We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice skitrip to Saalbach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berger's Sporthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
1 review
“Nice skitrip to Saalbach”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel was in best location just in the city center and near the slopes. The staff in the restaurant were amazing especially the waiters and the owner lady. We used the sauna and pool area which was good. There was also a quiet area where you could just lay down and relax. Breakfast was really good as there was all the normal things, fresh fruits and lady doing your eggs as you like them. There was nice spa in same, good massage and relaxing area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puuggis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    238
    56
    14
    21
See reviews for
179
215
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We are just back after spending 4 days in the Berger's sport Hotel
We reserved a family room 2+2 . very large and spacious view to the slopes
Food is excellent. Excellent breakfast and a gourmet dinner.
Very friendly family owned hotel. Nice spa with great wet and dry saunas
Location is great!
Will probably visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yigal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our ski holiday this year was a mixed group of family and friends including a couple of children. We departed from our normal chalet format this time and everyone was delighted with the choice we made. (We had 3 rooms between us)

We were greeted by and introduced to all the reception staff upon our arrival and this very personal service ethic persisted throughout. They could not have been more helpful and went above and beyond in dealing with issues we raised with them. On one occasion they sent the hotel porter to collect an ipod we had left at another resort which was an hours drive away!

The spa area and pool were extremely clean and well appointed. Rooms were serviced daily and were far superior to the cramped chalet conditions we have sometimes had to deal with elsewhere. Perhaps most important of all, the nice bathrooms came with an unlimited supply of hot water available at high pressure (or in good deep baths) to soothe away the day's exertions.

On our half board basis there was an evening meal with a good choice each day. Quality was very good and it was a relief not to be subject to the chance element that a chalet host can bring. Breakfast was comprehensive and an excellent start to each skiing day.

The lifts are all relatively close in Saalbach and the nearest lift is only a few yards away. We met one family who had returned to the hotel three years in a row and it is likely that we will be doing a repeat visit for the first time in 20 years of skiing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Having traveled to Austria for 24 years for ski holidays and having stayed in various types/grades of accommodation, I believe that the Berger Sport Hotel in Saalbach was the poorest standard of accommodation which I have stayed in during this period. This hotel does not deserve a four star rating for many reasons including the following:

The food was of a very poor standard – evening meals being particularly bad, resulting in us going out for dinner as the week progressed. Loud music/entertainment in the restaurant some evenings during dinner (and while this may be to some people’s taste, it is not everyone’s and is not in line with a four star rating). Internal décor was shabby (e.g. threadbare carpets & ripped tablecloths) and tacky (e.g. plastic flowers, mirrors on the ceilings/walls, red velvet furnishings, bright lights and chandeliers). The outside of the hotel was tacky and tasteless e.g. plastic yellow signage, advertisements for the table dancing club below the hotel, photos of the food on offer. The entrance/cloakroom to the table dancing club downstairs (which was accessed via the hotel entrance) also doubled as the ski boot room - this was down a very steep flight of stairs and the heaters for the ski boots did not work effectively. The bathroom in the bedroom was the smallest I have seen e.g. undersized sink, the bathroom door didn't open fully due to the sink being in the way, the width and breadth of the bathroom was less that outstretched arms. The bathroom supplies were not replenished every day - we had to ask at reception for shower gel sachets when they had not been replaced for a few days and the lady at reception handed us one sachet in an abrupt manner. While we were assigned a “quiet” bedroom (I had asked for one after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor) the corridor/hotel was noisy inside & out, resulting in us being frequently disturbed by loud noise. We found the reception staff unfriendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just back from a weeks ski holiday in Saalbach. Berger's Sporthotel is a great place to stay - top location in centre of town close to all the action and just a couple of minutes from the lifts on either side of the valley. Stayed in a single room on the top floor which was decent size, clean and very comfortable. Food was excellent - buffet breakfast cooked, continental or traditional (or all 3) sets you up perfectly for a day on the slopes. We had a table on the restaurant balcony overlooking the bar and street which was great. Lovely swimming pool and spa area to relax in before dinner. The staff, led by Mrs B were extremely helpful, creating a very cosy and welcoming atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just back from a second trip this year to this very warm and friendly hotel. Alway a warm welcome her with staff remembering you if you've visited before as I have many times now.
New beds added to the comfort of the rooms and a pleasure to climb into after a hard day on the slopes.
The hotel is very central with only few minutes to all lifts and runs.
Evening entertainment here is fun including Elvis/Tom Jones impressionist Bar was packed with everyone having a great night.
Many thanks to Nick our waiter always very happy and helpful as are all the staff.
Free wifi is also available now so this is an added bonus.
Pool and Sauna area is very clean and inviting .. Great for aching muscles.
So once again I can 't recommend this hotel enough...many thanks Mrs Berger for another fantastic stay.... See you next year :0))

Room Tip: 305 is at the end of hotel with fantastic views of slopes and Main Street, sleeps 2/3 and has a bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tezfca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a ski trip to Saalbach where we stayed at the Sporthotel. We were across the road in the annex, but this was no hardship (the plus was no one smoked - when we went to dinner the corridors of the main hotel sometimes smelled of smoke). The room was very comfortable with a wide balcony and a fridge.

The wellness centre was very nice and the food was good. Staff were very friendly and the owner of the family hotel was highly visible and made it her business to get to know the guests.

The decor is 'unusual' and very RED - it looked a bit like a brothel and the neon red sign outside (not visible in the photos of Crystal brochure) advertising table dancing added to the risqué feel. However, do not be put off - we had great fun and I never got to see the 'adult entertainment' although I saw many a man leave the downstairs room!!!

I thought the hotel was a great place to stay. The location is excellent - right in the centre of the pedestrianised centre and very, very close to the Shattberg Express. There was lively entertainment or a comfortable lounge with large sofas to chill out on. The friendliness of the staff and the excellent service they provide is a massive plus!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rhianastley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpenhotel Saalbach
Alpenhotel Saalbach
#64 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
88 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Residenz Hochalm
Hotel Residenz Hochalm
#22 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berger's Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berger's Sporthotel

Property: Berger's Sporthotel
Address: Dorfplatz 33, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#17 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Berger's Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berger's Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berger`s Sporthotel Hotel Saalbach
Bergers Sporthotel Saalbach
Bergers Sporthotel Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing