We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Austrian Family Holel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Barbarahof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Barbarahof
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Austrian Family Holel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in many Ski resorts and hotels over the years I can easily say this Hotel was the best by far. I organised a mixed group of skiers for a weeks holidays in February. The hotel is ideally positioned between Saalbach and Hinterglem. The ski bus stop is just outside the door. The hotel is a beautiful family run Austrian hotel. Clean, modern, comfortable and food to die for. Will be back.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Barbarahof, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hello Maxkyck,
thank you so much for your nice and very positive comment on tripadvisor!
We also loved to have you here in Saalbach, you were a fantastic group ;)
We´re looking forward welcoming you again in our Hotel Barbarahof,
lovely greetings from (already snowy) Saalbach :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
34
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Fourteen of us stayed at the Hotel Barbarahof earlier this month and we absolutely loved it. The staff were so friendly and helpful... Rudi, Roland, Catherine, Bernadette etc. - Thanks so much from your first ever Irish guests. The food was amazing. The bedrooms were top notch - I have stayed in a lot less luxurious 4 star hotels in Austria.....and the Barbarahof was only a 3 star +. One of the best nights of a great holiday was spent in Rudi's cellar bar. From the Ice Bear to Riverdance to Gagnam style....he had it covered.

The only slight downside was that the hotel is a little out of town, but with the bus stop right outside and plenty of taxis available, this wasn't a problem. Also the Barbarahof was a good bit cheaper than the hotels in the centre of town. There was a large wellness area in the hotel but as we took our apres ski very seriously, I never got to try it out.

I would most certainly recommend this hotel. Any questions please ask!

Room Tip: If you like a bath after a long day skiing then request one - half of the rooms only have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daretodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wels, Austria
Level Contributor
268 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

we where a group of 80 people in pre-season and this was not the first time to be there.
actually we are going every year just before the season officially starts and the owner family is very welcoming and busy to help guests have a good and comfortable stay.

the rooms are recently refurbished with nice decor and much local wood design - i really liked it.
double rooms are spacious enough and the bathrooms do not miss a thing.

our room had a balcony towards the road but you must not be afraid of traffic noise bcs. the windows are appropriate.

breakfast is plentiful as usual in most austrian hotels - nothing missing
dinner was delicious and do not forget to taste the local "Schnaps" and the nice wine selection.

the service personnel tried hard to satisfy all our needs quite successfully and i believe it is because of the owners involvement in the day to day business that one feels at home.

there is a sauna and massage available but no swimming pool.

ski and boots may be stored in the basement safely and ski lifts are near by - you may use the free of charge service by bus (about 30 m away from the hotel) or go by car.

a very recommendable hotel in saalbach with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sauraumpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We've just returned from a fab week of skiing in Saalbach Hinterglemm with heaps of snow, staying at the Barbarahof, and can say that it really does match the images on its shiny new website (http://www.barbarahof.at/pages/englisch/portal.php).Everything is well thought out, spotlessly clean and smoke free (with the exception of the cellar bar) - almost unique in Austria! It is very much a family affair with the owners really wanting to make sure your stay is going well and that's what makes it stand apart - they are regularly helping in the dining room and talking to guests (though the Manager's English is limited his son is always on hand to answer questions) I was ill during the stay and Rudy appeared with some linctus to help me sleep and on the last evening all the children were offered gifts - an thoughtful touch. The food was excellent, the staff helpful and the rooms very comfortable (we were in 310 deluxe).
There were also several activities free throughout the week but we didn't participate either through tiredness/illness or because of the language difficulty.
Tips:
Load a German translate app ahead of arrival for the menu selections plus a mini dictionary for the restaurants on the slope (we forgot!)
The buses get busier than usual if there is bad weather/lift closures meaning they can be full btw Saalbach and Hinterglemm where the hotel is, so they just sail on past without stopping! We had to resort to taxis one day. Use the mini train on those days as it's empty when it starts at the hotel (lastest departure 9.30am), get out v early or just grab a 10 euro taxi for 4 rather than wasting time in the bus line for an hour.
As we had a car with us, we drove to the free Saalbach underground car park by the lifts at the top of the town to save the children (and us) dragging skis up the hill - just get you ticket stamped at the ticket office at THE BOTTOM of one of the main lifts and it's free.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the windows open, the back is quieter as it looks out and the car part and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah-on-her-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We have just returned from our 2012 ski vacation in Saalbach, Hotel Barbarahof where we had the best time yet.
We were quite a big group of people, but all of us felt pampered and wonderful in this family hotel. the owners are very nice people who treated us lovely!
We all loved everything:
- the very cosy rooms that have beed refurbished in 2011
- the family atmosphere around us
- the delicious food we had every single day
-the service, everything around us was set so we would enjoy it even more..

Saalbach is a wonderful place (i could move and live here in a heartbeat) which offers great skiing opportunities. The hotel is very close to the ski lifts in Saalbach and also Hinterglemm. Ski bus station 20 m from hotel.
There is also a ski piste arriving right behind Barbarahof. Very cool! So the location of the hotel is more than great.

We can't wait to be back. Next year or even maybe in summer!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
1.0 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#5 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#9 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Theresia Gartenhotel
Theresia Gartenhotel
#2 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barbarahof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbarahof

Property: Hotel Barbarahof
Address: Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 451 | 5753 Saalbach, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barbarahof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your hotel in Saalbach Come on in and feel right at home at Hotel Barbarahof, your hotel in Saalbach. Our classy establishment that is always open offers best comfort and charm as well as a distinctively cosy and friendly atmosphere. Family Steger is pleased to welcome you to their traditional house at the World Championship site of Saalbach Hinterglemm surrounded by the charming panorama of the Salzburg Alps. As a ski hotel in Saalbach Hinterglemm, we help you make a beeline to the next slope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Barbarahof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing