6 of 94 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Saalbach
Alpenhotel Saalbach
#56 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: Unterdorf 215, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing